ThoughtWorks Lead Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Lead Consultant

ThoughtWorks Lead Consultant Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks President and CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
9 Ratings
  1. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are a techie, you find a bunch of like minded people Good and friendly culture There is a saying that, you'll always have a smarter person in the room

    Cons

    It's a consulting firm and people move to different projects frequently Very minimal product development

    ThoughtWorks2019-04-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Biased, judging and uncomfortable environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Consultant in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Developers gets variety of opportunities to work in different environments. - Standards followed in development is good. - Community activities are always conducted with energy - You see and hear lot from the highly skilled people around the organisation. - Travel opportunities are good - Recruitment process and standards are high. - 360 degrees Feedbacks helps in overall growth of the person.

    Cons

    - Work life balance is not so great. - No company is 100% transparent. But there were enough visible scenarios which can question the transparency in terms of recruitment, promotions, travels, ... etc. - Most of office running official/unofficial managers acts like psychiatrists. They judge and treat employees based on their judgement. - Generally it is projected as flat hierarchy company. I never felt that inside office. - In the sake of making you strong, you will get teased lot. Being a reserved person, many times I was un-comfortable in office. - Noise in office is too high which made me sick many times towards end of the day. - I got a feeling of someone watching me always. Because office running official/unofficial managers encourage few employees to share every small detail. Mostly micro management happens via this direction.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2019-03-02

    ThoughtWorks Response

    March 13, 2019ThoughtWorker

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. +1 to all of your Pros! - Developers gets variety of opportunities to work in different environments. - Standards followed in development is good. - Community activities are always conducted with energy - You see and hear lot from the highly skilled people around the organisation. Your other comments concern me because this is not how we want anyone to feel at TW. You have every right to feel comfortable at work. I have shared your review with some folks in your region, and I strongly encourage you to reach out to Kaushik Gosh or another member of your local people team for support. Thank you! Nicole

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Lead consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the softwares are available for you to work upon Teams are open to discuss development related tasks Dev huddles are good to learn, contribute and delvier

    Cons

    Business analysts and managers do not do a single thing, except of monitoring others and commenting on others Teams get biased easily

    ThoughtWorks2018-12-12

    ThoughtWorks Response

    December 14, 2018Director, Content

    The pros you mention are great but the cons have me concerned. I'd encourage you to have an honest talk with your People Lead about this. Thank you! Nicole nnavigli@thoughtworks.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Just another average IT company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Consultant in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Brand and some of employees outside India are great.

    Cons

    Thoughtworks hires cheap cheaper cheapest folks (in terms of salary, education, experience) and enjoys fat billing rates.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2018-10-13
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Lead Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're a Developer, a QA or a BA, ThoughtWorks is the place to work.

    Cons

    If you're anyone like a PM and above, you better work where you work than joining ThoughtWorks.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2017-11-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Losing our edge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Chennai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Consulting experience Very self organised teams Awesome colleagues

    Cons

    Struggle with talent loss is haemorrhaging us, not sure if that is visible or not Need to reduce layers, have added more in recent years

    ThoughtWorks2017-03-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Very open culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great collection of people. Very friendly policies. Good challenging work. Bleeding edge technology

    Cons

    Culture dilution, Not as nimble as the company used to be. Constantly changing management structure.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2017-02-02
  8. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead Consultant in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work with talented people - Very collaborative environment - Transparent work culture - No organisational hierarchy

    Cons

    - Frequent travel - Work life balance due to travel

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2016-08-12
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Ruins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Some great people to work with. - OK Food, decent office space, open desks, Macbook - Open to let you learn. - A very safe, nurturing environment to settle down.

    Cons

    - Very immature & spineless leadership - They have no strategy on business but rely on cowboy style of management. I haven't seen any so called leaders make a decision and back it up with some strategy/guts. I dont mean that their decision has to be right but they don't even have the guts to make a wrong decision. Business as Usual is their strategy and they like to look the other way when faced with any situation. They don't understand iota of business or people....all speeches are same with some words juggled here and there. "I HOPE" is the most common phrase used and which shows that all they hope is that everything would be fine. - People are promoted to higher positions without considering any past experience or anything but they would just go ahead and promote people without any accountability. I have never seen anyone been pulled up for performance issues in these leadership positions. - In last few years best brains have left the organisation and the management can't stop raving about themselves about how good the place it is. They simply have no brain power to understand why people are leaving and what needs to be done to stop this. - The company is fast becoming like any other regular services company with screwed up recruiting - people being made to run key initiatives where they don't have no past experience at all. In the name of social justice they are hiring more and more people with leftist/communist views and no brain at all. - People who know people are allowed to migrate to US/UK/Australia while others are told that there are no opportunities. We have a saying that TW India also gives you a honeymoon package i.e. connected people get long term abroad assignments just after they get married. - Founder is like any other ignorant AMERICAN who wants to change the rest of the world but not America. He also believes that rural Indian needs free internet more than food, clothes and a house.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2016-01-27
  10. "Great learning experience with some of the best developers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tw will give you the best platform to learn and becoming a good developer. The best part about Tw is the people themselves. You get to work with some the best developers.

    Cons

    Be open to hear very opinionated view on almost everything. This is not necessarily bad but you need to get used to. Also this helps a lot in learning.

    ThoughtWorks2014-11-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 58 reviews