The Mill "mill" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Mill Employee Reviews about "mill"

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
The Mill  Co-Founder & CEO Robin Shenfield (no image)
Robin Shenfield
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "i was at Mill Film Adelaide for 6 months(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great people and building is good(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, not great management(in 23 reviews)

  • "there wasnt a pipeline yet and we were still working in folders(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mill"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Pretty good if you are lucky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Animator in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mill for less than a year

    Pros

    i was at Mill Film Adelaide for 6 months. The people i got to work and interact with were awesome. they try to help as much as they can compared to where i was before this was heaps better

    Cons

    there wasnt a pipeline yet and we were still working in folders. the projects werent well coordinated and the leads and supervisors had to pick up the slack. causing huge issues down the pipeline.

    Continue reading
    The Mill 2020-01-03
  2. "Good Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CG Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - If you want to learn, The Mill will support you by putting you on the right project. - Benefit are good. - They care about your well-being. - Great project to work on.

    Cons

    - It can be a bit clicky.

    The Mill 2018-09-26
  3. Helpful (6)

    "One of the best places to work if you are a strong creative and have a good attitude."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at The Mill

    Pros

    The people and the culture are by far one of the best things about the mill. Its made up of talented global individuls that share a passion for the best creative work. The company also offers very good benefits.

    Cons

    It's a big company and with all big companies comes all bureaucracy. Things sometimes take longer than they should to get done.

    The Mill 2018-03-03
  4. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Marketing Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill for less than a year

    Pros

    - Really hands on. You can really learn A LOT. - The Mill family is really nice and welcoming. - Company has great culture. - Best talent, best training, best clients.

    Cons

    - It can be really high intensity (if that's a con...). Everyone is more than ready to learn and work.

    The Mill 2018-03-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been in the industry for over a decade now, and have worked at The Mill twice in that time (London + Los Angeles). It's the most innovative, forward thinking and creative company I've experienced. Employees are valued, and although the work can be challenging, there are constant perks (pizza and beer Friday! Quarterly all-company showcases to celebrate work! Mega holiday party! Speaker series! Massages!) and lots of opportunity for development. There is a real sense that everyone counts, and that everyone is appreciated. It's also the first place I've ever worked that encouraged a work/personal balance and really cares about the wellbeing of staff in all areas of their life.

    Cons

    It's always busy, but that's a good thing!

    The Mill 2017-08-21
  6. "Executive Producer / Head of New Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Producer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The Mill is one of the best companies in the world at what they do. They are a creative company who run a great business and they have a great history.

    Cons

    there are no cons if you love vfx

    The Mill 2017-06-19
  7. "CG Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - CG Artist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Mill for less than a year

    Pros

    The mill has got a solid pipeline. There is a lot of experienced artist to share good tips. Some free food available if stay late.

    Cons

    Really a lot of communication problems. Tasks are not clearly assigned and not properly reviewed. No workstation fixed for one personne, you can keep changing every week. (Or day...)

    Continue reading
    The Mill 2016-06-29
  8. Helpful (8)

    "The Mill Los Angeles 3D department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CG Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Mill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The projects that come in are top of the line. Artists are pleasant and very talented. The facilities are clean and look nice. There is a certain prestige to working at The Mill.

    Cons

    Yearly reviews are just for show. Nothing ever comes of those. The people I learned the most from always left because of their dislike of the management. Favoritism has given part of the leadership total impunity. Any criticism of them is contained and never makes it to the very top. This keeps the department divided and low on morale.

    Continue reading
    The Mill 2016-05-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The Mill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Generalist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a wonderful experience at The Mill. It truly felt like a family and you get out of it what you put into it. And the company will stop at nothing to see that you are happy if The Mill is where you want your career to be which is fantastic. And what I believe sets The Mill apart from others.

    Cons

    It can feel as though it is a "mean girls" environment. But it is only a small few that are like this and dependent on your role you could never have to work with these few. But this is not a reflection of The Mill at all. It is unfortunate that some individuals are this way, but definitely not a reflection of The Mill and what they stand for.

    Continue reading
    The Mill 2015-12-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The Mill - NYC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Matte Painter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Mill

    Pros

    The Mill has specials attentions for the artist (food, beers,..) The artists there are amazing and really talented.

    Cons

    There is a lack of training in my field and I feel like there is not enough support.

    Continue reading
    The Mill 2015-08-31
Found 12 reviews