Swinton Insurance Employee Reviews about "head office"

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
29%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Swinton Insurance Managing Director Scott Kennedy (no image)
Scott Kennedy
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in each department(in 20 reviews)

  • "Not a bad company to work for, good people to work with(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "the call centre / head office in Manchester will be gone within 2 years when it starts functioning out of King Stoke(in 20 reviews)

  • "Head office location not the easiest to get to(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "head office"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Profits over customer care"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, full sick pay, good wellbeing programs.

    Cons

    Went from being a ‘Sales Machine’ to a ‘customer service machine’ now back to being a ‘sales machine’ - currently no care for employees, no training, no observations just focused on sales. The new company and it’s very commercially driven CEO the King of Stoke.....the call centre / head office in Manchester will be gone within 2 years when it starts functioning out of King Stoke! No way will he pay Manchester City rates.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2019-12-04
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Former CSM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was once a great company - However, Senior Managers came in , made massive cuts, took massive payouts and left. Present board left with what’s left - All Senior management and new staff have no insurance knowledge. The knowledge was always with the branches, who they have released with massive payouts to go and work for rivals. Certain Ex-Exco managers should be ashamed of what they have done

    Cons

    Head Office staff - Bless them. Attrition over 40%. Kids being paid 17k - To handle complex queries or awkward questions without the ability or experience to deal with them. There peers taken on from non-insurance backgrounds, so have not got the knowledge either and don’t understand the journey isn’t just a process or click on a computer.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2019-02-04

    Swinton Insurance Response

    April 30, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, We understand that it has been a difficult time due to the changes at Swinton, but these have been an essential part of a review of how we operate. This has meant we needed to make some difficult decisions to ensure that we can bring the appropriate levels of service to all of our customers. This review will enable us to take the best of what we had before, and build a platform on which to grow in the future. Kind regards, The Swinton Team

  3. Helpful (4)

    "All went down hill.."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Met great friends, bonus’s in the past and the company used to care

    Cons

    Heavy work load, scripts and call monitoring makes you loose your personality. Too many systems which don’t work half the time. De morilised by management and head office as just waiting to be made redundant. No progression or job security as the branches are forgotten about as it’s just about the call centres.. Any excuse not to give bonus and be marked down

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2018-08-22

    Swinton Insurance Response

    August 28, 2018Social Media Manager

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time at Swinton, and hope that some of the issues you have raised you were able to discuss with your line manager before you left. The welfare of our colleagues is very important to us, and if you were unhappy your manager would have been there to support you. If you felt you weren't able to do that and would like to discuss with us more about the issues you raise, you can contact us directly on 0161 233 3850. We understand that it has been a difficult time due to the changes at Swinton, but these have been an essential part of a review of how we operate. This has meant we needed to make some difficult decisions to ensure that we can bring the appropriate levels of service to all of our customers. This review will enable us to take the best of what we had before, and build a platform on which to grow in the future. Thanks, the Swinton team

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Only a matter of time before it’s one BIG call centre!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Sutton, South Yorkshire, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Colleagues and my direct line manager any other pros have disappeared gradually over the years from constant changes to the bonus scheme. Now no matter how well you perform if other departments don’t deliver overall objectives you will not get a bonus at all.

    Cons

    Non existent “bonus”, lies from Exco team, promises of clarity and improved engagement then no communications for months especially in times of crisis redundancies/branch closure. They only invest in head office call centre in Manchester all other areas of the business left on its knees with terrible systems, crumbling offices that they can’t wait to close/sell.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2018-04-07

    Swinton Insurance Response

    April 26, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to discuss any of the issues you raise any further please call us on 0161 233 3850. We value our colleagues and would like to discuss your experience. Thanks, the Swinton team.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t bother"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not really any pros apart from the people I worked with

    Cons

    No job security, bonus structure is terrible they might as well just get rid of it, the senior management at the head office seem to have no idea what the customer service job role entails

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2018-03-14
  6. Helpful (11)

    "I Wish I Could Be Kinder"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you stay long enough, they'll eventually pay you to leave.

    Cons

    Swinton Insurance are a company in serious decline with an even more serious identity crisis. They don’t know who they are or where they are going anymore. The organisation has a culture of internal politics and bureaucracy; too many fingers, too many pies. Projects have far too many egos to stroke and decisions are often made based on points scoring rather than the greater good. Swinton wasted tens of millions on an internally designed retail platform that never got past Car Quote and customer admin stage – because too many people wanted too many things and no-one could agree with what it should do or had the guts to tell these people to sit down and shut up. A whole lot of noise is made about being innovative and modern but quite often the status quo will win because the business processes and systems are so complex that no-one can be bothered to spend the time to unpick them or people will put far too many barriers in place to allow it to happen. Quite often, something new will come out that will be quickly followed by work arounds, quick fixes, pauses or pulled altogether – purely because they just can’t get it right before it goes live. This toxic attitude along with a senior management team’s constant lies will be what drives the company into the abyss. Rumours of the company’s sale first started to circulate in August 2017 but were denied as having no basis. The company is now listed as being up for auction in 2018 – despite all of the denials from the leadership teams. Swinton claim to be all about the customer. They aren’t. They claim to be a modern company. Despite a very attractive head office building, they aren’t. They claim to be open and honest. They aren’t. They claim to be innovative. They aren’t. They claim to be a responsive and mobile business. They aren’t. I think you know where this is going… Swinton also bang a very loud drum about being diverse – but the reality is that it’s all for show. Yes, there is a diverse culture in the organisation but it’s all for show. It’s all a points scoring game for PR that leads to positive discrimination. But it’s OK, faces that fit are apparently indispensable, including those at the top. So as long as your face fits, you're fine. You’re not good at your job because you’re good at your job, you’re good at it because they hired a / an [insert minority]. They’ve supported Manchester Pride for a few years running, but don’t directly do any other work for any other community unless it benefits them. In the interests of fairness, the branches are encouraged to help communities and frequently do, but it’s plastered with Swinton rather than because these people are good people. A good company doesn’t need to bang a drum to score PR points, people will do it for you. The company is in serious decline, customers are turning their backs on the company but no-one at the top has ever really asked why; let alone tried to stop the rot. They focus on “good customer service” being about a customer presenting a box of chocolates and not about what the company offer the customer. This has lead to mass redundancies for 3 years, shrinkage of the support functions and branches, sale of the building they owned, introduction of contractors who could be gone tomorrow all seemingly being manoeuvred into either closure or a merger with a company that already have these assets. No wonder Covea want shot of it. Don’t be fooled by the PR, the bottom line is that the company is in serious decline and Swinton are the epitome of what not to do to save a company from going under. The leadership team at the top have made the most disastrous and stupid decisions but are never being held to account for them; and that will not change while they are in charge. Give the company a go if there is a new senior management structure in place. It might be better, but if the current team are still around when you read this, then join their customers and avoid like the plague.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2018-01-30

