Sun Life Actuarial Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sun Life Actuarial Analyst Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
10 Ratings
  1. "Actuarial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Currently experience no down side. might add in later

    Sun Life2019-05-07
  2. "Very good intern position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst Co-op in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot Great Atmosphere Great exam support

    Cons

    Work will seem meaningful at times

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sun Life2018-02-21
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Actuarial Analyst in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good starting wage, opportunity for growth

    Cons

    HR is a nightmare, otherwise awesome

    Sun Life2018-01-24
  4. "Super positive and engaging culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Actuarial Analyst in Wellesley Hills, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, happy people. On site gym and massage facilities. Exam support for actuarial students as well as external activities

    Cons

    I've been working here for a year and really can't think of any cons. I love my job!

    Sun Life2017-07-26
  5. "Actuarial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Sun Life Financial has a superb workplace culture that's very supportive, positive, and constructive. There are many different types of opportunities within this company and people are always looking to find out what you're good at and keep an eye out for opportunities that they think would be a good fit for you.

    Cons

    Overall Sun Life is a great place to work and there are not many downsides that I experienced personally while I was there. While communication can sometimes take up more time than expected, this is normal for a company of its size.

    Advice to Management

    Management could have given a little more guidance to interns in the form of specific criteria, expectations, and explicit instructions regarding how to complete assigned projects.

    Sun Life2016-10-17
  6. "Actuarial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst 

    I have been working at Sun Life

    Pros

    Good work life balance, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    raise is heavily based on exams instead of performance.

    Sun Life2016-02-19
  7. "Great Company and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good people, very friendly

    Cons

    large company, very hard to meet everyone and remember

    Advice to Management

    more social activities for the company

    Sun Life2015-09-30
  8. "Assistant Actuarial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Actuarial Analyst in Newton, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good working environment. Good culture to work in. Colleagues are friendly and easy to work with.

    Cons

    The growth prospect of the company itself in US is not very promising.

    Sun Life2015-08-31
  9. "Great Company continually improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great corporate culture. Interesting work. Managers and co-workers are very helpful and team work is paramount.

    Cons

    Salary and progression too closely attached to actuarial exams.

    Advice to Management

    As part of the new high performance culture. It would be worth reviewing the band progression to be more focused on work performance.

    Sun Life2015-05-25
  10. "Great culture, very friendly people, very professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Actuarial Analyst (Actuaries) in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Job security - Good benefits - Great people - Cares about the community and has a lot of employee programs and employer matching contribution programs

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be an issue at times

    Sun Life2014-09-21
Found 17 reviews