The Siegfried Group "big 4" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Siegfried Group Employee Reviews about "big 4"

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
The Siegfried Group CEO Rob Siegfried Jr.
Rob Siegfried Jr.
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Better work-life balance compared to time in Big 4 audit(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and the owner really cares to make a difference(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Having Siegfried on your resume may actually hurt your competitiveness if the next hiring manager you interview with is from the big 4(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance could be better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "big 4"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "WOW! What a great place! Variety of projects that will help me grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Variety of Exciting projects Grown My Salary and Compensation tremendously Work Life Balance much better than Big 4 audit Great Culture Opportunities to grow (different growth programs) Allowed to see what I enjoy doing with the excellent variety of projects, as I wasn't sure what I wanted to do, but I knew I wanted to get out of audit...

    Cons

    I guess that I didn't specialize in any one particular area (which I think is good, but some might think it's a negative) so this prepared me for things I want to do in the future, and it allows me to actually be qualified to that

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-05-10
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Do not ever work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is what brings people in the door. The only plus is that you will make a ton of money if given the right client. Bonus pool for billable hours, tenure on client, and even a bonus for attending *mandatory* Saturday "Rob Siegfried Summits" branded as leadership development events and filling out corresponding busy work. Recruiting bonuses are huge but you are selling off your friends for money.

    Cons

    Client work is not challenging, basically busy work. Most clients do not care about Siegfried's staff - they are there because the client needs to fill a gap. No strategic projects and mostly staff and senior-level busywork. Basic GL accounting/monthly close is 90% of their "resource" placements. They also outsource audit staff to Big 4. You do not gain any valuable work experience if you are a B4 manager level or above. Major cons is management. Multiple layers of salaried overhead "leadership team" that will treat you one way in person and throw you under the bus behind your back. The leadership team does not care about you or your career progression and only cares about you being deployed to a client as long as the client pays the hourly rate. A lot of the leadership team are useless, and either do not sell anything and have not ever sold anything, or perform useless jobs such as "reaching out to fraternity and sorority alumni to build the Siegfried brand" - again, a waste of a base salary. HR is nonexistent, you have "professional resource directors" many of which do not know the half of what you are doing at your client yet they perform your performance reviews and will not listen to your concerns about your client engagement or hear any negative feedback on your role. Full disclosure: I received 4 and 5 ratings from all of my client assignments, so this is not a personal bias as my ratings were fine. There is so much time-wasting administrative things you have to do to please leadership that you have to do on top of your client duties. Also, the whole "leadership advisory" thing is not helping.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (27)

    "Comprehensive pros and cons - Fair pay, bad rep and poor quality of work. "Overpaid contractor""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With qualifications*: 1. Slightly above market pay for minimal level of effort type of work. Can be idle/unassigned for months, great being paid to do nothing at home at the cost of gaining no experience. Pay for a senior accountant would be roughly 5%~10% higher than a senior accountant in industry depending on size of client however in some cases lower than F500 senior accountants. Qualification: *Initial recruitment is only attractive for candidates having completed their first year as a senior accountant in public accounting with an average rating so it is a big relative increase. *F500 senior accountants have higher base comp and stock options which in the long run is more valuable. *Might be asking yourself why you did not go into industry after back filling as an industry accountant for two years at the same client. 2. Array of incentive pay provides for a sense of accomplishment. Travel bonus, duration of project, referral bonus (premium on big 4 referral), business development bonus, and average hour bonus are a definite plus. This is the biggest pro but is a mix of luck, hardwork and sometimes resorting to misleading your contacts. Qualification: *Duration of project bonus (on a project more than 4 months) is actually an industry wide practice for professional services outside of audit, many people coming from audit do not know this. *Travel jobs not guaranteed *No control over hours chargeable to client/pre-negotiated capped hours 3. Some control over the type of engagements you are placed on as you can decline roles sent your way. Professional resource directors try to look out for you and you are expected to be "flexible" which is fair. Your results may vary (NYC and LA PRD considered to have "fake" personality) 4. Wine and dined often and nice networking allowance. Great effort taken to ensure resource is appreciated and are able to network using the allowance. The closer you are to the powers at be, the more this happens. Qualification: *Gets old very fast as this is an attempt to build a fun culture and can get cliquey if you are not close with those that can expense items 5. Events hosted in Las Vegas which is the big selling point for some people. After 3 trips in 2 years it does lose it's appeal. 6. Firm treats their resources like clients to some extent, and remedies the poor treatment many seniors get in public accounting firms making a big selling point for those coming from a poor environment in audit. 7. Various different types of projects, working for large clients. Results may vary, depends how much the resources complains about what type of work they are interested in. *Can be stuck on a bad engagement with earliest appeal in 12 months of starting the project once accepted.

