Tillys Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Tillys Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Tillys CEO Edmond Thomas
Edmond Thomas
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Minimum wage starting salary with few benefits for part time employees(in 49 reviews)

  • "Low pay for how much they expect you to do(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tillys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly enviroment - customer focused training

    Cons

    low pay / long hours

    Tillys2019-10-15
  2. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Tillys part-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Felt micromanaged and criticized constantly

    Tillys2019-10-13
  3. "All in all, not bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Lead in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tillys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount is good and the company is fun.

    Cons

    Lots of nickel and diming from upper level management.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers what they ask.

    Tillys2019-08-30
  4. "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tillys part-time

    Pros

    Working here is good if you're a high school student looking to bring in some cash. All of the management is pretty chill and fun. Most of them are willing to lend an ear when you're having a rough time. All of this is true, with the exception of one manager who seems pride herself on complaining and being the "mean boss."

    Cons

    Management's pretty messy and uncoordinated. They hire new people all the time and mess-ups are commonplace. This is the corporate location and so closing takes hours to accomplish. They want you to sell more to customers but do not pay a monetary commission per se. Instead, if you sell a lot they "compensate" you with more hours. Otherwise, your hours will be cut.

    Tillys2019-09-05
  5. "a fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Gilbert, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tillys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the discount and the people that worked there

    Cons

    not enough hours and there was a mess of clothing lying around

    Tillys2019-09-02
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Tillys part-time

    Pros

    Good environment and nice workers

    Cons

    Customers could be very rude

    Tillys2019-08-15
  7. "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tillys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with

    Cons

    Everything else. Upper management is petty and incompetent

    Tillys2019-09-19
  8. "Needs to invest in management training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tillys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team was decent but lacked experienced leadership.

    Cons

    Needed stronger Store Managers with better pay. The company did not reward employees for loyalty especially in an industry with high turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Please invest in leadership training for management, it's desperately needed as the team lacked because of ineffective leadership.

    Tillys2019-08-25
  9. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Tillys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are professional and responsible then this is a great first job. Ability to increase sales and sales goals. management is usually fun and can be friendly as long as you are a good employee. Pay is standard and coworkers are fun

    Cons

    Pay is about minimum wage Hours can be cut short during slow periods

    Tillys2019-08-22
  10. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Tillys part-time

    Pros

    Extra commissions available, especially during the holidays. Store manager at this location is amazing!

    Cons

    Some of the other employees can be over dramatic about their sales numbers.

    Tillys2019-08-07
Found 753 reviews