The Mark Travel Corporation "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Mark Travel Corporation Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated 2 Sep 2017

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
The Mark Travel Corporation Chairman, President, CEO, and COO William E. La Macchia (no image)
William E. La Macchia
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Core Values are true to who the organization is(in 18 reviews)

  • "Travel discounts - great people(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "A very different place - and not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people here are good people. They pull together and support each other.

    Cons

    Where do I start? The HR department runs the place and they are rude and abusive. They are not open to feedback and see any question as a challenge. People are not encouraged to challenge the status quo, and asking a question can ruin your career. The senior management team is no better. There is no other work for them than "abusive." The call center management is dictatorial. No one cares what the team members say, and their work life is not valued.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-09-02

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    September 4, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    I regret that you have found the HR department to be such an obstacle to you doing your job or improving the environment for you and your team. It's also regretful that you find the management of the call center (which as a supervisor, you are a member of) to be just as much an obstacle. I don't know what actions you've taken or attempted to take in order to change things. But I would love to have an example of asking a question ruining anyone's career. If there's any problem that the company has, it's usually quite the opposite and team members not asking questions. I know what I write next is likely going to irritate you and perhaps others that may feel the same way you do, but personally, I'm embarrassed that the company has someone in such an important role leading people in our call center with your kind of attitude. Perhaps we aren't the right place for you. Perhaps you've given all you can and you don't feel we'll ever change. How can you come to work and feel good about your job and the company you represent if we truly are abusive and as terrible as you write? You feel what you feel and your perspective is reality, so I'm not here to change your mind. But I would be irresponsible and shirking my duties if I allowed someone in a leadership position to infect the workplace and the team with this kind of attitude. Everyone suffers. For your own well being, it's probably time for a change. Happy to discuss further -Jennifer La Macchia-

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid working here if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist III in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part of working here was the close relationship formed with fellow employees. There is a great network of individuals working here, and I truly believe this is the reason why this company is able to retain the bit if talent that it can.

    Cons

    The company seems to struggle from the top down. Call volume was ridiculously high (often 1 to 1.5 hour hold times to speak to a representative), which places a lot of stress on the front line agents. This is compounded by the fact that overtime is mandatory during most of the year -- which means nearly everyone dreads coming to work and is constantly feeling overworked and under-appreciated. The company will respond to this critique by stating that overtime is discussed before hiring and that this overtime is necessary because company standards are too high to hire most candidates, but this is not completely true. The fact is that the pay offered is low relative to the amount of work asked of the employees. It is a lot of work. It is also low relative to other call centers on the area. This, coupled with the high-stress work environment is why the company has a problem attracting and retaining talent, and why it is forced to work employees to near-death in order to keep hold times around one hour long. You should strongly consider this before applying, When I say that the core problems extend from the top down, it is partly because of how the workforce is managed. You might start as a front line call center agent, but your best opportunity from here is to take two promotions and become a 500 Club representative, earning a whopping $14.23 per hour. After this, the most you can hope for is an annual raise of 2-3% a year -- hardly enough to cope with rising costs of living in most regions. While the company brags of opportunities for advancement, the fact is that most senior salaried positions are filled from outside the company. This means that mid-level management is less experienced and knowledgeable than the staff that they oversee. This is a recipe for disaster. I have personally witnessed supervisors with decades of experience being denied advancement, only for the company to hire an outsider to fill a management position. Loyalty is not rewarded here if the company can demand more work from you without increased pay. Another issue is with respect. There is a culture in this company where salaried employees and non-customer support positions have little to no respect for agents in the call center. I worked several positions in the company, but always dreaded having to contact other departments because of this. Have to call accounting? Nine times out of ten you will speak to an unpleasant woman who can't be bothered to help. The same often applies if you need reach out to PB or CAP (other internal departments). The last con is that almost everyone hates working here. I'm serious. You will find that the culture here is to constantly nitpick and criticize everything that you do. So much so, that you sometimes feel that the company might terminate you soon. I felt this, and I was a high-performing employee and often received compliments for my work. Despite being great, I never seemed to be good enough to avoid being subjected to the nitpicking and criticism. Like I said, a lot of people stick around because they have developed relationships with coworkers. A lot of the supervisors stick around because they have invested years with the company and cannot leave if a new employment opportunity offers less pay -- It is often difficult for someone in their 50s to leave a job and start fresh. And in this sense some people here feel trapped. I have known both front line agents and supervisors outside of work and this is nearly universal. Everyone is overworked, under-paid, and incredibly stressed Don't be fooled by the shills claiming that this is a great place to work. The truth is, almost everyone would leave if they could. I have left Mark Travel and could not be happier. Everyone I know who has done the same shares this sentiment. The woman who responds to this review will seem perplexed by it. Like this is a complete surprise. But the fact is that her father started the company -- meaning that here experience here is atypical. I would love working at my father's company too.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-06-25

