State Street Fund Accountant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

State Street Fund Accountant Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 380 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome work place to grow up your knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant, Associate I in Pune
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its world leading and very old custodian bank. Its also having good position in the world. Providing good services.

    Cons

    Senior are not very supporting but not every senior.

    Advice to Management

    To keep good behavior with you juniors.

    State Street2012-06-11
  2. "Good started up from State Street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Gained the knowledge of fund accounting

    Cons

    Some part needs to share (knowledge, queries,etc) to accountant from management.

    Advice to Management

    Training should be available in working hours

    State Street2018-04-08
  3. "Large company without mobility internally to other departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hedge Fund Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    hard working people with talents

    Cons

    constant cost cutting measures resulting in job eliminations to offshore

    State Street2019-09-08
  4. "Fund Accounting Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Kilkenny
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexi time is the biggest plus working here

    Cons

    career progression is non existent

    Advice to Management

    They need to work for the employees of the company as they are the greatest asset to the company

    State Street2019-09-16
  5. "just basic nothing too special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    okay enough benefits, just the basics and health insurance is subsidised

    Cons

    management do not care enough, hence high turnover. overly long working hours

    Advice to Management

    be more engaging

    State Street2019-08-14
  6. "Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Kraków

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    environment, team, activity management, work distribution, non overtime

    Cons

    people not well prepared, wage, promotions

    State Street2019-06-28
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Mutual Fund Accountant 

    I worked at State Street for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a Progressive culture

    Cons

    redundant processes and can get boring

    State Street2019-06-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Stay. Away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can work from home twice a week (which is great because the pay is abysmal so I save on gas).

    Cons

    Forget the concept of ever having a team that’s staffed. Everything is “lean” aka as cheap as possible; if it can maybe be done in China or India, it’s going to be. American labor is too expensive. Not only that, so is investing in technology. Fund admin is the only profitable part of the business at the moment and yet the entire company has a hiring freeze and the tech looks straight out of the 80s. I’ve worked 60+... hours a week for the past 3 months and yet they preach work/life balance. Upper management does nothing but spew corporate bs line “synergies” and “hubs” and “plans.”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like crow. You wonder why you’re not retaining talent and then you continue to try and cut every single cost possible, which just continues to harm the people who ARE left.

    State Street2019-07-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Transitioning from Public Accounting into Private Equity Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accounting Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary & Benefits State Street offers above average salaries and benefits at the Senior Level that is unbeatable. Work Environment Everyone in the Atlanta office has a great attitude! It all trickles down from management all the way to the youngest intern. That positive demeanor around the office promotes quality work and comradery. The Atlanta Real Assets Fund Services group as a whole niche is... volunteering and giving back. On a quarterly basis you will find some type of event being coordinated by the office to better our communities, outside of work. Volume of Work Depending on the demand of the client volume can be high to moderate. I have worked on several funds within the last year and I can say that the client enjoys driving efficiency. The perk at the senior level when there is a high volume of work or the time spent for process improvement, overtime pay is offered. Flexibility (Life/Work Balance) State Street is a big advocate delivering timely deliverables but also ensures you are taking care of you as an individual. One of the appealing items that were shared with me during my screening process is the ability to work remotely when needed. I can attest that perk is official depending on team setup. Opportunities When I was hired by State Street I was brought on to be a part of a new sub business line of the PE/Real Assets group; Infrastructure Accounting. Within in my first year I have witnessed how expansive and promising this role is. At the Senior Level in Industry you would not be expected to be involved in some many processes end to end. That includes on-boarding new clients, on-boarding existing clients with new funds, day to day fund accounting and administration, and consulting with the client on complex task.

    Show More

    Cons

    Rest assured, State Street Atlanta has done a great job bringing in new candidates that are competent, who has well-rounded characteristics and is willing and able to move along the team for the better without disturbing a strong foundation that has been set.

    State Street2019-06-07
  10. "Fund Accounting Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, great environment in which to train an skill up.

    Cons

    Too much non-core work activiites, training modules, etc.

    State Street2019-06-20
Found 380 reviews