ThoughtWorks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

ThoughtWorks Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks President and CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
141 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Travel can be taxing to work life balance over time(in 43 reviews)

  • "o tem um desafio muito empolgante, o que pode desanimar algumas pessoas(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (19)

    "One of the best in my career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead User Experience Designer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    First company in my career to complete 4 years. I was a kid who used to jump companies with 2 years interval time and what held me back are these. 1. Amazing People - Which MNC gives you the freedom to speak out what you feel to anyone you want if it makes sense. No hierarchy policy is too good that I can reach out to anyone whom I want to discuss. This is a company filled with people that attentively listens to someone's feedback and take it with a positive note. 2. Unlimited Sick Leave - Which MNC gives you the unlimited sick leave? This company trusts its employees and I haven't seen anyone misusing it. 3. Breakfast and Lunch Covered - I know most of the MNCs provide this. But nothing can beat the breakfast provided here. Live counter and the "didi" knows how my half fry should be deep-fried :D 4. Great Projects - Being a designer it was challenging to compete with the amazing developers here. Nothing is impossible is the attitude they hold. I have got the privilege to work on some of the great clients like PVR, Bangalore Airport, TE, Morgan Stanley, Air Asia, etc. And I made great friends with all of them I have worked with. I used to like my weekdays than weekends during the project of Bangalore Airport App. We even made an amazing video. 5. Travel - Though I didn't get to travel outside India, I got the opportunity to travel to all the offices in India. TW make sure everything is covered when you travel for work. Bi-Weekly Flight Tickets to the home office, Since every office provides breakfast and lunch there is a per diem to cover your dinner expense, Free stay, any cab trips can be reimbursed. Also based on the requirements we get to travel internationally as well. 6. Away Day - Think of a chartered flight (sort of) where you have all your friends in one flight and flying to one place to meet other TW-ers and share and learn. 2 days of absolute fun. 7. Other Benefits - Like free internet, free phone bill, a book a year, health and wellness benefit of 7k, etc Apart from all these, there is one personal incident which proves TW is the best company to work with: While I was on the project working in Hyd office, I met with a road accident and I was immobilized for 2 months and had to stay in Hyderabad. The insurance policy of the company took care of the 3.5 lakh bill. TW took care of my stay (A 3bhk fully furnished apartment for me and my family to take care of me). Frequent visits from my teammates to keep me entertained :D. 4 months of paid leave and though I was not completely fixed, I was bored and has asked TW to put me in a project that I can work remotely. The reply I got was "Its Ok Advin, you take care of yourself and we will wait for you to be completely fine" Been working for 11 years and happy to be a TWker. Every organization has taught me something. What I learned from this organization is how to be humane. I was an introvert who gets scared to share my opinion in public. I think I have become an ambivert who isn't that shy kid who hides behind the wall. Debate with sensible topics. Learn, adapt and share.

    Cons

    A bit of favoritism is there.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2019-08-25

    ThoughtWorks Response

    October 30, 2019ThoughtWorker

    Thank you for your honest, thoughtful and detailed review. I'm glad to hear you recognize what makes ThoughtWorks remarkable: our people. And so all our policies are built around making this a great place for our employees :) With regards, Darshana

    Continue reading
  2. "Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good culture - Good learning - Flat hierarchy - Flexible working hour - Pair programming

    Cons

    - A lot of things changing after the acquisition. - Hiring a lot of people who are not as per old TW standard. - A lot of internal politics

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2020-03-03
  3. "Best place for solid technical exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DevOps Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One will get ample amount of complex challenges to solve. Best place for tech savvy

    Cons

    Things are changing at TW.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2020-03-26
  4. "Good learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work with smart people Amazing work culture Very matured engineering practices. Get to work on latest technology. Good pay compared to other services company but not as good as product companies. Hikes and benefits are decent, above market standard.

    Cons

    Management should identify people who actually work. Only values people who are good at talking. You have to be in the good books of management or the right lobby to get good opportunity or travel.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2020-03-22
  5. "Best Company to kick start as Fresher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vibe, Workspace, Team members, Learning along with growth -- everything is best at TW

    Cons

    Nothing- Everything is good at TW

    ThoughtWorks2020-02-29
  6. "Excellent Technical exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Join if you are passionate about Technology and want to learn

    Cons

    Salary offering is bit on lower side as compared to big product based companies and captives

    ThoughtWorks2020-02-27
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Pune
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best place for any fresher to start their career from leaning perspective.

    Cons

    No cons as such, it's TW :)

    ThoughtWorks2020-02-13
  8. "Aweome workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    everything work , culture ,pay , mentors , learning

    Cons

    Promotiion might take little longer than other

    ThoughtWorks2020-02-09
  9. "A good company to work very comfortably and independently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Like minded people and thought inclusivity

    Cons

    Hiring influx is very critical to manage and the organisation should try their best to maintain the quality in every aspect

    ThoughtWorks2020-02-23
  10. "Poor opportunities for senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent for developers and technologists People focussed

    Cons

    Too unstructured with accountability on only PM and zero decision making powers NO growth for management aspirants

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2020-02-10
Found 675 reviews