The J. M. Smucker Company Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 30 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
The J. M. Smucker Company President and Chief Executive Officer Mark T. Smucker (no image)
Mark T. Smucker
166 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company values teamwork and work-life balance(in 56 reviews)

  • "My coworkers are great - Smucker really does attract some great people(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Headquarters in small town Ohio(in 13 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is often a struggle(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Orrville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cares about employees, helps out the community, good work life balance

    Cons

    Out of date technology, slow moving, not great compensation for staying

    The J. M. Smucker Company2020-04-30
  2. "Great teams and strong leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The J. M. Smucker Company full-time

    Pros

    Strategic and supportive leadership, collaborative teams, diverse portfolio, great work-life balance.

    Cons

    None - left due to geography

    The J. M. Smucker Company2020-04-03
  3. "Good benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and they care about their people

    Cons

    Work life balance is often a struggle

    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-10-11
  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Topeka, KS

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lots of run weekends so work life balance can be tough

    Continue reading
    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-10-04
  5. "job at smuckers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - BI Analyst in Orrville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company for more than a year

    Pros

    work-life balance, friendly team and managers

    Cons

    place is in the country side

    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-09-28
  6. "PKG Intern Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Packaging Intern in Orrville, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The J. M. Smucker Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Management trains interns well. Lots of individual projects given and felt like projects are worthwhile. Company values teamwork and work-life balance

    Cons

    Location, not the greatest if you are looking to live in a city. Great for family-minded individuals. Not too much learning/training between departments

    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-09-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Absolute Chaos"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company full-time

    Pros

    Decent work/life balance with pretty good starting pay for a small area with a low cost of living.

    Cons

    Awful management that ignores emails so any questions I have never go answered and order supplies get denied so I don't even have the proper tools to do my job. Blanket raises for everyone no matter how good you perform that barely meet the cost of living increase. Mandatory meetings to spew propaganda, and having any dissenting opinions results in getting yelled at. The plant shut down 3 times in a 4 month span and makes everyone take the entire week off because they're not selling product and have to take a break from production. The company is circling the drain.

    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-08-12
  8. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation & Benefits are top notch

    Cons

    Work/Life balance at the manufacturing Plants. The culture is rarely one that lets you work remote, even if your job is able to. Too much time off is looked at negatively.

    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-06-11
  9. "Internship program is very thought out and organized, very good experience so far!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Orrville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, work out room, people are nice, they encourage coffee chats with other employees/higher-ups on company time to get a feel for the company

    Cons

    Not a tech company, but a people/marketing company at HQ; this may be a downside for some who want to spend hours straight coding

    Continue reading
    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-05-26
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Mean Girls Club"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Orrville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The J. M. Smucker Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Corporate campus is beautiful with many outstanding amenities i.e gym, daycare and cafeteria. The company is making many transformational changes in the right direction, changes that will drive growth.

    Cons

    Within several Maketing groups you have the chosen few that have grown up through the organization. These women are untouchable, sighting themselves as Daughters of the VP’s. If you’re approved by as an it girl you’ll succeed, if not you’re doomed for failure. The consumer SBA is probably the worst environment and they create Sunshine committees to pretend everything is great. In reality it’s like a high school drama scene. Work life balance is offered to chosen members and isn’t consistent across the board. Women are paid less then men, and if you’re coming from outside the company your wages are likely higher than those who have committed themselves to the company.

    Continue reading
    The J. M. Smucker Company2019-05-10

    The J. M. Smucker Company Response

    May 15, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. The types of personal interactions you describe are not consistent with our culture, nor our Basic Beliefs. If you have not already, we encourage you to share your feedback through our Employee Relations team, Smucker Voice Line, or one of the other established vehicles available to employees to share feedback. Regardless, all your comments have been shared with the appropriate internal teams.

Found 67 reviews