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    June 30, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    Hi, this is Jennifer La Macchia, aka "the woman who responds to this review." Have we met before? I feel like I would remember if someone came to me or a member of the HR team with this feedback prior to him/her leaving. Now, I'm not perplexed nor am I surprised by this review. I've long abandoned the ideal that people will step up and take an active role to resolve issues. We now live in a world where it's feels better for people from the safety of their keyboard and anonymity to vent. We aren't a perfect company, we aren't right for everyone. I don't think I've ever disputed that in my prior responses. But we are a great company because we care about what we do. I am proud of what our team has built. I'm proud of being part of a family business. Maybe that makes me a shill. I'm ok with that. Our tenure is something we are proud of, now you may want to dismiss it by saying they are "trapped" but I for one have more respect for the hard work and dedication evident by our team members. Now people stay or depart for many reasons. Neither you nor I can speak for everyone. You certainly feel you have an insight into the company. But it simply isn't true that most senior salaried positions are filled outside the company. Our greatest success is the internal growth of our team members. I don't know when you left, but a long time supervisor was recently promoted to manager in Orlando. You clearly did not feel valued or respected here. That is regretful but if you have truly found a much better situation for yourself post-TMTC, I am glad for that. Maybe you just needed to vent out your frustration for what you perceived as not being valued or heard here. Hopefully now you've achieved some peace with that. But if you feel like you have more to say, I would love to hear from you or anyone that may feel the same, reach out and let's set up a time: jennifer@lamacchiaenterprises.com. Kind regards, Jennifer

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Brand new work at home agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CCS WAHA Agent in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation

    Pros

    During the 6 weeks of call center training, everyone was so friendly and encouraging. And now that I'm working from home, I still feel connected to the center and that, if I ever need anything, someone is always available!

    Cons

    The call center was a little far from my house, but only having to do it for 6 weeks was doable, knowing I would be working from home!

    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-04-15

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    May 24, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    Welcome to the team! Thank you for providing your feedback. We hope that you continue to enjoy your role as a WAHA. It's so encouraging to hear that you still feel connected to the call center even from your home. Know that we are always here to offer any support and hear your feedback how we can improve upon your experience. I always love hearing from our team, so don't hesitate to reach out. Thank you again for your feedback! Best, Jennifer La Macchia, SVP and Corp. Counsel

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "NEVER IN MY LIFE WILL I PUNISH MYSELF THIS WAY AGAIN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    You are guaranteed to work your life away.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime. There were some months Ill work 2 weeks straight because due to being a mother and have kids to pick up by a certain time did not allow me to work late during the week, therefore i had to build my overtime on my off days which led no days off until I became sick in the hospital. But nobody is appreciated for giving up their life. And if selling a weakness, do not apply for the call center, your sales will determine your employment. Ive gotten coaching for my sales for one month. Which I brought in 38k and still was considered in the low 10% of your peers. Hey when you came into the company as a Customer Care rep and not a salesperson and work among people whose been there for 20 years, most likely you will be at the bottom. No opportunity for growth. Being aware of my sales weaknesses, I tried posting out of the department several times, but when you have several occurances, for sales, you cant move around. THIS COMPANY IS BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I'VE EVER WORKED FOR IN MY LIFE. I'VE NEVER FELT TO THE POINT I WANTED TO SHOOT MYSELF IN THE HEAD IN THE PARKING LOT!! Only certain people can move around like a butterfly in that company.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-05-18

