Stonegate Mortgage Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
28%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Stonegate Mortgage CEO & President James V. Smith (no image)
James V. Smith
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stonegate is great a company all around(in 10 reviews)

  • "Plus they have a huge portfolio of loans they service and we get those calls too(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Originating a loan is easy at Stonegate Mortgage with the hardest part coming at the later stages(in 9 reviews)

  • "Could never underestimate the level of incompetence when it came to upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      9 Oct 2020 - Vice President in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Management and team atmosphere

      Cons

      Company was sold and new management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Basic

      16 May 2020 - Loan Officer Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management was supportive to team

      Cons

      Teams were not as supportive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      review

      24 Feb 2020 - Business Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay was comparable at company

      Cons

      hard to get promoted there

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Major Disappointment

      21 Mar 2015 - Mortgage Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of any.

      Cons

      13 total pto days off a year, including sick time, major overtime hours required, no work life balance, workload demands more than humanly possible. GREEDY They want to be part of a wellness plan, pay for gym memberships & promote health, but work their underwriters to death. There's no time to be healthy in this position. They say one thing & do another.

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      10 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits. Good coworkers and management

      Cons

      Grew too quickly. Technology outdated

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Quality Assurance Control Specialist

      9 Jan 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Clearwater, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good People, work load was manageable, very little overtime so had work/life balance

      Cons

      Most of my team was out of state, including my manager so phone calls and emails were the only way to have communication.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Typical mortgage environment

      2 Apr 2015 - Current Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My team leader is fantastic, i can be 100% honest with her and not feel like I'll be fired for it. Lots of OPTIONAL OT which allowed me to pay for a lot of upgrades to my home. Laptops are issued in my department so if your kids are sick or a repair man needs to stop by or you just need a break from the office you can work from home. You get 14 paid days off a year to start. Citi you get 12 and bofa you get 15 so its comparable. Insurance is high but whose insurance isn't now? They let us go home early on holiday weekends with pay. Relaxed attire because we dont see clients face to face. My base salary is the highest is ever been but i cane to the company with 13 years experience. Keep in mind most people who are happy with their employer dont jump on here to say so. People who have bad experiences are usually the ones who make time to come on here because they want to try and ruin the reputation of a company. Overall it's similar to just about any mortgage company you'll find out there. there are good and bad its just some people can deal with the bad and some can't.

      Cons

      Insurance is pricey but again arent they all now? Reporting needs to be implemented to allow for easier work management. Communication about the company needs to be more transparent. Growth needs to slow down to allow new departments to perfect their proceses and generate more income for the company.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Have been with Stonegate nearly 4 years

      18 May 2015 - Indiana in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I still love my job. It just isn't what it was before they grew too fast and went public

      Cons

      We have lost some very talented employees in the recent months. It sounds as though there are plenty getting ready to leave again. They started out being very civic minded and caring about their employees. It seems that has gone by the wayside. We never know when our departments will be dismantled and relocated. Unfortunately, some of the jobs have been moved out of the country.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Job

      5 Feb 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money, working w people

      Cons

      Home/work balance need to manage better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Underwriter

      26 Aug 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family atmoshphere, good salary

      Cons

      Too much overtime, no training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 158 Reviews

    Work at Stonegate Mortgage? Share Your Experiences

    Stonegate Mortgage logo
    or