St. HOPE Public Schools Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 30 reviews

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
St. HOPE Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Jake Mossawir
Jake Mossawir
16 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great pay and benefits, very low support

    Aug 30, 2021 - Teaching Assistant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great Co-teachers are always there for you

    Cons

    Management does very little to support you Poor professional development meetings Makes teaching harder for students and teachers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Moving on to more

    Jan 21, 2021 - Helper in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work for a while.

    Cons

    Need more money to life in area.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic environment, disservice to kids

    Jan 19, 2021 - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great kids, families often involved, community support

    Cons

    toxic workplace environment, racist school wide practices, high turnover and lack of positive culture.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Excited for the future

    Jun 6, 2019 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been here for five years. When I first arrived it was a very toxic environment. Teachers and staff members were mean to each other and all the leaders seemed to have big egos and self-centered. Everything seemed to always be about the adults feelings. I’m really happy that many of those people have left and that the focus has been put back on the students. This has been by far the best year I have had here and can’t wait for the future.

    Cons

    Many of the negative things that people have said haven’t been true and have overshadowed all of the great work we are doing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    My peers feel like family.

    Apr 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The students make it worth while!

    Cons

    Instability of leadership makes for inconsistent environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    St. Hope

    Sep 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my five years, I have felt nothing but supported by the administration of St. HOPE. I can truly say that I have never had a job where I’ve felt the management was more qualified to be the leaders of an organization. The leaders of St. HOPE are passionate, hard-working, driven individuals who always keep the best interests of students and staff in mind. As principal, Kari Wehrly put structures into place at PS7 Middle that resulted in many positive changes; including increased test scores, and greater staff retention. She then took her expertise to the elementary school, and achieved the same results. Although change takes time and often comes with push-back, I am confident that Kari Wehrly and our current leadership team are more than capable of making these same strides at Sac High. My experience at St. HOPE has been nothing but positive and I can’t imagine feeling more satisfied or appreciated at a job.

    Cons

    Staff put in more hours than they would at a regular public school.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing school for big dreams

    Jul 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Administration is always supportive and helpful. The managing and training you get is always aimed at making you be a better teacher. Staff are all friendly and the kids are wonderful.

    Cons

    Does not really support healthy home life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    High Expectations

    Jun 28, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part about St. HOPE, is our students. They are such phenomenal people with so much potential and I could not be more proud to be a part of their lives. I love working at St. HOPE. There is no better place to find like minded individuals who do whatever it takes for students. If you are looking for a team atmosphere and a group of individuals that will always put kids first, this is the place for you. One of my favorite things about working here is that this is a group of educators that is willing to work as hard as they possibly can and use every minute that they have with students for learning.

    Cons

    There will definitely be more work that your typical public school and much higher expectations, but every bit of that work and pressure is worth it knowing that it is going to help send our students off to college one day and give them more opportunities in life. The teachers that work here know what they are signing up for and when they buy into the vision and big goals and work as hard as they can to achieve them, feel so fulfilled knowing that the hard work was so worth it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent Place To Work

    Jun 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked with SHPS for over 5 years and I absolutely love working here! The administration is so supportive of teacher growth and development. All staff members are like-minded, positive, and so hardworking. Every single staff member is with SHPS in order to fulfill our mission of putting our scholars on the path to and through college. I cannot imagine working anywhere else!

    Cons

    I do not consider this a con, but you must be eager, have a whatever it takes attitude, and be ready to work hard! These three things are my favorite about working with SHPS.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Come Join Us

    May 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at St. HOPE is an amazing experience because you get to work with so many like-minded individuals who are truly working their hardest to close the achievement gap in our country. Everyone is here for the kids and is always willing to go above and beyond to support our scholars and their families. The management team gives us so much support and is constantly coaching us and giving feedback to make us more effective for our scholars and I have learned so much since I first started!

    Cons

    Although this is not a con for me, personally, you do have to be willing to work super hard and truly want to do whatever it takes to support students and ensure they are learning and achieving. This is what I love, and St. HOPE makes it easy!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Work at St. HOPE Public Schools? Share Your Experiences

St. HOPE Public Schools logo
or