Teach For India Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Teach For India Reviews

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Teach For India CEO Shaheen Mistri
Shaheen Mistri
150 Ratings
Pros
  • "The overarching focus is always on cooperation and collaboration rather than competition - builds a healthy work culture(in 15 reviews)

  • "The fellowship is once in lifetime experience and is an amazing journey(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of support for evening school fellows(in 31 reviews)

  • "Work life balance career-progression compensation(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Learning curve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach For India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Huge opportunity to learn about the grassroots level problem.

    Cons

    * Not similar experience in all operating cities, fellowship experience highly dependent on the city you work in.

    Teach For India2020-03-22
  2. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Mumbai

    I have been working at Teach For India full-time

    Pros

    Great Team Culture and People her work for purpose

    Cons

    Limited Hierarchy in term of Grow

    Teach For India2020-03-27
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach For India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Constantly improving

    Cons

    Salary for Associate band could be better and should be based on experience and qualification

    Continue reading
    Teach For India2020-03-27
  4. "Application and Assessment Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teach For India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. 2-3 questions on why TFI, a personal anecdote relating to the question

    Cons

    The Fellowship could be challenging given the low salary as an NGO however there is a lot of learning in living in that frugality.

    Teach For India2020-03-26
  5. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Teach For India full-time

    Pros

    Lot of autonomy that helps you pick up skills as you go.

    Cons

    structures are still emerging and hence not effecient

    Teach For India2020-03-23
  6. "Learning and growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach For India full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good experience with lot of support

    Cons

    Hectic , you have to give long hours

    Continue reading
    Teach For India2020-03-20
  7. "Fellowship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellowship in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach For India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are warm and friendly. They will always help you no matter what. You just need to reach out. Even after completing fellowship, I contacted TFI HR for some work, and she helped me out quickly. Love the organisation.

    Cons

    My health suffered due to working such condition.

    Teach For India2020-03-07
  8. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach For India full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You can help make a difference in childrens' lives.

    Cons

    - Management is terrible. Schools allotted to are the worst.

    Teach For India2020-03-20
  9. "Experience working as program staff member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach For India full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Autonomy 2. Ability to be a manager early on in career 3. Can pursue opportunities based on skill set and interests

    Cons

    1. Poor financial compensation 2. Upward mobility had limited options with learning curve flattening within 2 years in the role 3. Experience varies depending on your city and team

    Teach For India2020-02-13
  10. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Teach For India full-time

    Pros

    Great culture to be in

    Cons

    None at the moment m

    Teach For India2020-02-12
Found 275 reviews