The Mill Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Mill Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Robin Shenfield
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Mill family is really nice and welcoming(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people and building is good(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, not great management(in 22 reviews)

  • "Quick turn around for projects, long hours, low pay(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Artist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working atmosphere, friendly management, and supervisors, great work life balance, projects are of short periods and have quick turn around time.

    Cons

    There is no process of leveling up the salaries according to industry standards. Review process is quite strange.

    The Mill 2019-05-09
  2. "No good company (Bangalore)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CG Lead in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1.Work life balance to some extent 2.Can get decent salary if you are good with words 3.No need for talent to grow, just have to suck up to your boss. 4.All the technicolour benefits.

    Cons

    1. Undeserving and inexperienced heads and management people, the site is being run by extremely inexperienced staff, people have been promoted multiple positions higher than their former position to fill up the vacancy despite of their lack of technical know how. 2. All the other Mill sites dump all their discarded work here. 3. QC standards are pretty low. 4.You need to be in the good books of the department heads...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please spare this company management people, it's a reputed company, it took them more than decades to get it where it is right now, it is a very good company as far as all the other sites are concerned but the Bangalore site is essentially being run by people who don't deserve to.

    The Mill 2019-04-10
  3. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Motion Graphics Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and strong creative drive, learning a lot and pushing the envelope, lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    Big companie, lots of social challenges, sometimes less creative jobs

    The Mill 2019-06-18
  4. "Good company but terrible at growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Runner in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great people -Fun culture -Creative work -Cool location and office

    Cons

    -Terrible pay -Bad at growth -Lay offs

    Advice to Management

    Value your lower-paid employees and not just the top tier

    The Mill 2019-06-14
  5. "I loved my time there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best group of people I’ve ever worked with in all my years in post. From the runners, to the production staff, the artists, engineers and tech operators to upper management, I’ve met and worked alongside amazingly talented and good people during my time there. Benefits are great and they just really took good care of all of us.

    Cons

    Technicolor acquisition casted a pall over the entire place. In that you never know when you can be laid off, when the axe swings down once or twice per year. It’s the people who are above The Mill’s upper management (Read: Technicolor suits) that one must be wary of when working there.

    The Mill 2019-05-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Talent, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Mill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Greatest group of people I've worked with. The majority of the talent is amazing at what they do – truly some of the best!

    Cons

    Executive Management (EPs, some heads of departments), don't objectively run their teams. There is a clique-like aspect, they lean heavily into favoritism and emotions, and little is based on performance and/or execution of work. It is very political and strictly hierarchical – there is little opportunity for upward advancement unless you have a personal (and unprofessional) relationship with higher ups. Requires you...

    Show More
    The Mill 2019-05-08
  7. "The “cool factor” isn’t worth the headache unless you’re inexperienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with - Most people there are incredibly talented. Lots of the work that comes out of this company has won awards in the past (keyword PAST).

    Cons

    Horrible management - I cant stress this enough. 90% of the managers are inept at the actual people management part of the job, therefore turnover is high (for the past several months we’d receive farewell emails from multiple people per week), and morale is low. They ply you with alcohol at every turn, so you can forget about the nepotism, eurocentrism, hostile work envoronment (yup), and unrealistic expectations. Technicolor’s...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers to foster the development of these extremely talented, hungry minds. And for god’s sake, put together an org chart!

    The Mill 2019-05-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Tough culture to crack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The artists are really great and will take the time to explain why a certain amount of time is needed. Very casual atmosphere which encourages good work. Nice facilities.

    Cons

    Can be very cliquey. At first I thought this might be a British cultural thing, but then realized it's not when I noticed the biggest offender in my experience was an American. Also, they do not give cost of living raises, so negotiate well upfront.

    Advice to Management

    If someone comes from another place and wasn't brought up through the Mill culture, check in with them to see if they understand the protocol and standards of Mill practice. After all, we're representing the Mill.

    The Mill 2019-05-03
  9. "Runner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Runner 

    I worked at The Mill full-time

    Pros

    Great people and building is good

    Cons

    Long hours, not great management

    The Mill 2019-04-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in this department allowed me to see how so many projects work in the company. It's a great position to learn how to problem solve, negotiate with others, and get better at quick solutions.

    Cons

    This department is often the first to blame in any issue on a project; and it's usually not our fault. There's a lot of stress in production and I often see it taken out on the scheduling department. New management also has the structure going toward a bad way; it may fiscally make more sense but I imagine the growing pains will hurt the legacy it has built over the years. It would also be better to spend less on the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fight harder for the minimum wage employees, their work is underappreciated and losing them would cause a lot of issues... and you're not far from that happening.

    The Mill 2019-04-10
Found 74 reviews