Stonebridge Companies Employee Reviews about "hotels"

Updated Apr 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 188 reviews

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Stonebridge Companies Owner/Chairman Navin Dimond (no image)
Navin Dimond
120 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team to work with, and really dedicated corporate office located here in Denver(in 9 reviews)

  • "The company is growing in many markets(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High cost of benefits, high turnover at corporate office(in 11 reviews)

  • "The associate holiday party the hotels if lucky might get a budget of(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "hotels"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      No compassion

      Apr 10, 2020 - Housekeeping Aide in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Typically most GM's care about their employees

      Cons

      When the Coronavirus hit, they full on terminated everyone at the hotel levels except managers. No notice, just see ya. Shows they don't really care about their employees only money. Where other hotels are just laying off or at least maintaining benefits, Stonebridge just full on fired everyone. Even those of us that have been loyal for 2-5 years.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Only Thick Skin, Single, Young, Obediant, Need to Apply

      Mar 30, 2019 - General Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They franchise Marriott and Hilton properties

      Cons

      Zero work-family life balance for hotel General Managers the expectation is your available 24/7/365 there is no tolerance for not working 50 plus hours a week. They provide zero benefits to hourly employees, the hardest working, lowest paid, and there are zero perks. During the holiday's the company couldn't even purchase a small turkey for the associates. The associate holiday party the hotels if lucky might get a budget of $5 per associate to spend. Many properties might look good on the outside but the building inside is falling apart. Stonebridge Companies once Stonebridge Investment Companies enough said.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Beware!

      Aug 31, 2017 - Director of Sales in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New technology for reporting and budgeting Employee discounts for restaurants/hotel stays

      Cons

      My experience with Stonebridge was EXTREMELY disappointing. I was sold on the message of the company going in a new direction, with a focus on training, internal opportunity for candidates, and employee retention, but I quickly realized this was not the case. I received no training, my General Managers on property were inadequately experienced/trained to lead a hotel, and there was a constant turn over of above property leadership. The message coming from the corporate office is never consistent, and there is no feedback given for how to advance within the company. There are a few people in senior leadership roles who are trying to turn the ship, but the support isn't there from top leadership to allow the company to move in a positive direction Pay was significantly less than what would be comparable at other area hotels. Expense checks consistently take 6-8 weeks to be paid after submittal Little to no appreciation is shown to employees, even when their performance far exceeds expectations

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Growing company - not a bad place to work

      Dec 13, 2016 - Guest Service Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Rapidly growing company with an increasingly more sophisticated hotel portfolio -Company cares about administering employee surveys and actually taking action based on the results -Company tries to promote from within -Nice benefits such as free hotel nights, discounts for Stonebridge hotels and restaurants, reduced public transportation passes, discounted fitness club memberships, 401K match, etc.

      Cons

      -Very hierarchical management structure -Most (not all) C-level executives are white males -Lower pay relative to neighboring hotels -Sometimes it seems like management cares about increasing the bottom line more than investing in employee satisfaction or investing in better products and services for the hotel. Even if this is not factually the case, even the perception a "hyper-bottom-line-focus" has led to decreased employee morale in my department.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture

      Aug 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture has really changed for the better in the time I've been with the company. Corporate office employees spend a day working and learning at the hotel to understand how the hotels run on a daily basis.

      Cons

      Acquiring more hotels means more work with the same number of employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company with strong leaders

      Oct 15, 2015 - General Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I very much enjoyed my time working for Stonebrige Companies. As a first time GM I was given the assistance I needed to perform well. The biggest strength of the company is there senior leaders. Randy is a hospitality professional trough and trough and has hired very well when it comes to the VP's of the company. Since the arrival of the new COO Chris Manley the company has really taken a step to the next level. He has made a great impact all the way down to the line level employees. I would have loved to stay with the company but had a great opportunity with a different company. I hope I will have the chance in the future to work for Stonebridge again.

      Cons

      No Hotels in the Southeast.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Stonebridge Companies Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Congratulations on your new career opportunity and the very best of luck to you! We are disappointed you have chosen to leave Stonebridge Companies for another company but certainly understand that when the chance for advancement presents itself it can be a tough decision to make. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your experiences while you were with us and we will be sure to forward your complements to both Chris and Randy; they will be thrilled to hear you speak to fondly of their leadership. Please continue to follow Stonebridge Companies on social media and in the news and please reach out to us directly should you find an opportunity that interest you- we would LOVE to welcome you back as we continue to grow.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love this Company

      Aug 11, 2015 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for this company for almost 4 years and I love it here. I started as an FOM and after 9 months was promoted to GM. This company gave me an amazing opportunity that will shape the rest of my career. The first year as GM was a little rough. It was the opposite of micromanagement. I only saw my boss once in that year, Luckily I knew other people in the company and made it through. In the last 2 years the company has gone in an amazing direction. They hired a CFO who is awesome and has changed the atmosphere of the company. Stonebridge has allowed me to grow as a manager. I have a great work life balance and feel 100% support from the corporate team. My new boss is more hands on, but not overpowering. They are growing fast, but not stupid. Every addition they make is very thought out. Jack Paul is awesome

      Cons

      The company is growing fast and might experience some growing pains if they grow too fast. The main problem I see happening is the addition of corporate employees. They will need to add more IT and purchasing employees. They don't have hotels on the coasts.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      GM

      Feb 23, 2015 - General Manager in Anchorage, AK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At first sight they seem to be well organized, I relocated to another state to work for Stonebridge due to the fact that I was very impressed with the Regional Manager that did my interview.

      Cons

      I soon discovered that the property I took over had an issue keeping GM's. The expectations where high unfortunately the company did not provide the necessary support to bring the property up to Brand Standards. There where never enough General Managers. GM's got swamped down with so much paperwork and reports that it was overwhelming. It is hard as a new GM to get caught up when you start 2 years behind! And what made it worst was that most reports required by the different departments in the Corporate Office where the same thing just on a different format. My property was one of the lowest paying in the city along with the other 3 Stonebridge hotels in town. The discrepancy in wages with in the Stonebridge hotels was incredible to me as was the way Managers and Staff where treated. This has been one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. I wished I had spoken to some of the staff before I took the job. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!! Do not make the same mistake and try and talk to staff that actually works there not the people in the Corporate Office they live in another world.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Three Ring Circus

      Nov 20, 2012 - General Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some genuinely good, hard-working associates within the organization. Unfortunately, Senior Leadership doesn't care about them and/or takes advantage of them.

      Cons

      You are micro-managed to your breaking point. Make one mistake on a report and you'll hear about it from ten different people. Your job will be threatened if you don't perform to their expectations but don't expect any support on how to improve - only criticism. They hire people into senior leader positions who can't even write a coherent sentence or understand the operation but that person will expect you to jump through hoops like a circus poodle. Don't ever expect a pat-on-the-back or any kind of positive recognition - it doesn't happen. This company makes every effort to avoid expenses and will do it at the peril of their properties. For example, there is no capital planning - they do not have an FF&E fund for their hotels on an individual basis - rather they pool the funds and wait for an emergency. They are not associate focused. Senior leaders within the organization make unwelcome advances toward their direct reports via email and text messaging. You'll have every talking-head from the corporate office telling you how to run your business and they all have conflicting opinions. This literally is a THREE RING CIRCUS.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Stonebridge Companies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Stonebridge Companies? Share Your Experiences

    Stonebridge Companies logo
    or