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    May 19, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    It's not often I will be able to know exactly who writes individual reviews but when one comes almost immediately after being terminated for poor performance, repeating statements about selling, this person may as well have signed it. I won't embarrass this person by helping to identify but I have to address one thing in particular. The comment about slavery is disgusting. Nodding to discrimination is bad enough to throw out casually but slavery?? Maybe this person could stand to take a breath and focus on taking personal responsibility and finding the right path for his/her success and wellbeing instead of lashing out on a company that went out of our way to accommodate this individual. I personally met with this person a number of times and checked in frequently to support shadowing other departments, working on areas we might provide further training, and encouragement. We went above and beyond when there were unanticipated events/issues that had to be accommodated. This person did not in all of the discussions with me and others on HR, talk about working to a point of hospitalization. Which this person knows full well how we accommodate medical issues. As well, it was discussed frequently with this person that performance was an issue and we queried how we could assist. What response? "I'm just not good at selling." Yes, it's true qualifying for moving into another role does require that there are no disciplinary occurrences. But this person did not make an effort to work with us on what it took to go into a new position. The certain people who can move into new positions do the work and there are far, far more people who have moved roles and departments than who want but have not been able to. You accept a position knowing what mandatory overtime is. Yes, it can be 5 hours of overtime per week and even more at the busiest time. But it's not a surprise and we do reinforce that this is part of the role which isn't for everyone. I'm puzzled as to what people think when they voluntarily accept a position knowing this. To the person who wrote this, I'm disappointed that you can't see the situation for what it really is and appreciate how we tried to help you. But maybe in time you will. In any event, I hope you can find some peace of mind and a place you feel you can be more successful. Good luck to you, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Recognition or Incentive Program needed for the Customer Care Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great camaraderie with co-workers and other departments. Excellent travel perks overall

    Cons

    Poor annual salary. By far the worst place that I work, when it comes to internal communication to their employees and management staff. Inconsistent standards and policy depending who approves it (not sure in other department but I am referring to the customer care department only) no recognition or incentive for their employees during busy season (at least 6 months) each year. Nothing to give to their employees during holidays season or based on their sales number. Poor way to motivate employees to stay when there is not a reward program. Lots of micromanagement focusing in corrective action constantly and not recognizing good performers. The Worst Director of a Call Center I ever work for.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-01-05

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    March 5, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm glad that your experience with your coworkers and other teams is a positive one. Thank you also for recognizing our travel benefits. We certainly strive to provide opportunities for our team members to experience their own dream vacations! Onto some of your concerns.... Our compensation is regularly evaluated for region, market and industry. We also take into consideration experience to ensure we are paying competitively. I don't know if you've spoken to anyone in HR to discuss salary and how we can provide greater information regarding compensation, but we are always open to do so. As far as internal communication, we have Concourse our internal website with loads of information and blogs on happenings, events, activities, policies, benefits, etc. We are always looking for ideas how we can improve communication and seek submissions from all of our team members. Remember Ask is one of our core values, if you don't know something or want to know something, all you have to do is ask. We won't always be proactive and we can't read minds, please help us be better. As far as inconsistent standards and policy, without any details I can't respond appropriately, but I can assure you that we have detailed processes regarding managing policies and procedures and fairness and consistency is paramount. But where you have concerns, please share them. As far as no recognition or incentives, I could list many here from spot incentives, free trip giveaways, lunches, snacks and more. For you to say this doesn't happen or that it only happens once per busy season is simply not true. We are evaluating a formal incentive program and seek input from our team. This was written at the very beginning of the busy season.You seem quite unhappy. I don't know how long you've been with us, but many of these things such as compensation should not be a surprise. But I hope that writing this helped you vent some frustration. I hope that you will take me up on the offer to discuss these issues. Sincerely, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great company and people! Supervisors very supportive! Worked as a customer care specialist in a call center mostly helping travel agents and direct customers book or modify reservations. Loved visits from vendors and their free meals as well as complimentary or discounted stay at certain hotels.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime of 6hours weekly! You can't just clock out when you are supposed to be done, until you are done with the call which sometimes can be 30 minutes or more passed your off time.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2016-08-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Call Center Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Sales in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible scheduling, fun atmosphere. Training is good; they work with you. There are career opportunities and the chance for a long term career with the company. I left only to seek a different career field.

