Stevenage Borough Council Reviews

Updated 1 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
30%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Stevenage Borough Council CEO Matt Partridge (no image)
Matt Partridge
1 Rating
  1. "Building Surveyor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Building Surveyor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stevenage Borough Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable staff. Great experience working with colleagues who love what they do. Happy and friendly. Always positive attitude

    Cons

    Workload can be challenging at times

    Stevenage Borough Council2020-02-01
  2. "Working at Stevenage Borough Council"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Stevenage Borough Council part-time

    Pros

    People really nice and helpful

    Cons

    Low pay and impossible workload

    Continue reading
    Stevenage Borough Council2020-01-10
  3. "Work Life"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative BA (Governance) in Stevenage, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stevenage Borough Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Prestige working with the local authority, flexible working

    Cons

    I was micromanaged, no breathing space, No warnings given,

    Continue reading
    Stevenage Borough Council2020-01-09
  4. "???"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Engineering Inspector in Stevenage, England

    I worked at Stevenage Borough Council for less than a year

    Pros

    I do not wish to judge

    Cons

    Low Pay, low pay, low pay

    Continue reading
    Stevenage Borough Council2019-07-08
  5. "ok"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Stevenage Borough Council full-time

    Pros

    flexi and pension benefits given

    Cons

    poor management and bad work ethic of staff

    Stevenage Borough Council2019-06-28
  6. "Bullying"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stevenage Borough Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Restaurant and cafe, Free parking

    Cons

    Bullying and clicky environment. If you're good at your job it makes you a target for the lazy co-workers and all hell breaks loss. Weak Line Managers promoted above their skill level. Tough and nasty.

    Continue reading
    Stevenage Borough Council2019-05-19
  7. "previous employee"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stevenage Borough Council full-time

    Pros

    Unfortunately all the Pro's were changed, with pensions being effected and less staff to do more work

    Cons

    Very stressful once redundancies started. Although the were written procedures for this, staff felt that they were being kept in the dark

    Stevenage Borough Council2018-07-10
  8. "Typical Council"

    3.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stevenage Borough Council

    Pros

    Flexi time Good pay Great location

    Cons

    Don't listen to staff despite the numerous staff surveys No clear goals (Change constantly) Very Clicky Leaders don't lead they manage Man managed by councilor Due to government cuts you are always on the edge of redundancy

    Continue reading
    Stevenage Borough Council2017-10-26
  9. "Work life balance is very good"

    3.0
    Policy in Stevenage, England

    I have been working at Stevenage Borough Council

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and ability to work from home is a real benefit, also been able to progress in my career

    Cons

    Political and budgetary constraints make it difficult to get on with the job at times, either in sticking with a plan or really doing what's needed

    Stevenage Borough Council2017-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stevenage Borough Council"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Stevenage, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Stevenage Borough Council

    Pros

    Good location, and reasonable office accommodation. Lots of nice colleagues, and lots of people who are really trying to do a good job.

    Cons

    Like all local authorities, the council is making budget cuts as a response to the new government. There have been a lot of changes in the senior management which has had a detremental effect on how the council operates. You get the sense of a lot of tension between the officers and the elected members.

    Continue reading
    Stevenage Borough Council2010-11-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews