The Zappos Family Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Zappos Family Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
The Zappos Family CEO  Tony Hsieh
Tony Hsieh
253 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great teammates free food and no bosses health benefits(in 48 reviews)

  • "It pays the bills with great benefits(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "So many more meetings due to holacracy and a lead link is just a manager with a different name(in 27 reviews)

  • "The real con is the fact that the campus is smack dab in downtown which lends to all the of the dynamics that all(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company with beneifts if you're not interested in a promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative 

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, benefits, and perks. Good work environment, fun. Well paid.

    Cons

    No room for growth, managements plays favorites and gives you the run around when you want to express desire to move up.

    The Zappos Family2020-01-17
  2. "Was GREAT before... shame where they are today!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They HAD the building blocks in the early years and used it to transform what a company could be. Not the case now :(

    Cons

    Strong leaders and investing in their employees were the bedrock of their early success. Holacracy brought about the worst in people and slowly chipped away at the fabric that once made them a great, sought-after, employer. In CLT (and likely other depts as well), many were promoted to positions based on popularity and who you know- talent and aptitude became a VERY distant second. These so-called leaders suck the life of their employees as I've heard so many unfortunate stories and have also seen first-hand their destruction. Shame.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    One lesson I learned at Zappos was that employees don't leave their jobs- they leave their bosses. Look at who you have running your depts. They are no longer capable and are not an asset to your organization. I sure hope you can get back to your former self as it was a joy to work in that type of environment back then.

    The Zappos Family2019-12-30
  3. "The Best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chico, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing product. A company that cares about it's employees

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    The Zappos Family2019-10-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Culture and Benefits are Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing, there are constantly employee engagement and appreciation events happening. Generous discount on site.

    Cons

    You must be okay with extreme organizational changes and putting a lot of work into something that might be stopped abruptly. Could use stronger leadership throughout the company.

    The Zappos Family2019-09-27
  5. "Great place to work for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It pays the bills with great benefits

    Cons

    Limited schedule flexibility and weird shifts

    The Zappos Family2019-09-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A brilliant idea poorly executed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits and lots of parties, free stuff, and made life long friends.

    Cons

    In the beginning in training you are made to feel like you work at an adult Disneyland. Once I started actually started working my job I saw it for what it really was eventually(just another call center). My department was very unorganized and full of leads that were unfit to have that title. There was alot of unnecessary changes and confusion. No real room for progression and advancement unless your were friends with the people with power to get you into certain roles. I saw ALOT of inappropriate and disturbing behavior that I will not say on this platform. Alot of money spent on unnecessary big company parties that could have been used to give us raises. My decision to leave was solely based on how they treat people that have invested over 10 years with this company. Alot of them are unhappy and unsure if even a year from now they will still have a job after dedicating so much time. That was sad to me that there is no job security even with them. I felt like they received no recognition and brought it to the attention of higher ups and they did nothing. It was once the best job I ever had at once and towards the end it became unbearable to wake up and go there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You really need to do a whole management makeover in CLT. Really look into who is currently leading and see if they are really qualified to be in those roles.

    The Zappos Family2019-09-06
  7. "Glorified Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generous sick and vacation and attendance policy. Great events around campus. Benefits are awesome.

    Cons

    No room for development or branching out to other departments. Seems like popularity contest at times.

    The Zappos Family2019-09-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Workday Technical Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zappos Family part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized, discounts, paid vacation days,

    Cons

    Location and no job security

    Advice to Management

    Zappos is a great company to work for. It’s self managed and team printed but sometimes I feel like like it’s a bit of a gray house, so maybe you should cut down on the parties on campus.

    The Zappos Family2019-06-25
  9. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLT 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people ability do freely do whatever it takes for the customer amazing perks!

    Cons

    Rule changes made it very hard(next to impossible) to really advance out of CLT Can get very cliquey in the management area, if you arent a favorite you'll know it

    The Zappos Family2019-06-13
  10. "No Hard Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Loyalty Team Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, room for movement (latterally)

    Cons

    Sometimes it seemed like a popularity contest.

    The Zappos Family2019-05-30
Found 369 reviews