Time Inc. Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 3 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 of over 1K reviews

3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Time Inc. Chairman and CEO  Steve Lacy (no image)
Steve Lacy
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance at the time(in 95 reviews)

  • "Friendly environment, great benefits, great management(in 57 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They continue to combine magazine staffs and firing(in 38 reviews)

  • "not a lot of transparency from upper management(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits, loved my boss

      25 Aug 2019 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved my boss and was very sad to leave. Had great benefits and some fun perks.

      Cons

      Communication with main office in NY was very difficult. We were in a satellite office and felt left out of planning meetings and discussions on how best to achieve our goals. Certain management teams in NY were not open to criticism and were quick to blame others for their mistakes or miscommunication.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      The best company I worked so far

      3 Sep 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment, great benefits, great management.

      Cons

      So sad it allowed to sell itself to Meredith and as a result of this merge a lot of talented and bright people lost jobs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Contractor, more than 10 years

      I worked at Time Inc. for 19.9 years

      3 Sep 2019 - Associate Director Events Services in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i loved the people that i worked with. Had great benefits and a lot of fun

      Cons

      Communications with head Quarters in Des Moines was very difficult. If i needed management decision when out on an event, i didn't get response. Certain management teams in Des Moines were not open to criticism and were quick to blame others for their mistakes or miscommunication.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Time Inc

      13 Jan 2019 - Ad Sales Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits. Growth opportunities.

      Cons

      Just went through a sale. Things are still settling from all the transition.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Interesting

      26 Jan 2019 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and time off

      Cons

      Company is constantly doing layoffs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I enjoyed my time at Time

      16 Apr 2014 - Information Technology in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits. Work Life balance is excellent. Encouragement of managers to actually use vacation and truly be 'out of the office'. Fun co-workers. They don't expect work to be your life. Free magazines, both in print, online, and on mobile.

      Cons

      The spin-off from Time Warner has introduced a lot of uncertainty. They top brass has all been reshuffled and changed. Which while I think it's a good thing, as things needed to be shaken up, the endless unknowns are difficult.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      Time Inc. offers its employees great benefits and time off. It offers classes, plenty of events from affinity groups, and has a nice cafeteria. But the work culture very much depends on the division or title you work for. I personally have never had to work so hard and such long hours as I have at Time. A lot of smart and capable people work here, and not as much of the snobby consumer mag culture as at other media companies like Conde Nast.

      Cons

      Be prepared to hit the ground running...it's is very much baptism by fire. Also, my personal experience has been that there's so much work to do that I've never managed to use all my vacation in the five years I've worked here. You're also far removed from upper management. I don't think they are in tuned with who does the real groundwork. Also, Time Inc. really likes to tout moving around inside the company, but I personally haven't seen many people leave one division or magazine to move to another.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Can't blame it all on digital

      18 Aug 2015 -  in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High salaries, great benefits, that's about all.

      Cons

      Top management does not have a clue on how to fix the business. Endless cost-cutting and hapless investments that have no chance to substantially improve the business. Not going to make it.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits and work-life balance

      21 Oct 2013 - Research Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and work-life balance. Experience depends largely on your boss and how innovative they are

      Cons

      Declining industry and no vision or energy or around energizing it or exploring new areas. Focused on trying to fix print advertising model instead of looking into new areas

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place but some recent concerns

      3 Feb 2013 -  in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, great brands, some really smart people under certain brands like People. Good work life balance. Talent recognized & promoted. Most teams fun and hard working.

      Cons

      Salary not always competitive, some recent hires at more senior levels are really poor and driving quality workers out. Senior management needs to check in more with its employees who are really at the core of driving business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Time Inc. Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Time Inc.? Share Your Experiences

    Time Inc. logo
    or