Stonegate Pub Company "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Stonegate Pub Company Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 24 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
41%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Stonegate Pub Company CEO Simon Longbottom
Simon Longbottom
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "25% discount throughout the company(in 27 reviews)

  • "Staff discount in all stonegate venues IF the management sort it out for you, can be a long process(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage, standard for bar jobs(in 38 reviews)

  • "A student job unless you have a passion for working in the pub industry(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Expected to open and close the business for minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Tender in Walton, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None they treat you like slaves

    Cons

    Expected to open and close the business for minimum wage being told it’s a lot of money when legally you can’t pay me less then had all my hours cut and pushed out of the business

    Advice to Management

    Stop leading staff on treat staff like humans and pay people properly

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-10-24
  2. "unimpressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender/Waiting Staff in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    average bar job, discounted food and drink

    Cons

    Only told about venue closing 2 weeks prior. Lack of organisation and lack of effort to make the place feel welcoming. Minimum wage and rubbish hours.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more and individualise pubs to suit the area that they are in.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-09-11
  3. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perfect job along side uni

    Cons

    Minimum wage adds up slowly

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-08-31
  4. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bartender in London, England

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice people and a friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    The pay for 18 years old is minimum wage

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-08-13
  5. "Fine for short term/part time but not great for more hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work for part time

    Cons

    Poor management in my particular pub - don't think ours was unique in this though, minimum wage pay, pay seemed to be based on who the managers favoured rather than experience, length of service etc. Also I was made to sign a blank contract which is pretty bad.

    Advice to Management

    Have a policy for pay rises, watch your pub managers.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-08-07
  6. "it's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    25% discount across all stonegate pubs and usually 50% off in January.

    Cons

    minimum wage pay is not enough for what has to be done on a daily basis, even team leaders don't get much more money for the responsibility given. Also there is no work/life balance unless your a manager as day shifts are only given to higher ups.

    Advice to Management

    start paying your staff more

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-07-30
  7. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some good colleagues, pay was ok.

    Cons

    Minimum wage, lazy managers and supervisors that kept ducking out for smoke breaks, never got a break but got breaks that I should have had docked out of my pay.

    Advice to Management

    Look after your bar staff and make sure they get a break! Also, stop letting staff disappear for smoke breaks when it gets busy!

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-07-16
  8. "Poorly paid, terrible first experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good first bartending experience. Location was close to home.

    Cons

    - Fellow staff members treated each other incredibly poorly. - Management did not care for employees. - Was not properly trained in some areas of bar work, such as changing and operating the barrels/kegs for the beer/cider taps. - Frequently left at around 2/3am instead of midnight. - Management took all tips given for holidays, while we were given minimum wage, lacked the opportunity to gain a raise after asking other staff how long they had been there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please train your new employees with all elements required for their job. Make sure staff treat each other with respect.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-08-05
  9. "Ok Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time

    Pros

    Discount across all stonegate venues

    Cons

    Can get overworked for minimum wage

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-06-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible horrible company do not work for them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Staff in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had 50% discount off food and drinks for staff once a year for a month (the only staff incentive they had). Also they had a staff menu which had cheap food for staff to have during their break.

    Cons

    Staff are worked into the ground on minimum wage, all that matters is the staff higher up the chain getting their pay checks and bonuses. I heard the people at the top get helicopter rides to meetings while we are scrubbing toilets for just over £5 an hour and working 12+ hour shifts every day, not finishing til 2am sometimes when we only get paid til 12:30!! Surely that can’t be legal. Also we were only allowed 20 minutes break every 6 hours. If we worked 11 hours we would still only get 20 minutes. Had to choose which meals to skip that day, and it was most days. Staff treated with no respect, if we went to our manager with a problem he would say he didn’t want to hear it, or he wouldn’t do anything about it. Female staff were being openly sexually harassed by one of the team leaders and by customers and nothing was done about it even though everybody knew about it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers properly about sexual harassment in the work place!! Also create more staff incentives so people aren’t calling in sick all the time because they can’t face coming in. Staff were passing out on shift and having mental breakdowns and then being told to get back on the bar because there was no time for that - sort it!! Staff are allowed to be spoken to in a derogatory manner by customers, happens in front of managers and they laugh as if it’s a joke. Female staff member got threatened to ‘watch her back’ as she finished work by a customer who she refused to serve as he was too drunk (just doing her job)! Manager didn’t say anything to the customer he just laughed even though it happened right in front of him. We (the other male staff members) had to walk her home, manager didn’t ask if she was ok or anything. Hire managers who aren’t scumbags!!

    Show More
    Stonegate Pub Company2019-07-18
Found 38 reviews