TD Ameritrade Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

TD Ameritrade Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
TD Ameritrade CEO Tim Hockey
Tim Hockey
337 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unclear promotion path within the call center(in 49 reviews)

  • "That I didn't find Scottrade sooner(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Not a good place for Investment Consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Consultant in Na-Duar
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No a lot of pros, as they are sub par on all levels, as compared to the competition. Old legacy Sr Management getting stale and it shows.

    Cons

    Can't maneuver the new landscape very nimbly like other firms. Super high employee turnover is all you need to know. Stay away!!! Much better out there

    Advice to Management

    Simple- compensate people more competitively, and you will retain talent.

    TD Ameritrade2017-09-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, Good longterm growth, below average compensation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investor Services Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, lots of good industry experience, good overtime, good vacation, if working after hours or weekends, outstanding direct leadership and senior leadership.

    Cons

    0 Commissions forcing leadership to drive metrics, cut bonuses, and keep pay low. Lowest pay scale compared to competitors. 33% Turnover rate in St. Louis to leave for other firms. Disconnect between Senior leadership and retail managers (Day shift managers who can never be found).

    Advice to Management

    Client experience will suffer longterm if we cannot keep talent. Make adjustments to manager positions. Too many comfortable managers who take role as a right and not a privilege. Lazy daytime managers who need to be replaced with no understanding of how to lead by example. Increase pay to be competitive with market or talent will continue to leave to adjacent firms.

    TD Ameritrade2019-11-09
  3. "TD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment with upbeat employees

    Cons

    Promotions and advancements in the company unclear. No path to follow.

    TD Ameritrade2019-11-11
  4. "Working in TD Ameritrade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, flex hours, highly qualified co workers, Managers are tech savvy

    Cons

    Weekend supports, Silo, too much tech debt

    TD Ameritrade2019-11-09
  5. "Decent place to start a career in financial consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Consultant 

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    Great people committed to helping each other.

    Cons

    Muddled company direction due to recent merger.

    TD Ameritrade2019-11-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work. Hard to move up if you don't move out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coach in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic local management and engagement. They are a very inclusive employer. I always felt i provided value to the company and clients.

    Cons

    If you are not willing to move, you really can't move up int he company.

    TD Ameritrade2019-10-31
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investor Services in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent atmosphere, great benefits, lots of opportunity to grow and move to other departments

    Cons

    Base salary leaves more to be desired

    TD Ameritrade2019-10-30
  8. "Great company committed to purpose, innovation and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, at the cutting edge of many emerging and complex legal issues. Nice benefits packages, and excellent work/life balance -- the company is very flexible for work from home or work from anyone. Not a face time culture. Company is committed to innovating and winning in the space. Also committed to diversity and inclusion initiatives. Committed to professional development of associates.

    Cons

    Parental leave policy is still lacking, even after multiple attempts. Not much transparency on salary, so unclear if is truly competitive. Company is committed to innovation, but has serious limitations due to ownership and regulatory situation. Not many opportunities for advancement within Legal department.

    TD Ameritrade2019-10-28
  9. "Registered Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment and managers, paid study time for licenses and no cost when leaving the firm.

    Cons

    Corporate structure with almost no upwards movement until sales quota is hit. Pushing sales over customer service. Same routine every single day is not motivating.

    Advice to Management

    Allow flexibility and upward movement based off of metrics rather than time with the company or quotas.

    TD Ameritrade2019-11-11
  10. "Fired a good CEO; Snarky HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    I learned that TDA is one of the best-paying employers in the state of Nebraska. I doubt that is the case in any of the other locations, but it is nice for Nebraskans. Qualifier for this pro: As Omaha is the headquarters location for the company, and Nebraskans stand to lose if they change employers, it may be why the company tolerates misbehavior that is unacceptable in other locations where there are other... employment options of equal or higher compensation.

    Show More

    Cons

    I learned that the founder, Joe Ricketts, is a racist. His emails were published in the press. His political ties and personal ties influence company culture to such an extent that although he is no longer with the firm, his legacy is a group of board members willing and eager to fire CEO Tim Hockey. Hockey has not been silent about being fired when his performance has been excellent. I checked out a career... development talk offered by HR to IT associates. The presenter, a guest of the IT Agile Transformation Office, stated that she didn't think associates upskilling in Agile through internal programs, certificates, or degrees should expect an increase in compensation. In fact, she seemed to gloat about how the Agile transformation was never intended to spread to the entire enterprise, or even all of IT. She sounded condescending when she commented that Agilists could take their skills elsewhere in the company to try for advancement, why, they would even be valued in HR! Wow. The presentation felt more snarky than inspiring, and made me rethink my HR presentations in the past few years. In my advice to mangement, I note a few red flags I should have paid attention to earlier.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is a snarkiness present in conversations between associates and HR. HR is pretty good at talking a talk, but they do not walk the walk. In fact, they dodge questions at town halls, sometimes sighing with impatience about being made to answer associate questions. They control the dialogue and make promises they don't keep. For example, HR promised to set up an HR Q&A Slack channel for associates.... Sounds good, right? The channel appears, but new rules, Slackers: instead of asking questions, HR will post one question per week and an answer. Huh? Why wait a week between questions? (And why is the answer inevitably, "no, suckas"?) Doling out associate questions one at a time seems like controlling the dialogue to me. Wouldn't it be relevant to post all HR-related town hall questions and answers immediately after the town hall? Because of course the composition of associates changes, and of course management changes rapidly from quarter to quarter. Why wait? Even then, the promise to post a question a week almost immediate gets broken. They surely have enough questions that they can post one a week, probably two and not run out. But instead the postings die off, and weeks go by with no communication at all. I guess no one can hold HR to account in this company. In fact, HR seemed so unwilling to further Tim Hockey's agenda during his tenure (in their actions, not in their words) I wouldn't be surprised if they helped get him fired and will be working to erase his cultural legacy in the coming years. Tim Hockey will be gone by Feb. 2020, so watch for further developments then. My crystal ball could be wrong and a more progressive leader could replace Hockey, firing HR and starting afresh with an even stronger drive towards 21st c. values. If HR remains and IT is removed or leaves, the writing would be on the wall for your quality of workplace experience. If you value working in fintech it would be time to find an employer who would value you.

    Show More
    TD Ameritrade2019-11-10
Found 1281 reviews