The Zappos Family Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Zappos Family Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 363 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
The Zappos Family CEO Tony Hsieh
Tony Hsieh
250 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great teammates free food and no bosses health benefits(in 48 reviews)

  • "great benefits, good people to work aside, time to pursue growth and learning(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "So many more meetings due to holacracy and a lead link is just a manager with a different name(in 26 reviews)

  • "The real con is the fact that the campus is smack dab in downtown which lends to all the of the dynamics that all(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Workday Technical Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zappos Family part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized, discounts, paid vacation days,

    Cons

    Location and no job security

    Advice to Management

    Zappos is a great company to work for. It’s self managed and team printed but sometimes I feel like like it’s a bit of a gray house, so maybe you should cut down on the parties on campus.

    The Zappos Family2019-06-25
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLT 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people ability do freely do whatever it takes for the customer amazing perks!

    Cons

    Rule changes made it very hard(next to impossible) to really advance out of CLT Can get very cliquey in the management area, if you arent a favorite you'll know it

    The Zappos Family2019-06-13
  3. "No Hard Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Loyalty Team Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, room for movement (latterally)

    Cons

    Sometimes it seemed like a popularity contest.

    The Zappos Family2019-05-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Was amazing once upon a time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zappos Family for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, company parties, coworkers, free food

    Cons

    Management, cliques, lack of progression

    Advice to Management

    Zappos used to be amazing and a place I valued and loved coming into everyday but it changed so much and is now just like any call center. Management, stop lying to your new hires and acting like they have a say in anything that goes on. This is not Disneyland. It is a corporate who knows who job. It is impossible to move up these days unless your friends with the inner circle. This went from the most amazing job to...

    Show More
    The Zappos Family2019-06-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and culture are second to none

    Cons

    Inability to scale fast enough

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    The Zappos Family2019-04-26
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Merchandiser in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Fun People, Great Perks

    Cons

    Culture can be suffocating at times

    Advice to Management

    Stay Authentic!

    The Zappos Family2019-04-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fake...not what it seems."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits. Good friends. The office before moving downtown was amazing.

    Cons

    Where to begin....the CEO checked out in about 2011 or 2012 when he started getting involved in the downtown project and it was shoved down our throats. Then we move from a great office in henderson to skid row downtown. Homeless EVERYWHERE. Felt very unsafe. Then they rolled out holocracy which was some type of management system with no managers. Wasn't well thought out. Engineering was in the middle of a project with...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get experienced people to run things and bring in professional people. It's like high school. You have some terrible terrible people working there. Esp in HR and Tech.

    The Zappos Family2019-04-07
  8. "Its Aiiight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Rep in Las Vegas, NV

      I have been working at The Zappos Family full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Damn near everything, great company.

      Cons

      Lots of women... to the point where males are second guessed due to said females past experiences with men. I get it.

      Advice to Management

      There aren't managers!

      The Zappos Family2019-03-10
    • "Yes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at The Zappos Family full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Free food, Culture, friendly staff

        Cons

        Small meeting rooms, holiday calls

        The Zappos Family2019-02-25
      • "Meh okay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The Zappos Family full-time

        Pros

        Company has a great culture and tries to bring every one together

        Cons

        Everyone feels entitled, makes a sometimes difficult work place

        The Zappos Family2018-12-20
      Found 363 reviews