The Siegfried Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Siegfried Group Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
The Siegfried Group CEO Rob Siegfried Jr.
Rob Siegfried Jr.
116 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and the owner really cares to make a difference.

    Cons

    Company’s reputation is misguided and many do not understand what we do and who we are.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-02-01
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment Decent Salary and Colleagues

    Cons

    Sometimes it will be under high pressure

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-01-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company that set me up for the future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    variety of projects pretty good work-life balance (especially compared to public accounting audit) Salary was great! company does some great things and offers different ways to grow with the company

    Cons

    currently they do not have any International offices

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-01-25
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Does Not Live Up to the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Onboarding process is good, and the company is setup for success...

    Cons

    I decided to leave as there are countless stories from within the professional body around nightmare horror stories of poor clients and professionals being left out in the cold with no support. Its not an environment that supports the resources and I myself witnessed a lot of lying from the head of my market as to next clients I'd work on.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-02-20
  5. "Great place if you are junior level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great business model to work on different project if you are hired as senior or you would like to work overtime or travel to earn incentive.

    Cons

    A lot of extra work internally to get exceed expectations and the project is not always you wanted, it really depends on the luck and relationship with the leadership.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-01-29
  6. Helpful (27)

    "Comprehensive pros and cons - Fair pay, bad rep and poor quality of work. "Overpaid contractor""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With qualifications*: 1. Slightly above market pay for minimal level of effort type of work. Can be idle/unassigned for months, great being paid to do nothing at home at the cost of gaining no experience. Pay for a senior accountant would be roughly 5%~10% higher than a senior accountant in industry depending on size of client however in some cases lower than F500 senior accountants. Qualification: *Initial recruitment is only attractive for candidates having completed their first year as a senior accountant in public accounting with an average rating so it is a big relative increase. *F500 senior accountants have higher base comp and stock options which in the long run is more valuable. *Might be asking yourself why you did not go into industry after back filling as an industry accountant for two years at the same client. 2. Array of incentive pay provides for a sense of accomplishment. Travel bonus, duration of project, referral bonus (premium on big 4 referral), business development bonus, and average hour bonus are a definite plus. This is the biggest pro but is a mix of luck, hardwork and sometimes resorting to misleading your contacts. Qualification: *Duration of project bonus (on a project more than 4 months) is actually an industry wide practice for professional services outside of audit, many people coming from audit do not know this. *Travel jobs not guaranteed *No control over hours chargeable to client/pre-negotiated capped hours 3. Some control over the type of engagements you are placed on as you can decline roles sent your way. Professional resource directors try to look out for you and you are expected to be "flexible" which is fair. Your results may vary (NYC and LA PRD considered to have "fake" personality) 4. Wine and dined often and nice networking allowance. Great effort taken to ensure resource is appreciated and are able to network using the allowance. The closer you are to the powers at be, the more this happens. Qualification: *Gets old very fast as this is an attempt to build a fun culture and can get cliquey if you are not close with those that can expense items 5. Events hosted in Las Vegas which is the big selling point for some people. After 3 trips in 2 years it does lose it's appeal. 6. Firm treats their resources like clients to some extent, and remedies the poor treatment many seniors get in public accounting firms making a big selling point for those coming from a poor environment in audit. 7. Various different types of projects, working for large clients. Results may vary, depends how much the resources complains about what type of work they are interested in. *Can be stuck on a bad engagement with earliest appeal in 12 months of starting the project once accepted.

