Swinton Insurance Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated 26 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
29%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Swinton Insurance Managing Director Scott Kennedy (no image)
Scott Kennedy
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in each department(in 20 reviews)

  • "Not a bad company to work for, good people to work with(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "the call centre / head office in Manchester will be gone within 2 years when it starts functioning out of King Stoke(in 20 reviews)

  • "Head office location not the easiest to get to(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not a bad company to work for, good people to work with

    Cons

    No one knows the correct answer to anything

    Swinton Insurance2019-11-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Massive company reorganisation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Excellent office in the centre of Manchester

    Cons

    Rapidly diminishing company when I started we had 5000staff when I left less than a thousand. I had 5 managers in 5 years. I was frequently working in a team of 1 person

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2019-08-09

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We understand the uncertainty that has been caused by recent changes has been difficult, but these have been an essential part of changes in how we operate. It has been essential to enable us to take the best of what we had before, and build a platform on which to grow in the future. Kind regards, The Swinton Team

  3. "Company going through change"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, bonuses were good, caring attitude for customers. Flexible working.

    Cons

    Closing branches, becoming less customer focussed and more cost focussed, service is not as good as it was.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2019-07-03

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We understand the uncertainty that has been caused by recent changes has been difficult, but these have been an essential part of changes in how we operate. It has been essential to enable us to take the best of what we had before, and build a platform on which to grow in the future. Kind regards, The Swinton Team

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not great"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Near the train station; some good people.

    Cons

    Not a suitable place at this time for software developers. Attrition was (intentially) high.

    Swinton Insurance2018-01-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Customer service manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good training, good people around you at branch level. Great ADM , good work nights out . Free tea and coffee

    Cons

    Personal crusades at head office level, if your face fits your fine, to many yes men making the wrong decisions

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2017-12-13

    Swinton Insurance Response

    February 14, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. The views of our colleagues our very important to us, which is why we hold regular consultations such as the Share It survey.

  6. "Good company to work for but only just catching up on market standard benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good commitment to customer service Good people development process

    Cons

    Sometimes operating in silos and would benefit from more cross department communication

    Swinton Insurance2017-11-16
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Unsecure"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with and the new building in the City centre is very nice

    Cons

    Lots of miscommunication's and insecurity when it comes to job roles. Things seem to change every year and the board of directors make sweeping changes often. Lots of branches closing down and redundancies have been rife.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2017-08-08

    Swinton Insurance Response

    September 8, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We understand that the changes within Swinton have been difficult ones as we have undergone a transition to a more digitally-focused company. However has been essential to alter the way we work in order to meet the changing needs of our customers. All staff were consulted throughout each stage of the process and support was available for all affected staff. However if you think more could have been done or you have specific feedback you would like to give about the consultation process please let us know. You can contact the HR Helpdesk directly on 0161 233 3850, who will be able to assist.

  8. Helpful (11)

    "Going down hill fast"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with good people, new contact centre, that is about it I'm afraid. . . . . . .

    Cons

    Where to start! When I started at Swinton I loved my job but the new computer systems failings have resulted in an ever increasing amount of angry customers and those of us on the front line are getting little support.The stress levels of concerned staff are not being addressed. No pay review or decent bonus structure for fully trained and experienced staff - new staff on higher salaries is unreal! Clear favouritism in promotion of staff - if you are not 'pally' with management you don't stand a chance of promotion

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2017-04-12

    Swinton Insurance Response

    April 21, 2017Resource Advisor

    First of all, thank you for your open and honest feedback. As we look to become an employer of choice and create a working environment for all colleagues, it’s essential we listen to and act on feedback in areas that we need to improve on. It is always disappointing that passionate, customer-focused colleagues like yourself are frustrated at work. We are also particularly concerned about your comments around "if you are not 'pally' with management you don't stand a chance of promotion". Therefore, if you feel comfortable with the idea, I would like to ask that you contact our Recruitment team directly on 0161 233 3822 to discuss and understand your frustrations/experiences. That way, lessons can be learned and shared to ensure we avoid making the same mistakes and ensure other colleagues do not experience anything similar in the future.

  9. Helpful (15)

    "Customer Service Manager"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - CSM in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people in branch network work over and above to give the best customer service they can. Working on 3 different systems..1 that doesn't work- they need a medal

    Cons

    Seems from the outside looking in, there is a deadline to move everything across to a call centre network ( strata ).. that was pushed forward before stress tests were completed..All so 2018, we become a call centre in new property in Manchester, where we have leased the entire building and as per property magazines " move all customer facing staff under one roof. " So 1 year left guys, before total branch network closures.. That's why even though the systems are a work in progress, we carry on making it up as we go as the deadline has to be hit.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2016-11-17

    Swinton Insurance Response

    April 18, 2017Resource Advisor

    First of all, thank you for your open and honest feedback. As we look to become an employer of choice and create a working environment for all colleagues, it’s essential we listen to and act on feedback in areas that we need to improve on. It is always disappointing that passionate, customer-focussed colleagues like yourself were frustrated at work and made the decision to leave their future with us.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not so bad"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good people, good products coming apparently, and we are told the whole range of processes will become much easier once computer systems are replaced later this year which will be a dream. Salaries are in my opinion generally fair, and although the bonus scheme has changed and incentives have reduced significantly recently, they were very rich for many years and could never be sustained indefinitely.

    Cons

    Very uncertain times, many changes over the last few years with very little time to catch your breath in between, recent restructure has resulted in mixed feelings and we are currently a bit in limbo due to the length of time everything is taking but overall it would seem that its going to be a great place to work going forward...watch this space

    Swinton Insurance2016-04-18
Found 13 reviews