    Cons

    Do not let management fool you by comparing Siegfried work/life to audit work/life, this is not an apples to apples comparison. The job is very close to an industry job, but the firm operates similar to a temp placement company contracted for projects. This opportunity should be compared to industry jobs and industry compensation. 1. Poor reputation among people from all levels of the big 4 that have worked with Siegfried resources on common clients. Often tasks resources are asked to perform are reviewed/funnel up to big 4 and has a history of no review leading to poor performance. Having Siegfried on your resume may actually hurt your competitiveness if the next hiring manager you interview with is from the big 4. There are instances where a Siegfried senior manager or director reports to a big 4 seniors in advisory. "Interesting and challenging" Siegfried engagements is more often than not the grunt work that the big 4 do not want to do. 2. Caliber of resources is steadily dropping which is moving away from what is marketed to candidates/clients. There is a decreasing number of big 4 in the resource mix and an increasing number coming from mid-size and regional/small firms. Big 4 seniors are recognizing better opportunities elsewhere despite the internal increase in the recruitment premiums on people from the big 4. In addition, the firm does not attract high performing seniors, almost all average ratings. High turnover as resources from the big 4/mid-size quickly realize the quality of work is not what is marketed, referred within Siegfried as "poor fit". 3. Despite the claim that the firm only hires "entrepreneurial" minded individuals, it appears they favor individuals that only know one truth, that they hate audit. As a result, an overwhelming number of the resources have no real ambitions or entrepreneurial spirit as they have no idea where they want to take their careers. Individuals that join under the guise of obtaining meaningful experience to advance their career in a specific path leave within a year or two if not within the first 6 months. Retains a lot of unmotivated people that hope for the idle time in between assignments. 4. Minimum required billable is 45-48 hours a week all year long. Always pre-negotiated with the client, no flexibility as you are required to be present at the client even with no work. Hours turn out to be about the same as some people from audit on an annual basis, only difference is that it is spread out. 5. Absolutely only for those that want to spend the rest of their career in strict accounting and reporting roles. The "interesting and challenging" projects are categorized in names that appear exciting, however the nature of the work will still be the low end of repetitive accounting grunt work. For example, a "carve out or divestiture" project for a large deal will likely have the resource doing a small accounting standard implementation or back filling a daily accountant role which has nothing to do with the actual carve out while the clients team works on the actual carve out. Ad hoc tasks will be assigned that can be remotely related to the actual cause of the project but will not be the resources main function. 6. The firm hires a lot of former head hunters/recruiters and non-accounting/non-audit managers (think IT risk) as directors as their sole function is very similar, to sell the employee to the client as a temp. Some select few directors have very little accounting knowledge or background and so do not completely understand what they are presenting to the employee often leading to a mismatch of what the resources does for the client and what they described to the resource. 7. Appears to have many useless made up leadership positions staffed with under-qualified arrogant individuals. There is quiet widespread concerns of nepotism and questionable"fluff" positions at the firm that is considered "leadership". For example the CEO's son, with no prior work experience straight out of college is given a "leadership" role, albeit a rather useless position in "employee engagement". No issues with this happening as this is a private firm and the CEO can do as he pleases, however the other individual in "employee engagement" is arrogant, under-qualified and serves no real function at the firm. 8. Year end evaluation and promotion is even more of a popularity contest than in big 4/mid size public accounting as no one in leadership works with you directly since resources report to the client resulting in zero differentiation of quality of work. There are no objective measurable criteria or metric for ratings or promotions other than how leadership feels about the resources.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-12-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great compensation and benefits (nearly double of what i was earning at big 4) - Great people (largely ex big4/GT/RSM) who are strong performers and easy to work and get along with - Great culture - there are alot of firm networking and social events which I always get alot out of , whether its meeting new people and building my network or listening to inspirational guest speakers - Great place for learning and professional development- wide variety of courses offered including Rev rec/Leases, digital agility, excel expert certification (all paid for by the firm plus an additional allowance to spend on external relevant courses we wish to take)

    Cons

    - not many besides initially not knowing what type of engagement you will be working on when you just start but most of the engagement I've been presented with sound interesting

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-06-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Has been a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of projects. working on some great projects in many different areas Great compensation Better work-life balance compared to time in Big 4 audit fun culture

    Cons

    some projects more exciting than others

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-04-13
  6. Helpful (19)

    "Please dont believe the fake good reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money is good Treat you to great Happy hours and great meals at fancy reestraurants

    Cons

    *Leadership has unreasonable expectations *Projects are boring *Work life balance is non existent (similar to big 4), there is alot of administration work, you are expected to attend HH for clients, team events, and bill 50plus hrs a week, and expected to give up 8hrs of your saturday every quarter to hear the Cult leader and his followers. *You are expected to travel or commute up to an hour each way. *If you are on the bench and the siegfried office is in downtown, you will have to pay for parking out of your pocket. *Leadership will lie to your face about how exciting is great the project is and how much they like you

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-05-05
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Don't care enough about their product, their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Salary compared to big 4. - Exposure to industry

    Cons

    - Focused on growing business instead of the business itself. - Lack of support for staff - Zero control over work

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-01-30
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Racism and Very Poor Collaboration! Go figure, lol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can gain some experience that will benefit you once you want to make the move from public accounting to industry.. Its only a bridge, nothing more.

    Cons

    Unfortunately they are many, I worked for 1 year at Siegfried and at the top of my list are: - I was called out on my ethnicity and religion multiple times. They promise exciting work, but when you say to something its not interesting "you're not showing flexibility and willingness to roll up your sleeves " - Very poor in collaboration and horrible in communication. - They don't operate well under the national model. Regional model would probably work better. - I was in the middle between the firm and one of the big 4 on an assignment and they did not handle it well, to a point where big 4 company said we will never work with these guys again.. They don't know how to manage their own business and burn bridges left and right. - You can get paid the same amount of money in industry without having to travel 100% of the time and you would still have a much better life. - They drink waaaaaay too much, LOL, this may seem interesting for some, but my experience was its a little over the top and they will never shy away from footing that bill. - Most resources are not from the US, meaning most resources here don't see the true value in working with them, because they sponsor non US citizens they are attracting all these ex big 4 folks to bring them to the US, above i said they are racists, i stand by that.. Because they have 3 countries they focus on, Australia, Canada and South Africa.. So you can put one and one together. The list goes on and on, I can write a book about the time I spent here.. All i say when I look back is, LOOL, if they don't fix their in house stuff, they are in for a big crash. They think they're doing good, the only reason it's going that way now is the economy is getting better, new rev rec standards.. But once the economy slows down, they will lay people off (they've done it before and closed entire offices because of it).

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2017-05-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Unique Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group

    Pros

    At The Siegfried Group you work on a client to help them with their projects. The focus is to help our clients by providing them with exceptional resources (our people) to provide value to their team. I enjoy getting to work alongside our clients and see how my different viewpoints can positively shape the experience of my client. Aside from client work, there is a focus on your professional and personal goals and development. We receive a professional and networking allowance annually to use as we see fit to grow and develop. In addition to that allowance there are three development days, conversations with your professional resource director, and team leader to help identify where you are trying to get to and what steps you should take.

    Cons

    The office locations are small because we are out on our clients so it is different than the feeling of a Big 4 environment. However, we have a lot of events in the area to bring our resources together so I never feel like I am alone.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2016-12-14
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Good place if you dont mind sacrificing yourself for billable hours and firm initiatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - fellow resources are usually fun, dynamic, former Big 4 types - if you like long hours or extensive travel, you can make a ton of money - my journey, while boring, can actually be used to your own advantage and personal development - not forced to do Big 4 audit projects

    Cons

    - 48hrs per week expected, you can work the 45hr minimum but wont make any money or advance internally off 45hrs - expected to invest 4 to 5 hrs per week of your OWN time, outside of the 48hrs you spend at clients, in networking for the firm - ceo is "god" and unilateral decision maker, calls resources his "disciples" - bench time gives you anxiety about stability of your job - leadership team are YES men and you only get ahead if you sip the same kool-aid - basically forced to recruit for the firm through networking naturally initiative - firm does not support you, you will get fired without discussion if a client gives you a 3 review (on a 5 scale rating system)

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2016-02-23
Found 160 reviews