    Cons

    Need reliable transportation as most people that are fired have attendance issues. This issue is the most important aspect of working at the call center.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2015-11-30
  8. "Great Growth Opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its a great environment to work in, we have a diverse group of people working for the company. It looks like the average office building on the inside.There are a lot of creative and positive vibes from the people in the office which keeps the environment exciting. We have new faces in the office often,but the majority of people hired stay with the company. Its easy to move to different departments in the company so we have the opportunity for growth. Mark Travel is all about promoting from within the company, that's always important! My team leader is very helpful and knowledgeable. She lets us know when we are doing well and is very thoughtful of her team. There are many nice Leaders that i have met besides her. It is very easy to talk to HR, our HR manager is in the call center every Thursday and she is very helpful with any issues or questions that have come up. I feel we have an extremely lenient attendance policy. It is surprising to me that this is our largest cause for people getting "terminated". I believe everyone is allowed 3 late days or early departures before they get an " occurrence" and 3 personal days? something along those lines! From my understanding, once you get three occurrences then you will get terminated. But i am not positive as it has not happened to me. It is a large company, but family owned. They family members are often around the buildings. It gives a reassuring feel to know that they care about our work environment. we often have people who work in marketing or in our product team come in the call center. They listen to calls to see how we use the system, common issues that agents come across and other improvements that could be made. I have noticed many improvements with our system since i have started. we also get to learn about the hotels and tour companies in person! suppliers visit often we get cards, magazines, key chains, and other things to promote their product. Overall we have many friendly and outgoing employees. It's wonderful to work with such nice people!

    Cons

    I know that within the last couple years we have had to hire new supervisors in the reservations department. I am not sure if it is because the reservations agents were not interested in applying for those positions or if it was better for our company to have a different perspective. I think that it would be great if some of the newer supervisors in the call center had more experience with how to use the system. This way they would be able to assist when call volumes are high. We are not allowed to take Un-paid time off. I was told "only when it is being offered". It has not been offered for the last two years. Some employees have said they feel we only are recognized for our mistakes or when something is wrong. I can understand why they feel this way, but it is to be expected with large companies. While the system we work with has improved, we often have technical issues with our phones or with the booking system. It is especially hard on the front line because it can cause frustration for them and the clients. It can be very difficult to work 46+ hours when you have a family or anything else going on in your life. These hours are mandatory during Peak-Season. I don't know about other departments, but in reservations they only offer specific hours for us to select. Usually falling in the evening or on the weekends. For those who work closing shift, they often are required to work 6-7 days a week with they availability they give us.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2015-02-08

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    February 9, 2015Human Resources