    Cons

    Do not let management fool you by comparing Siegfried work/life to audit work/life, this is not an apples to apples comparison. The job is very close to an industry job, but the firm operates similar to a temp placement company contracted for projects. This opportunity should be compared to industry jobs and industry compensation. 1. Poor reputation among people from all levels of the big 4 that have worked with Siegfried resources on common clients. Often tasks resources are asked to perform are reviewed/funnel up to big 4 and has a history of no review leading to poor performance. Having Siegfried on your resume may actually hurt your competitiveness if the next hiring manager you interview with is from the big 4. There are instances where a Siegfried senior manager or director reports to a big 4 seniors in advisory. "Interesting and challenging" Siegfried engagements is more often than not the grunt work that the big 4 do not want to do. 2. Caliber of resources is steadily dropping which is moving away from what is marketed to candidates/clients. There is a decreasing number of big 4 in the resource mix and an increasing number coming from mid-size and regional/small firms. Big 4 seniors are recognizing better opportunities elsewhere despite the internal increase in the recruitment premiums on people from the big 4. In addition, the firm does not attract high performing seniors, almost all average ratings. High turnover as resources from the big 4/mid-size quickly realize the quality of work is not what is marketed, referred within Siegfried as "poor fit". 3. Despite the claim that the firm only hires "entrepreneurial" minded individuals, it appears they favor individuals that only know one truth, that they hate audit. As a result, an overwhelming number of the resources have no real ambitions or entrepreneurial spirit as they have no idea where they want to take their careers. Individuals that join under the guise of obtaining meaningful experience to advance their career in a specific path leave within a year or two if not within the first 6 months. Retains a lot of unmotivated people that hope for the idle time in between assignments. 4. Minimum required billable is 45-48 hours a week all year long. Always pre-negotiated with the client, no flexibility as you are required to be present at the client even with no work. Hours turn out to be about the same as some people from audit on an annual basis, only difference is that it is spread out. 5. Absolutely only for those that want to spend the rest of their career in strict accounting and reporting roles. The "interesting and challenging" projects are categorized in names that appear exciting, however the nature of the work will still be the low end of repetitive accounting grunt work. For example, a "carve out or divestiture" project for a large deal will likely have the resource doing a small accounting standard implementation or back filling a daily accountant role which has nothing to do with the actual carve out while the clients team works on the actual carve out. Ad hoc tasks will be assigned that can be remotely related to the actual cause of the project but will not be the resources main function. 6. The firm hires a lot of former head hunters/recruiters and non-accounting/non-audit managers (think IT risk) as directors as their sole function is very similar, to sell the employee to the client as a temp. Some select few directors have very little accounting knowledge or background and so do not completely understand what they are presenting to the employee often leading to a mismatch of what the resources does for the client and what they described to the resource. 7. Appears to have many useless made up leadership positions staffed with under-qualified arrogant individuals. There is quiet widespread concerns of nepotism and questionable"fluff" positions at the firm that is considered "leadership". For example the CEO's son, with no prior work experience straight out of college is given a "leadership" role, albeit a rather useless position in "employee engagement". No issues with this happening as this is a private firm and the CEO can do as he pleases, however the other individual in "employee engagement" is arrogant, under-qualified and serves no real function at the firm. 8. Year end evaluation and promotion is even more of a popularity contest than in big 4/mid size public accounting as no one in leadership works with you directly since resources report to the client resulting in zero differentiation of quality of work. There are no objective measurable criteria or metric for ratings or promotions other than how leadership feels about the resources.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-12-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Honest Associate Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Love the emphasis the firm places on my development; they are genuinely interested in seeing me grow as a professional and especially a person. Really encourage you to become your best self, it's amazing - The firm's investment in ME is unparalleled to anywhere I've seen before (and surpasses programs offered by client companies in my market (SF, CA)) - Lots of room for growth in the company and many paths to leadership - Incredible incentive compensation - my salary is pretty great as is and you have potential to earn upwards of 40-60% of your salary in bonuses - SO MANY opportunities for bonus compensation: overtime incentives, production incentives, client service incentives, travel incentives, business development incentives, recruiting incentives, etc etc etc - INCREDIBLY generous with firm expenses; no real budget to wine and dine your clients just need to have it approved; $1000 allowance (non taxable) to spend on your friends/family/colleagues; $750 allowance (non taxable) to spend on your physical/emotional wellness; $700 allowance (non-taxable) to spend on your professional development (conferences youre interested in, workshops, books, Wall Street Journal subscriptions, etc); they reimburse you for any CPA or designation / license fees -- on top of the $700 for any other leadership or development costs you want to incur. List goes on.

    Cons

    - Deductible for benefits is somewhat high (~ $1300 for the year) - Firm could practice more vacation days for more federal holidays (ie MLK Day) that clients offer - but all major holidays are observed - I really do love working at TSG, but the firm can be kind of pushy to make you share your story with others (strong desire to continue growing, so strong emphasis on recruiting others into the firm) - like I said, I love it here so I love sharing my story anyway, but for others who may not be as passionate about TSG as I am, this could rub them the wrong way.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-01-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unique company and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Through the My Journey program, the company trains employees holistically and mandates self-reflection and evaluation of our own personal long-term goals. We’re encouraged to think broadly about our own wellbeing and lifelong objectives by setting goals in areas such as the Physical, Intellectual and Spiritual facets of our lives. This program is embedded in the company’s culture and truly sets it apart from anything else I have experienced. Moreover, the employees here are generally just great people who are easy to work with and fun to be around. The compensation plan is good too and well suited to self-starters who can take advantage of the performance based bonuses. Lastly, the business model means that one will experience multiple work environments, teams and projects; learning, growing personally and building a career in the process.

    Cons

    The work hours can be long especially when combined with after-hours events and travel. For me personally, I enjoy working, love travelling and enjoy the variety that the professional resource role brings. However, if you’re looking for a “9-5 job” you should probably look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-12-22
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Company to Work For, Zero Trust in Siegfried Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a lot of good colleagues who were skilled

    Cons

    The people who send us out to work at clients are a bunch of buffoons! Some are not even accountants and you will receive arbitrary ratings based solely on someone at the company. A vast majority of the people I worked with at Siegfried think that the local leadership, such as Directors and Regional Directors are total scumbags that you should not put any faith in. The work may be good but the "leadership" who oversee the Professional Resources cannot be trusted and will lie to your face. Its a sad fact about The Siegfried Group, most resources will take their high payouts and jump ship, rather than stay in the cesspool that the organization is in.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-12-26
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Not a reliable company to work for, doesn't treat employees with respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work at Fortune 1000 company's

    Cons

    Employees are paid to talk up Siegfried as a good place to work, it is not. Many employees are fired, hence a very high turnover I trust management as far as sending me a check once a month, I do not trust them for anything else and neither should you. You will be placed on any client they want you on, you DO NOT get to choose, again don't trust the feel good promises you told at the start. The general consensus of any professional who has been at Siegfried for more than one year knows the above points are true

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-12-18
Found 160 reviews