Sunrise Senior Living "short staffed" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sunrise Senior Living Employee Reviews about "short staffed"

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
395 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a very good working environment and have excellent team members(in 45 reviews)

  • "Strong culture and work environment(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Coordinators think your job is your life like you have to work overtime whether you want to or not(in 59 reviews)

  • "Short Staffed for weekend shifts(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "short staffed"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "The worst place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager in Windsor, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents and a couple co-workers

    Cons

    Over-worked Underpaid- well below industry standard, basically minimum wage. Unappreciated for all your hard work. Toxic work environment. Constant turnover= people quitting all the time. Stressed out CMs. Gossipy coworkers. Poor training when it comes to being on the floor. Thown on floor you weren't properly trained on as the CM so-called training you was too busy to properly show you then you're expected... to know what to do. 7 CMs per shift caring for over 80 residents, many who need round the clock care= ridiculous workload. Often short staffed which makes matters worse. Residents pay a fortune to live there yet they don't get the care they pay for and deserve. I truly feel sorry for them. They call it "Assissted Living" but it's actually a nursing home. Peri care, feeding, bathing, using lifts, transferring to bathroom, etc. You're expected to rush when with residents and go as quick as possible. No companionship what so ever when you can tell they just want to talk to you but you can't. It breaks my heart. You're expected to be done with each resident within 10 min or else your told your going "too slow" by management. I have personally seen residents be thrown around shrieking by other CMs as if they were a rag doll in order for the CM to get done quick. It's not right! Lead care managers talk crap about you to management. Lots of favouritism going on with management. If you make a mistake or didnt have time to get everything done you'll hear from them and get scolded and be treated differently instead of them trying to help by getting more CMs on the floor. My hours were cut to 0 for several weeks and I whole heartily think it's because my manager stopped liking me and wanted to punish me. Besides Caring for residents, have to do laundry and serve breakfast and lunch in the dining room then do trays as if you have time to leave the floor. This leaves you 4 hours out of your 8 hour day to care for your residents. Didn't get many of my breaks and lunches even though it's the law. Sore back and feet every single day Beyond exhausted after each shift. Save yourself the emotional and physically draining demands you will experience at Sunrise. The worst part is management and Sales portray Sunrise as top notch when really its crap descised in a fancy building. Alk they care about us money and the residents are the cash cows and CMs the work horses. I seriously don't know how they get away with it. Its repulsive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better for all their hard work, you know you can afford it. Put more CMs, nurses and actual wait staff on the floor, you know you can afford it. Hire managers that actually care about their staff and wants to help, not be rude and not listen. They should also be made to spend a day on the floor and see what it's like and then maybe they wouldn't give staff such a hard time and instead show... appreciation. Ensure all staff get their much deserved breaks and lunches no matter what. Quit being all about profits and start caring more about your staff and residents!

    Show More
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-06-10
  2. "limited hours and okay pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Enrichment Manager in Charlotte, NC

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They give you a lot of training and continuing education.

    Cons

    Hours are based on how much care is needed and that often leaves us short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    actually implement the companies policies because they are great policies

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-04-11
  3. "Overall good. But upper management is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    Most of the workers love their job so their willing to help.

    Cons

    Always short staffed. The sunrise I worked at (Wheaton IL) would over work you. You’d work overnights 5 mins before it’s time to go they want you to stay. I worked over a year on a unit alone because of “budgets”. They never hired anybody to help me on the floor with 15 plus residents with dementia. Upper management doesn’t care when you have personal problems going on. And my vacation request always got denied or I... had to find my own coverage but others got to go to Vegas etc. they treat the overnight workers like crap. Provide Christmas gifts and food to all shifts but nights. I can go on and on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put yourself in the workers shoes. Especially overnight team. They are the most worked and least appreciated. Oh and maybe things would be better if the company hired coordinators whom know the job. In the time I worked their, Ive had 3 coordinations and only 1 was any good. The current coordinator has the activity supervisor doing the schedules. The coordinator cuts hours for no real reason or over schedules you or... ever changes your days and doesn’t say anything most of the team has set schedules. Also I was sexually harassed in sunrise senior living they fired the harasser but never changed the builds lock codes. So unprofessional

    Show More
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-01-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Spot Bonuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Holladay, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    $50 spot bonus to cover a full shift, not that bad.

    Cons

    Short Staffed for weekend shifts

    Advice to Management

    Retention bonus is a must, or shift differentials.

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-20
  5. "Poor management who couldnt care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medication Technician in Mobberley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    looking after the residents & getting to know them

    Cons

    management who couldnt care less about staff or resident relations, consistently short staffed and always struggling to recruit new staff. Management talk down to staff and treat them rubbish, favouritism between certain managers and senior carers. not always being able to look after residents properly

    Advice to Management

    treat your staff better and then you wouldnt have people leaving all the time

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not Worth the Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Life Enrichment Manager in Haverford, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like working with the elderly and individuals with dementia, you'll enjoy working with the population of people that live at Sunrise communities. Benefits are ok; you get health insurance, dental, 401k, HSA, PTO, etc.

    Cons

    High turnover, high stress, and low pay. Constantly short-staffed and the staff who is there fights with one another over actually doing the work assigned to them. Health insurance is costly for a family and they do not offer any paid maternity leave. Management team plays favorites (including hiring family members) and cares more about getting paying bodies into the building than the care provided to them.

    Advice to Management

    The management teams needs to be retrained or clean house because every Sunrise I have been to has similar issues. Also, $12/hr doesn't cut it when you are trying to raise a family. More competitive pay will draw higher quality employees.

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-09-01
  7. "REM Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours, management, flexibility, staff, facility

    Cons

    Pay, Scheduling, training, computer charting, short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Making sure the employees are happy by asking them to fill out survey questions, following up with the survey questions, making sure to come up to the floor and observe as well as asking how things are going.

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-08-07
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Unfortunately very few positives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents were the reason to keep coming back

    Cons

    The care managers are not required to be certified as nursing assistants but the population included MANY seniors with skilled facility needs. I found it unethical to have uncertified staff caring for total care residents. Staff are required to do the jobs of three people and get paid pittance. The communities seem to prioritize workers from other nations as they traditionally have been willing to accept less... pay and work hard. This is unfair to the residents whom are often hard of hearing, can’t understand a heavy accent, and are cared for by people who don’t understand the cultural values of the seniors because the care managers are from a different culture. The pay is embarrassingly low. Hours are also micromanaged to ensure no overtime is possible. They are constantly short staffed- which is dangerous for worker’s health and patient protection. People who work there seem unhappy. It is a stark contrast to the vibrant surrounding of each community. There were so many unethical things that happened that I left because I was so grieved for the seniors. They would also promote the “second paycheck” of feeling good about the work being done. Eye roll! That statement is so out of touch with the needs of workers today and the cost of living in most areas...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The decision makers who may read this post will more than likely do nothing. They have very little incentive to change. So long as Sunrise is a publicly traded company they care more about the bottom line than an anonymous and very truthful review. I had worked in many skilled facilities prior to Sunrise but it was my tenure there that helped me decide never to place my family in a facility under any circumstances.... Looks are very deceiving. The facilities are beautiful but the care is terrible. It’s tough to write and hard to read. If upper management truly cares about Terry and Paul’s mission, they have more than enough evidence already to make demonstrable changes for the workers and the seniors who are vulnerable...

    Show More
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-06-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Care manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    this location is close to public transportation

    Cons

    always short staffed, working as a server and cleaning the dinning room is not what i expected upon accepting this job

    Advice to Management

    hire on call staff to help with no shows or call offs. a facility like this should never be understaffed

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-05-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The management caused me to quit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Care Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in memory care & I stayed as long as I did for my residents! They deserve better care for the amount they pay each month. The staff that I worked with on a daily basis made the job do-able.

    Cons

    There is NO support from management! Its all numbers and not peoples lives here! Way too much gossip & drama for the work place and most trickles down from upper management. Consistently short staffed & they burnt their staff out by double shifts & crazy overtime. Many people they've hired have little to no experience or idea of what they are doing!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff...they are the ones on the front line taking care of your residents...if they are happy everyone is happy! Pay your staff better & you'll have more qualified applicants!

    Sunrise Senior Living2017-12-28
Found 39 reviews