    Hello and thank you for sharing so much insight on what it's like to work at TMTC! We are so glad to hear your leader and HR Manager are accessible and helpful. Be sure to share that feedback with them directly, too! We are pleased you see the benefits of having others listen in on calls, and hope to continue encouraging that across the organization. We appreciate your feedback on the Customer Care leadership, policies and system, and have shared this feedback internally. Our leadership team understands the challenges of peak season hours. Scheduling and mandatory hours are based on customer needs and call volume during this season, so we appreciate our representatives like you who work hard through this time. Be sure to look for things like the recognition board, hot chocolate day, etc.! Thanks again for sharing your feedback. We welcome it at any time, so keep talking with your leader and HR Manager!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i love this company. while no company is perfect the mark travel is a place i recommend all my friends to apply for. the pay is great. yes we have to do mandatory overtime working in the call center, but we are only open until 9pm, iv worked for places that make you work overtime in the middle of the night, also for the mandatory overtime it is only 4-8 hours, and we get the pick when we want to do it. that is only 1.5 extra hours a day if you chose. the overtime is also unlimited when it is offered, they dont care how much you work. i have many colleges at other companies who wished their company offered overtime they way Mark travel does. full time and part time employees get paid holidays. The dress code is casual, an sometimes i do see people wearing questionable things but i come to work to do my job. I get paid to sit at a desk and talk to people all day, and while that can get frustrating at times, i understand that the job in the call center is one of the most important in the company. we get great discounts on our travel. its really hard to get fired here. mostly i hear people are let go because of attendance, and the attendance policy is one of the most flexible ones for corperate america. there are oppertunities for advancement all the time, we are constantly being cross trained in different areas. the company gives us lunch, makes us smoothies, we have family events, we have a wellness coach, the owners are very friendly and can be seen on the property. i feel safe at work, i have wonderful co workers, we get paid extra on the weekends. the reviews i have read have been an insult to the company. how can you work for a comapny for 10 years OF YOUR OWN WILL , and walk away with only negative things to say/ the company has paid you to do a job and 10 years is a long time to waste on a job you only give 2 stars. This job does have its cons, as any job will, but nothing about this job makes me want to quit. this company has been around for over 40 years, and was started in little Milwaukee, Wi and has survived through economic hardships. i am very blessed to have this job and i appreciate the overall benefits that the LaMacchias offer their workers.

    Cons

    i think a con working in the call center is not getting commission, and i do not mean to sound greedy as the pay is very decent. it gets very frustrating booking vacations for clients and travel agents, with no commission, but if the travel agent booked it they would get comission on a package for the same cost. another con is that supervisiors do not know how to help us when we need it. the company hires people with no experience instead of promoting customer service reps to supervisor, as a customer service rep, we have the most contact with the clients and we deal with so many differnet situations that we would make great supervisors people who work at the company for long times get to do things differently, they dont always follow the same procedures as new hires, and as a new hire, i have witnessed many situation where a older worker was able to get away with something that a newer worker was not allowed to do. the customer care 2 reps are very rude, they need better customer service training. they act like because they speak with us internally that they do not need to provide the same level of service to us and that is not okay. although in the interview process they do advise us of a changing schedule, and we get our schedules 3 weeks in advance, it would be nice to have set schedules, there are so many departments that only work monday - friday and at the same set time, working in the call center, you can close all week then the next open then the nest do mid shifts/ also it is a con that your schedule can be changed at anytime to, but you dont have the same luxury when requesting a schedule change. for people with families that can be difficult. the over time is awesome, but i dont think its fair to only offer it when its convient to the company, if i have a 40 hr shift and my friend wants to give me one of their shifts, i cannot take it if it means im working more than 40 hours (if its not peak season)

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2015-01-07
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great company to learn about the travel industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great vacation packages. Training is done very well and new employees are given feedback to achieve call center standards,

    Cons

    Travel Benefits are not offered as frequently as in the past. TMTC President Bill La Macchia has been a great innovator in vacation travel packages, however most people book their vacation packages through the internet instead of wholsalers.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2014-08-05

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    August 11, 2014Human Resources

    Hello, Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you think the Customer Care training is done well and will continue to make sure that is the case. We do still offer a plethora of great travel benefits for all team members on an ongoing basis, but leave it to team members to review and act on those offerings. As you mentioned, we do believe our compensation and benefits are competitive in the market, and we regularly review this to make sure it remains that way. Benefit premiums for team members have not increased for five years, which is something our team members very much appreciate.

    Continue reading
Found 11 reviews