The Mark Travel Corporation "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Mark Travel Corporation Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 10 Dec 2017

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
The Mark Travel Corporation Chairman, President, CEO, and COO William E. La Macchia (no image)
William E. La Macchia
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Core Values are true to who the organization is(in 18 reviews)

  • "Travel discounts - great people(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    a great place to work - great people

    Cons

    can be very challenging environment

    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-12-10

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    December 14, 2017Manager Corporate Communications

    Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm for TMTC! Great people are at the heart of our success. You list our challenging environment as a con and it sounds like some days the challenges we face to be the best in our industry can feel daunting or even frustrating. What gets me through those days is our focus on creating the best end-to-end vacation experiences for our customers – that’s why we are here and that always helps me face those challenges with new strength! –Shawn, VP - HR

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Build Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is room for advancement and opportunities to transfer to different departments. Salary is not bad and the benefits are great. Plenty of company activities and great people.

    Cons

    My only real complaint is that my team is one of four teams in our department. We do much of the same work as the other teams, sometimes correcting their mistakes, yet we are two pay grades below them. Our manager has appealed for an increase for us, but so far has been unsuccessful.

    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-06-03

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    July 6, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It's great hearing from our team especially the highly tenured ones! I appreciate you bringing the compensation issue to our attention. We are in the process of another compensation review and I anticipate some changes. I am pleased you feel that your manager has been supportive of your team. I know sometimes the rationale for things doesn't always sit well. I encourage you to reach out to your HR Manager. Perhaps you and other similarly situated team members wish to set up a meeting to discuss. We are always available. Perhaps there are aspects that haven't been considered. Let's talk. Thank you again for your feedback and for all you do to make our company great. Kind regards, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "ccs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation for more than 10 years

    Pros

    met great people that have turned into life long friend ships, good training program and a lot support to new employees

    Cons

    mandatory over time, extra work, no wage increase or very little 1-3% after a yearly review declining travel benefits.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-05-20

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    May 24, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    Hello and thank you for providing your feedback. It's nice to hear that your experience was positive for building relationships and for development. I'm surprised to read no wage increase because we've done regular compensation reviews for our positions and we ensure we are industry/market competitive. Additionally, annual increases average nationally around 2.3-2.5%. We do look at compensation for our team members based upon performance. It's not automatic that a team member will get an increase. As for your comment of declining travel benefits, that simply is not true. You may be referring that in the past we had more options for team members to travel on charter seats. However, we do not operate as many charters as years past. But other than that we still retain a robust offering of Friends and Family Travel Specials. I don't know what your cryptic statement means it would be great if everyone would be on the same page..." but I would really appreciate hearing more about this. Communication is always the key. That's also why our first core value is ASK. I appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback and would love to hear more about your experience at TMTC. Should you ever wish to talk, let me know. Kind regards, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Travel discounts - great people

    Cons

    At this time, I have no cons to report

    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-02-16

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    March 5, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope that you always feel only positive feelings about working here. I love seeing our great team get recognized by a fellow team member. We couldn't agree more! Thank you also for recognizing the great travel discounts we provide. We want our team to have their own vacation dreams come true and we work very hard to bring opportunities and discounts to help make that happen. While we always hope our teams' experiences here are only positive, we know that may be unrealistic. We encourage everyone who has questions, comments, concerns, issues to raise them with us right away as we can only solve those issues we know about. Never hesitate to discuss areas we can improve. Thank you again for your comments, we truly appreciate hearing from our team. Best, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great people, benefits, VIP time, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Employee referral program is a joke. I have referred 3 people who actually would have been great at the job and are never given a chance. They have the same background I have.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-02-03

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    February 22, 2017SVP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

    Hi and thank you for your feedback. Well you made me hungry for a bagel right now, but I'll try to move beyond that and have a more thoughtful reply. I'm disappointed to hear your feedback on the employee referral program. If you could please contact me directly, I would really like to hear more about your experience. We do get a large number of talented applicants for our open positions both internally and externally. But we highly value our team member referrals. I'd appreciate the opportunity to look into this further. We can only be better when we know of our issues. It's so important for our team to raise their concerns. You're advice is great and there can never be too much appreciation. You gave us a great reminder to not take for granted that there's always room for more. Let's see what we can do about healthier treats, but sometimes a bagel really hits the spot.... Shoot me a message and let's talk. jennifer@lamacchiaenterprises.com. Kind regards, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Culture and Benefits, Early Support, Core Values Matter Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is full of great people who care about you and the company. Open, honest communication. Great benefits, including travel.

    Cons

    Very few! Sometimes it takes a long time to fill vacancies, and that can be difficult on teams.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2016-01-31
  7. Helpful (6)

    "If you want to work in fear this is the place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    1. Great strategic tools, shame as not all employees get the benefit of being trained on these. 2. Great Wellness program 3. Co workers were great people, almost like family, willingness to help always 4. The owner Bill Snr is a very respected gentleman, always stops in his tracks to ask how you are. Superb person just wish his son was like that but complete opposite.

    Cons

    1. A lot of poorly ran departments. 2. The owners son is a complete nut job, screams at employees, if you so much as don't share into his idea he fires you on the spot. 3. Poor salaries, poor health ins! poor management! poor raises. 4. There are always changes being made or different kinds so paperwork to fill out, but no one actually takes the time to monitor or track how well something is doing. No efficiency in this company at all. 5. I have known a lot of employees who have left ad things have got so bad, a lot I know have been hospitalized due to anxiety, migraines and stress.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2014-02-06

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    July 17, 2014Human Resources

    We are glad you find our operating system and tools helpful and we do make an effort to schedule quarterly training for team members who may use them in their daily work. Bill La Macchia is still the President of TMTC and actively running the company. We regularly review compensation to remain competitive with the market and we have not raised our health insurance premium in five years. If you have concerns about leadership, stress levels or work-life balance, we encourage you to talk to your human resources manager so we can approach the issues.

    Continue reading
  8. "Mark Travel is a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation

    Pros

    Mark Travel has great people to work with and offers their employees many opportunities for affordable travel. Company has a great reputation in the hospitality industry.

    Cons

    Mark Travel is economy driven so when the economy declines, lay offs are inevitable. Health insurance is good, but comes with high deductibles.

    The Mark Travel Corporation2011-04-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Change has not been good to Mark Travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation

    Pros

    Some advancement opportunities exist, travel industry, exciting products, great people to work with, and solid history within their competitive set.

    Cons

    Poor benefits, salaries low, poor top leadership, lack of innovation, inability to change with times/industry, too many long-term employees want to keep status quo, not much reason to stay there anymore, reputation has become poor within industry, executive direction is sporadic and ineffective. They continue to lose business units at an alarming pace and they are no longer stable in the a very unstable industry.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2010-10-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to get your feet wet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in Orlando, FL
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation

    Pros

    Mark Travel provided a flexible and balanced work life. Great place to get your feet wet after college as well as a good place to work if you are a parent in need of a flexible work schedule. A lot of great people work for the company and is a very warm family environment.

    Cons

    For the young professional there are very limited growth opportunities. Very fun work environment but you do have many trade offs for enjoying this relaxed work environment. Technology is very limited and it is a very closed wall organization. Leadership sometimes suffers from group think and not always focused on being ahead of the pack.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2009-01-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews