The Siegfried Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
The Siegfried Group Founder & CEO Rob Siegfried Jr.
Rob Siegfried Jr.
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance much better than Big 4 audit(in 11 reviews)

  • "Exposure to the large Fortune 1000 companies (across industries as well)(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Having Siegfried on your resume may actually hurt your competitiveness if the next hiring manager you interview with is from the big 4(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance could be better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work/life balance and if the firm does well, you get compensated for it

    Cons

    Hard to advance in your career.

    The Siegfried Group2020-03-24
  2. "Senior Associate in Central Market"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wealth of projects to gain experience on high-profile clients (Fortune 100-200). Ability to grow and see different types of industry positions as opposed to leaving public for something you aren't sure on. Pay is incredible and can't really be matched in industry, personally doubled what I made at Big 4 in less than a year. Great company culture and the people here I've met across markets are incredible. Focus on work life balance and living healthy, with significant funding for well-being and career development. Yearly trip to great destinations for leadership training that you are paid to attend.

    Cons

    Projects can be intense and client reviews are usually more in depth as Siegfried charges a pretty penny for your hours. Leadership in certain markets lacks ability to engage resources in meaningful or career advancing projects (Not the case in Chicago).

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-07-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "WOW! What a great place! Variety of projects that will help me grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Variety of Exciting projects Grown My Salary and Compensation tremendously Work Life Balance much better than Big 4 audit Great Culture Opportunities to grow (different growth programs) Allowed to see what I enjoy doing with the excellent variety of projects, as I wasn't sure what I wanted to do, but I knew I wanted to get out of audit...

    Cons

    I guess that I didn't specialize in any one particular area (which I think is good, but some might think it's a negative) so this prepared me for things I want to do in the future, and it allows me to actually be qualified to that

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-05-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company that set me up for the future!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    variety of projects pretty good work-life balance (especially compared to public accounting audit) Salary was great! company does some great things and offers different ways to grow with the company

    Cons

    currently they do not have any International offices

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2019-01-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Professional Resource"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Flexibility and exposure a plus.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance could be better

    The Siegfried Group2018-08-03
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Has been a great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of projects. working on some great projects in many different areas Great compensation Better work-life balance compared to time in Big 4 audit fun culture

    Cons

    some projects more exciting than others

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-04-13
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Please dont believe the fake good reviews"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money is good Treat you to great Happy hours and great meals at fancy reestraurants

    Cons

    *Leadership has unreasonable expectations *Projects are boring *Work life balance is non existent (similar to big 4), there is alot of administration work, you are expected to attend HH for clients, team events, and bill 50plus hrs a week, and expected to give up 8hrs of your saturday every quarter to hear the Cult leader and his followers. *You are expected to travel or commute up to an hour each way. *If you are on the bench and the siegfried office is in downtown, you will have to pay for parking out of your pocket. *Leadership will lie to your face about how exciting is great the project is and how much they like you

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2018-05-05
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunity for personal and professional growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very entrepreneurial firm which promotes personal and professional growth. Employees have an input in the accounting/finance projects they are deployed on, the firm promotes personal growth through My Journey, good work life balance, very generous bonus plan which compensates individuals based on their efforts, and a very impressive list of clients. Would highly recommend this for someone who is ready to leave public accounting/industry and is looking to experience a variety of accounting and finance opportunities.

    Cons

    As stated above, this is a perfect opportunity for someone looking to experience a variety of accounting and finance projects. This is not the right opportunity for someone who is not flexible and only interested in one type of project.

    The Siegfried Group2017-08-15
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Not Worth it!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time

    Pros

    - They offer a lot of incentives that is the only USP of this firm - They give you a lot of money to socialize and plan events to fine and wine which anyone will enjoy

    Cons

    - They have many ways that they use to lure people to join them such as money, big projects like Mergers and Acquisitions, IPO readiness and so on but when you join the firm, you only are put on projects which are mundane and not making you put your technical knowledge to any use such as - Bank Reconciliations, analysis of data in MS Excel using advance functions, documentation clear up, clearing up of review comments addressed to some client personnel. The most you could get is a SOX project which is the bread and butter of the firm. Most of the persons join here from Big Fours who want to step away from auditing and need a work life balance but end up doing the same type of work and hours - Since the client does the review of the Siegfried resources, you might end up in a situation when a bunch of incompetent people will be writing your review and there will be no support from the Siegfried's management - On an average about a 100 employees stays on the bench (unassigned) each week which will make you think about your job security. I agree that people would love to take money for sitting idle but it will pinch you when you are unable to add any experience to your resume for the period you are employed with Siegfried - They hire so aggressively only because they have such a high attrition rate due to employee dissatisfaction - The CEO use most quirky language when addressing the employees in the company forum and he is all about himself and not about the employees. (It is not a people's firm)

    The Siegfried Group2017-09-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "My personal opinion"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time

    Pros

    Fair compensation. Your hard work in overtime and willingness to travel are compensated. Engagement primarily focused on Fortune 1000 firms, which offers great exposure and opportunities to build your network. They try hard to build a good team rapport and culture, although at the end as a professional resource , it's pretty much every man for himself and it's up to one personally to prove their worth to the client (which i think is fair).

    Cons

    Your experience largely dependent on your engagement, which could be great or terrible. As much as they would like to find interesting work that will be beneficial to their employees, there are a good amount of less their desirable work to go around. Quite a bit of personal sacrifice if you are want to make the most of your experience, between traveling and overtime, and other firm dedicated initiatives. It's not really a good fit for people who want more work/life balance. Not a lot is done to train & develop employees beyond on the job training which is preached. If you are not on an interesting job or client, you will find little other reason to stick around which explain the very high turnover. If they offer more developments or better mentorship program, maybe this would help retain some of the younger employees and build them for a longer career within the firm. Especially since they tend to hire younger individuals who are not far in their careers and don't provide too much support. There's much potential there but is wasted and talents leave and with mixed opinions of the firm.

    Continue reading
    The Siegfried Group2017-04-27
Found 15 reviews