Summit CPA Group Reviews

Updated Sep 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 14 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Doesn’t practice what they preach

    Sep 1, 2021 - Senior Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Innovative remote work environment with good home office and technology stipends.

    Cons

    Severe burnout due to “always on” mentality of this workplace.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    People focused

    Jul 27, 2021 - Director in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Innovative and always looking to improve. Fast paced and can grow immensely professionally and personally in a short amount of time

    Cons

    Nothing much that I can think of. Small company so can be hard to compare to insurance options with large firms.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stressful

    Aug 6, 2021 - Senior Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Weekly company wide meetings and a feeling of inclusion. Typing more words to get to 20 words more words more words

    Cons

    Ridiculously out of date Excel worksheets that take hours to complete that constantly break. Just use fathom or something like that. Turnover is high.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't waste your time

    May 26, 2021 - Senior Accountant in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very thorough in interviews. Laid back.

    Cons

    No communication. Faulty hardware/technical issues. Poor salary for hours required. Lousy "benefits".

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Company for the right fit

    Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great flexibility, awesome exposure to client-facing work, chance to add tremendous value to clients and find meaning in your work, strong consulting and soft skill development opportunities, great opportunities to learn the ropes of small business financial consulting

    Cons

    Unrealistic workload expectations/easy to burn out, poor health insurance benefits, especially for families, lack of technical skill development and software training for staff, environment is very much a sink or swim culture (though this is typical for public accounting in general), lots of time spent trying to troubleshoot software malfunctions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Work/Life Balance

    May 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The partners care about their employees, listen to everyone's ideas, and understand that people need flexibility for family needs. Pay model is transparent so you know what to expect. You work from home, no commute. How awesome is that? I've worked here for several years and can't imagine working anywhere else. Company culture is very laid back and everyone is friendly. We work hard but we have fun, too. Great teamwork with people pitching in to help each other. The company mission is to change the way people think about accounting and we are doing it.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Super great for work life balance, interesting clients, culture and work!

    Apr 28, 2020 - Senior Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Senior Management is awesome. Everyone is very helpful and easy to work with.

    Cons

    Expensive health insurance, but that's really the only one.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fulfilling

    Apr 10, 2020 - Accountant in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I find it to be a very supportive culture, even though the work can be intense. That happens with a rapidly growing company. I love the variety of work and ability to interact with clients. The distributed model matches my life-style.

    Cons

    If you're not a hard worker, this place is probably tough. You need to be flexible to service the clients.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great CPA Firm

    Apr 8, 2020 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Summit CPA does a lot of things right! It all starts with the people. Summit is a true team environment. If you are willing to knock (virtually) on some doors you will always find an answer to your question. In addition, Summit's business is always changing because the owners are willing to listen to the team and react quickly to any changes that are needed. This is my favorite thing about the ownership at Summit. Even if you just started 2 weeks ago, your ideas will be heard and lead to some amazing discussions! I also believe the work is the most rewarding type of work you can do as an Accountant. Everyday you feel like you are making a difference in the clients business! You can't do a review of Summit without talking about the flexibility. What flexibility means at Summit is the ability to enjoy my life outside of work. We do work hard and there are some long days, but if I am smart I can always make my outside commitments work.

    Cons

    The only con for me is the cost of insurance that is passed on to the employee. It isn't high for similar size companies, but if you come from a larger business it takes a little getting used to.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    Apr 3, 2020 - Marketing Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Summit CPA Group is one of the best places I have ever worked. The leadership team is extremely supportive, the work environment is flexible and autonomous, and the team members truly care about one another as well as their clients.

    Cons

    The only con for me is that I don't get to hang out with my co-workers on the weekends (because we all work remotely), but I also love being able to work from where I live.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Work at Summit CPA Group? Share Your Experiences

Summit CPA Group logo
or