TAL Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
TAL Group CEO and  Managing Director Brett Clark (no image)
Brett Clark
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent to start Career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at TAL

    Pros

    Good Management Team work Career oriented Salary

    Cons

    Location 6 days week less no of projects

    Continue reading
  2. "Innovation contract"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Innovation Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you know the right people it's possible to create opportunities

    Cons

    Transparency and communication within the company is poor

    TAL Response

    June 24, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. We will ensure your feedback is incorporated into our ongoing monitoring of our people experience but should you wish to supply further feedback please contact us via: peopleandculture@tal.com.au.


  3. "QA officer"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Officers in Melbourne

    I worked at TAL full-time

    Pros

    The culture is greAt at tal

    Cons

    Deadlines Are really short and unrealistic

    TAL Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment and acknowledge the great culture we have at TAL! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

  4. "Treading water"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time

    Pros

    Free insurance and most people are great!

    Cons

    No pay rise in 5 years, more remit and expected to work yourself with the “offer” dangling that next year you will be rewarded. Made to feel guilty for asking for a raise and a bonus and told you are lucky to have a job. Work life balance mantra is a joke as long hours are expected and if don’t get it done then performance management is thrown at you. Biding time as hoping job market will open up soon.

    TAL Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value feedback and are disappointed to hear that you feel this way. To discuss your individual situation, we encourage you to contact us our people services teams at: TALpeopleandculture@tal.com.au .

  5. "-"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Senior Actuarial Analyst in Sydney

    I worked at TAL full-time

    Pros

    People are friendly and willing to teach

    Cons

    Long hours and no downtime

  6. Helpful (1)

    "poor management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at TAL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great location; flexible working arrangements; building has a gym for TAL staff; condiments in the kitchen and enough forks for everyone

    Cons

    feels like fight club when you come to work, poor management, no actual training, but sent to a 3 week 'training course' where you chat all day, full portfolio from about week 2, high case loads, no support from lower - middle management as everyone is busy in meetings or at the pub

    TAL Response

    May 11, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We take our culture and commitment to our people seriously and we’re disappointed to hear that didn't have a consistent experience. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant people within TAL and should you wish to provide further feedback please contact us at PeopleandCulture@tal.com.au.

  7. "Amazing people first culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership who genuinely care about staff and customers. Great office work environment. Flexible working. Strong support for diversity and health and wellbeing.

    Cons

    Competitive industry that has led to margin erosion and cuts.

    Continue reading

    TAL Response

    May 11, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your first-hand experiences of working with us. We're pleased to hear that you also have a passion for our culture and people. We will ensure your comments are passed on. If you would like to discuss your feedback further we would encourage you to contact us via PeopleandCulture@tal.com.au.

  8. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supports their staff - even during a lot of turmoil in the industry

    Cons

    Some parts of the business are a little siloed

  9. "Nothing outstanding"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No 1 insurer in Australia

    Cons

    People seem to enjoy working with TAL but turnovers are frequent and exec team seem to be out of touch

    TAL Response

    May 11, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment, we appreciate your feedback and will ensure it is passed on! If you would like to discuss further please contact us via via TALPeopleandCulture@tal.com.au.

  10. "Good culture, nice people, OK rewards"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is fantastic in Sydney, and the people are generally great to work with. There are often opportunities to grow and develop, but they will not always be easy to obtain.

    Cons

    It seemed very difficult, almost impossible, for managers to do anything meaningful about poor performers.

    Continue reading

    TAL Response

    May 11, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We feel that any reference to our culture gives us insight into our people's experience working with us. And, every insight is valuable. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant people within TAL and should you wish to provide further feedback please contact us PeopleandCulture@tal.com.au.

Found 82 reviews
</>Embed