The Hartford Underwriter Reviews

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
34 Ratings
  1. "Weak leadership that throws employees under the bus"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Time off No job is particularly difficult or challenging

    Cons

    Leave employees behind culture Offer benefits but penalize you for taking them Low pay compared to the industry

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-05-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I Learned a lot"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Windsor, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot in a short period of time.

    Cons

    I felt like i was stuck in my current role and the upper management did not share my enthusiasm for growth.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-01-07
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Would not recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I guess the training is a positive.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? I've worked at major carriers and have boatload experience, and I have never experienced the amount of micromanagement and hostility as I did at this place. Training was good, but once you are working on a team beware. Some of the managers were ok, but if you are unlucky to get one, he/she will make your life miserable. Lying, manipulation of work product, and the expectation of unreasonable work hours are the norm here. I have never been treated as poorly as I was at this company, and it seems that many really just come there for the training and are out within 2 to 3 years. The only way you can get ahead is if you are single and have no kids and are willing to put in a ton of overtime for free. I lost respect for senior management when they refused to address issues with a problem manager. Overall this company was a huge disappointment. There are better places to work who offer more competitive pay. This company does not value work/life balance or their employees well being and the overall company culture is depressing. If they could put an ankle monitor on their employees to manage them in the office they would.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-01-26
  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, pay for performance, hands off management

    Cons

    Nothing really too bad. Lots of referrals but other than that not bad

    The Hartford2019-12-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start, don't stay more than 5 years"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Solid training programs, networking, good pay.

    Cons

    Horrible work/life balance, constant change, poor senior leadership. Benefits continually change, in a bad way.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-12-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I have enjoyed my experience with the exception of pay."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement are there for those who are willing to earn it

    Cons

    Salary is poor. For females it unequal to males & it is worse if your a person of color. Also the technology is behind the industry standards.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-10-24

    The Hartford Response

    November 5, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. As a company committed to cultivating an environment and culture where all employees feel valued and respected, we take feedback such as this very seriously. So we can look in to these concerns, we ask that you consider providing more specific information through the EthicsPoint Reporting Service.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Small Commercial Underwriter Assistant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent healthcare benefits Excellent 401K Program Capable of purchasing PTO First full year up to 152 hours PTO

    Cons

    Just another typical political company, it’s all about who you know They pride themselves on “inclusive culture” however management and leadership already have their favorites If you’re in with the crowd then except the promotions you seek for If you’re a top performer with excellent results and behavior performance review like myself then expect to stay where you’re at, “you’re an asset in your role and needed where you’re at”

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2019-07-24
  8. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for, help with growth and career development. Pay is competitive

    Cons

    Would rather pay less people to do a job, which creates a back log of work. High Stress at times.

    The Hartford2019-07-01
  9. "Great people and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements Progressive underwriting style

    Cons

    Lack of competitiveness Conservative at times

    The Hartford2019-05-30
  10. "Fantastic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advancement Collaboration Winning Culture Well Known Company Fast Paced

    Cons

    There are no cons in my opinion

    The Hartford2019-05-29
Found 82 reviews