The Home Depot "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Home Depot Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6,703 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great part time gig for college students(in 880 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits / Career Development Opportunities(in 837 reviews)

Cons
  • "Just wish it had full time hours(in 982 reviews)

  • "Poor worktime management for part-time(in 905 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Former Home Depot empolyee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate in Fairfax, VA

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was able to work alone mostly. Pay was good, and had full time hours, in addition to opportunities for overtime hours.

    Cons

    Toxic co-workers, unsafe working conditions

    The Home Depot2020-01-04
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Livonia, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy work treat you nice great beno fits nice people

    Cons

    low pay, hard to get full time

    The Home Depot2019-12-13
  3. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tool Rental Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun, Energetic, Always Changing. Co-workers usually share similar interests and are enjoyable to work with. The position will give you the opportunity to learn a lot about the various tools and services offered. The company will work with you on scheduling (i.e. school, military, LOA, personal reasons...) There are a lot of resources available to you, don't be afraid of talking with your regulars to really understand how certain tools work, and projects are accomplished. The company regularly has events to show their appreciation to it's employees. The company regularly has bonuses, twice a year you can usually expect to receive "Success Sharing" which depends on the stores overall performance. The store usually tries to cross train employees, so you will get the opportunity to grow and learn if you seek it! Great Benefits available to part-time and Full-Time alike.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some members of management may not always agree with the way to do things. Hours vary depending on the season, especially during the winter. You may deal with some very mad customers. The system used to take-in and complete repairs, especially if sent out, seems to be complicated for no reason. There can be a serious lack of communication within the department, if it exists you will more than likely need to take the initiative. The rest of the store seems to be intimidated by the department which can unfortunately leads to little back-up during busy hours. Scheduling issues will arise, be prepared to be alone during some shifts with little back-up. if a dispute arises with a customer very rarely will management side with you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend more communication with your employees, especially when it comes to policies, disputes, customer complaints. This lack of communication can lead to your employees not respecting you, and undermining your authority. In the short-term it is not that bad, but if it is lead unchecked it can lead to a greater disparity. Don't be afraid to go to the department it seems like the rest of the store is alienated from us, so you will have to take the initiative to bridge that gap. Train more willing associates to be back-ups, there are times where only one associate is working and there is a back up with no one scheduled, you will have to help mitigate that!!

    Show More
    The Home Depot2019-12-13
  4. "Decent For Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Good company values Okay benefits if you're full-time

    Cons

    Cutting a lot of hours for part-tine employees Stores often short staffed

    The Home Depot2019-12-05
  5. "Great company culture, but pay and communication are lacking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They encourage a "help each other to help each customer" kind of attitude. Great benefits - they take care of their own.

    Cons

    Communication tends to be horrible. Also pay for starting associates has deteriorated to near-minimum wage. Profit sharing is also a tiny percentage for even well rated, full time associates. Any level above associate also works horrible hours much of the time, which is not great incentive for climbing their corporate ladder.

    The Home Depot2019-12-12
  6. "Stalkerware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Department Manager in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if you can get full-time. At least a year on average.

    Cons

    I have caught this company using "stalkerware" on my cell phone and home computer. They will track your movements and sites you visit on your personal time and use it to harrass you.

    Advice to Management

    Bad Idea; I want to sue you!

    The Home Depot2020-01-02
  7. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture and atmosphere, great people, and meaningful work

    Cons

    Pay is not much, but full time is pretty decent.

    The Home Depot2019-11-25
  8. "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Ashburn, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Schedule is flexible. Work can be interesting, there's always something new to learn even after many years. The customers and associates are interesting as well - definitely an environment where a "people person" will thrive. Full time employees have a set time to work, for example an employee will work 8-5 everyday. Part time can set availability, usually at least one weekend day fully flex and a couple weekday morning/evenings. No surprises there, which is nice. Software is pretty easy to use - big changes for the better over the years.

    Show More

    Cons

    For some time now the stores in my region do not pay competitively with their market peers - hence, the quality of the "new teammates" can somewhat lacking. Local management is hit or miss, but that's true anywhere. Raises are scattershot. Would not go full time again - simply not worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your top performers, and be more discerning with new hires. The latter is corrosive to the Company's reputation in the big picture. (As well as to the stress level of the lifers, hah) Wages need to rise in order to compete with the likes of Target - workplace culture is better at HD in my opinion, but that's only worth so much.

    The Home Depot2019-11-30
  9. "People Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits for part time and full time, some benefits from day 1.

    Cons

    Working varying schedules each week

    Advice to Management

    Be mindful of schedules

    The Home Depot2019-11-06
  10. "Test the Waters First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist Flooring in Columbia, MD

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Consistent, reliable pay, low cost health insurance options, 40 hour weeks typical for full time, close to home but if you want to move or just change your scenery a bit you can keep your job by transferring to another store, discounts on food and hotels.

    Cons

    It's a large, customer base retail job so you work extremely hard for not that much money. Pay checks may make you weep. I was unfortunate enough to work with someone as another co-worker once said to me: "is extremely difficult to work with and they especially can't stand you." I went through all the channels and no resolve until I transferred out of the location. The second store was much better. I wish I would have started there. The only issue was I had to start over proving myself and I had been with the company 4.5 years already. Go to the store you want to work at see how they treat you as a customer. Pay attention how the people that work there speak to each other. If you ask them how they like their job they will likely put on a good song and dance as they are desperate for help.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop calling everything an "opportunity" it's a problem that needs solved or you're giving more work because your bosses told you to. I found this annoying. Associates that treat customers and associates badly, consistently probably shouldn't work for Home Depot.

    The Home Depot2019-11-14
Found 1393 reviews