The University of North Carolina System Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The University of North Carolina System Reviews

Updated 22 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
The University of North Carolina System Interim President  Bill Roper (no image)
Bill Roper
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "Being a teacher's assistant can involve tedious work, especially grading in large volumes and it is very low pay(in 21 reviews)

  • "State budget cuts have left some basic services and building upkeep by the wayside(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Education and Guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System

    Pros

    Went to College here. Diverse and supporting culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels too beauracratic.

    Continue reading
    The University of North Carolina System2019-04-10
  2. "Good PT Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Package Service Representative 

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System part-time

    Pros

    convenient, friendly coworkers, meet lots of people

    Cons

    scheduling can be alot for a part time job, scheduled every day if schedule allowa

    The University of North Carolina System2020-03-16
  3. "The salary is 40% below the poverty rate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Chapel Hill, NC

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay your tuition cost.

    Cons

    The salary is 40% below the poverty rate.

    The University of North Carolina System2020-03-22
  4. "nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director, Career Services in Chapel Hill, NC
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time

    Pros

    the students are talented and engaged

    Cons

    lack of career trajectory can be frustrating

    The University of North Carolina System2020-03-06
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier 

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System part-time

    Pros

    flexible work hours and great people for the most part

    Cons

    they pay you at minimum wage

    The University of North Carolina System2020-02-27
  6. "Gret job with a great university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orientation Leader in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to engage with students that were going through a huge transition. If you like to be around people while also making an impact this is the job for you. The staff in transition programs at uncw are phenomenal.

    Cons

    The days are long, usually 12 hours so it can be kind of emotionally exhausting. You have to give a lot of yourself but the team is there to pick you up.

    Continue reading
    The University of North Carolina System2020-02-24
  7. "Great place for students to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of people! Warm and welcoming environment!

    Cons

    Scheduling was sometimes difficult because of my class and internship.

    Continue reading
    The University of North Carolina System2020-02-20
  8. "N/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Tech in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay nice management if your Young all management

    Cons

    No advancment jaust enough to get by

    Continue reading
    The University of North Carolina System2020-02-25
  9. "Salary as RA in UNC system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Supervisor 

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good place to work

    Cons

    Not in a big city

    The University of North Carolina System2020-01-07
  10. "Faculty-Administration relations, pay limit what is otherwise a glorious job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful students, wonderful atmosphere. I feel like it is unreal when I walk across campus.

    Cons

    I have been in a number of situations with past university administrations where I come away feeling as though we have abandoned our independent, academic and public service mission.

    Continue reading
    The University of North Carolina System2020-01-03
Found 631 reviews