    Swinton Insurance Response

    February 12, 2018Social Media Manager

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you think we’re not transparent and honest, we do always try to keep our colleagues informed. The recent reports you refer to are speculative, and we wouldn’t want our colleagues to worry about the future of the business. If you would like to discuss any of the issues you have raised in more detail, please contact us directly on 0161 233 3850. Thank you.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "HR Encourage Yes Men to add fake reviews to bump up ratings"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Glass head office building funded by constant branch closures.

    Cons

    Branch network is dead and unless someone wants a temporary job in a branch that pays with changing roles every week, as the Board and senior manager can't keep the people busy, avoid joining them in the roles that are advertised as the branch network is on a life support machine ... Never known a company to have so many restructures in such short period and still not got it right , when's the next closures Mr Directors ?????? . The last one was hushed by Senior Managers In November 2017 to avoid negative press coverage ,...

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2018-01-27

    Swinton Insurance Response

    January 29, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We understand that the changes within Swinton have been difficult ones as we have undergone a transition to a more digitally-focused company. However it has been essential to alter the way we work in order to meet the changing needs of our customers. We do listen to our colleagues and all staff were consulted throughout each stage of the process and support was available for all affected staff. However if you think more could have been done or you have specific feedback you would like to give about the consultation process please let us know. If you wish to discuss this in more detail you can contact the HR Helpdesk on 0161 233 3850.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Customer service manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good training, good people around you at branch level. Great ADM , good work nights out . Free tea and coffee

    Cons

    Personal crusades at head office level, if your face fits your fine, to many yes men making the wrong decisions

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2017-12-13

    Swinton Insurance Response

    February 14, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. The views of our colleagues our very important to us, which is why we hold regular consultations such as the Share It survey.

  9. "Good company however won't be around for long"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Largest insurance brokerage in U.K. And like a large family and has helped me grow over the Years

    Cons

    Head office in Manchester and unless willing and able to commute the distance the jobs outside will disappear

    Swinton Insurance2017-10-16
  10. Helpful (18)

    "Oh dear"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was lucky enough to spend my last year working with an amazing team and manager that would always offer support when needed. The holiday allowance got increased (for some) after the 2016 conference. Location - I was lucky enough to have a 5 min commute to work.

    Cons

    The company decided to introduce a new system (about time, the old systems were a joke) however just for bants decided to give no-one any proper training. The seniors that are meant to know how to work the system don't know their bum from their elbow and you then get penalised for calling around to different departments for help. Thanks Swinton. Where to start with the redundancies. We found out that we could 'potentially' be made redundant just over a month before it actually happened meaning that those that weren't lucky enough to receive any sort of redundancy package, were left panicked trying to find a job. Now I don't know if any of you have tried looking for jobs recently, but 1 month is not enough! The government can thank Swinton for the recent increase in job seekers applications. By June we had all gotten used to the idea that we were leaving and had all started the frantic job hunting process, but Swinton being Swinton dropped a bombshell 2 weeks before the branches closed - there were vacancies in branches staying open. Now bare in mind that around 84 branches closed, these branches that are remaining open are not down the road. There had been people that were willing to relocate to the open branches, but No! Swinton won't allow that, let's just force two poor sods that don't want to be here anymore to commute for an extra hour everyday, to an office they don't want to work in, for a company that they've already decided they want to leave, after spending weeks looking for a new job, let's just keep them just for bants. Also not long after we were told about the 'possible' redundancies, our intranet was flooded by images of the new Swinton head office, in the heart of Manchester city, with amazing links all over the place, shiny new desks and computers, with their own state of the art pool tables, unicorns, whatever. Thanks for the consideration Swinton. Why not rub it in some more. The board clearly have no sympathy for anyone, they clearly don't care about their staff, got rid of us as soon as we sorted out their system and got it up and running. Working in the branches is hectic! We not only had to do our work but the contact centres would pass us their work too (how you are going to survive with the contact centre I do not know, they don't know how to do the basics) All in all I have to say I don't trust the board. I don't trust that the rest of the branches are going to stay open for very long. It's clear that 'personal service has gone out the window a long time ago, and the only thing that made you different in the market was the branches, but now you are getting rid of them good luck! You won't be able to survive online either because your rates are shocking.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2017-07-08
Found 23 reviews