Toolstation Employee Reviews about "head office"

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Toolstation Managing Director James Mackenzie
James Mackenzie
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, varied work day, staff discount, progression(in 9 reviews)

  • "20% discount on there products and in travis perkins companies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow(in 17 reviews)

  • "Clocking in, which has now has been abolished in Head office(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "head office"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "No way is this company 3.5 review should be 1 if that"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are none, don't believe the rubbish the head office staff have put on here. Most of their review come from Bridgewater, yes you guessed it HEAD OFFICE.

    Cons

    Surprised this company is still going. Sack you and put your family at risk even though you have not done anything wrong. Regional Directors are just overpaid, glorified nor Retail Managers who have been fast tracked via training.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-02-12

    Toolstation Response

    April 14, 2020Retail Director

    Hello, thank you for your review. It's important that we use platforms such as Glassdoor to listen to both our current and former colleagues to ensure we continue to improve where needed. Some of your comments in your 'Advice to Management' section do concern me and I'd be keen to understand more, please feel free to contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com. Thanks again, Simon

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Gone to the dogs"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount across the Travis Perkins estate. Opportunity to progress if you want to sell your soul. Great opportunity to build rapport with a regular base of customers and overall most are half decent. Growing at an alarming rate, plenty of work where some businesses are slowing down. Holiday increases based on length of service. Christmas is quietest time of the year.

    Cons

    Growing too fast atm which just leads to incompetence often at the expense of stores. Regional Managers often come from within and so are a product of the company (yes men). They manage on average twenty stores (a big reduction from the days of sixty-ish stores). Some are competent but some aren't. If you've been recruited from outside as a manager (rather than being developed from within) expect to suck eggs alot and to stroke the beard of your self serving manager. Head office has gone to pot, everyone is out for themselves, they have stopped caring about the front life staff and are so distant from reality it's painful. They seriously struggle to keep up with the pace that the company is growing. Leadership has changed over the last 2 years and the growing disparity between the different aspects of the business can only be pointed back to those changes. Some poor personnel choices. The culture is changing, they are sending out mixed messages. At the start of the year it was spend spend spend on labour... No longer are we continuously stretched. A new productivity system launched, great. The expectations & demands from stores changed. God forbid you had a warehouse that had a cobweb or a dusty tote though...! However as is typical right now, this was not launched correctly, rushed out & now the message is save save save. Everyone has just recruited & given out new contracts but now we are all overspending. Back to the dark days of running on thin air. They are expecting alot more out of everyone (when they already get alot out of us). Everyone I speak to is at breaking point. People are leaving. The hardest part of the job is not having a voice, trying to challenge the norm is seen as negativity. Everything is changing at the moment, in the past things would be launched in a controlled manner: tested, proof read, fedback, amendments etc. However everything is being rushed out without consideration, it's all a bit unprofessional & very snappy. Open everyday except Xmas day. Check opening hours, some stores expected to open longer with same labour budget as those open less. Personnel above site are untouchable despite clear incompetence, grave error after grave error... yet if we are found to have untidy working warehouse (anything less than hospital level of cleanliness) your days are numbered. You have been warned. A manager at Toolstation is a glorified sales assistant.. I love that aspect of the role but I don't get the time or labour budget to properly coach/develop my team & manage the other aspects.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2019-06-14

    Toolstation Response

    August 15, 2019Retail Director

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It concerns me that you have such negative feelings after working for us for almost 4 years. The great thing about review sites like Glassdoor is that it enables us to understand how are colleagues are feeling and what their frustrations are. We're doing incredibly well in the market and we do have impressive growth which is incredibly exciting and leads to lots of careers opportunties. On the flip side, we know that there are areas that we need to review and improve when it comes to our People. We are totally committed to making Toolstation a really great place to work and our focus is on taking the best parts of what's made us so successful and enhancing this with a true focus on getting things right for our colleagues. If you do have any other thoughts as to what we can look into please do contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com. Thanks once again, Simon

  3. Helpful (3)

    "For people that want a career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay once you start to make movement. Flexible hours to suit most needs. Great exchange rules to avoid issues with customers. RDP program to build a career. Great managers that listen. Higher ups that are generally fair. New bonus scheme that really buts a spring in wallet.

    Cons

    Days can be tough especially with sickness amongst staff. Lots more footfall in stores as business grows, but not enough new hours being distributed to cover these issues and some stores seeing standards slip. Managers don’t make too many decisions in store as head office seem to apply these. As ideas that can make a difference have to be vetted first. Needs to be more green.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2019-05-04

    Toolstation Response

    August 15, 2019Retail Director

    Hi, thanks for the great review. You're right when you say the business is booming, it's an incredibly exciting time to be working here! And as you say, that growth means lots of opportunity. You raise some valid points and I am glad that you can see a long term career with us. There are a lot of areas you have covered in your review, and we are aware that we have a number of areas we need to evaluate. We can't do everything over night, but we are working hard to take the best bits of Toolstation and keep enhancing them whilst improving the areas we haven't always got right. Please do keep your feedback coming if there is anything else please do let me know at glassdoor@toolstation.com. Thanks again, and I hope to see you in the future. Simon

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Head Office Pen Pusher"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time

    Pros

    None I can think of

    Cons

    The problem you have in Head Office is that too many people who were there at the start are now in managerial jobs because they have been there the longest despite being some of the most untalented and deeply unpleasant individuals it has been my misfortune to work with. They are only concerned in having self minded individuals in their gang with them and if you are not your life is made a misery. New talent is often wasted due to the fact that to challenge the norm is unacceptable to these people even if it is to improve the performance of individuals who are in way over their heads. Challenge of any kind results in them covering each others backs so that their ineptitude can remain hidden and they remain in their cushy management or supervisory roles and by working with hr to find ways to get you out of the business before others higher up the chain start asking the same difficult questions as you. The company is rotten to its core and needs a major intervention to root out the talentless wonders and bring in a senior management team who will put the welfare of all of its workers head office and stores first rather than have the self servicing talentless wonders look after themselves and not care about anyone else. Store colleagues are treated by the majority of head office as nobodies who should be worked to a frazzle for minimum wage and treated like second class citizens whilst head office individuals reap all of the rewards. A perfect example is that head office staff can have fully paid sick leave for a number of weeks whilst store staff get ssp and nothing for the first 3 days. Very Orwellian as some of us are more equal than others in the Toolstation Head Office. Good luck if you accept a role here as its highly likely you won't remain there long as it's not a great place to work.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2019-04-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "New Age slavery"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible Rita’s if you have good manager

    Cons

    Head office politics, Unfair and unequal treatments, racism

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2019-03-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Colleague turnover rate vs Colleague benefits / Salary"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s clear that most colleagues I’ve encountered in the organisation are keen on the idea that it is a fast growing company and there seems to be opportunity to progress. There is a great deal of good hard working people in this company that want to succeed.. The service levels from some of the stores, warehouse and head office are outstanding. There are opportunities for individuals to JOIN a new growing company.

    Cons

    The colleague turnover rate is astounding even though this has drastically improved over the last 3 years. However there is no continuity in management due to the expansion or follow through in their decisions. Sudden changes during the year in terms sales or contracted hours leaves much to be desired. It’s sends a mixed message to all that decisions we’re not thought through clearly. The rapid growth leads to a few inevitable negative consequences. - Undeliverable targets for stores nearby newly opened stores, - continuous travelling of colleagues to cover new store which disrupts the settled stores. - Colleagues being overlooked by an ever changing store supervisors, managers or Regionsl managers .

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2018-10-22

    Toolstation Response

    October 24, 2018Retail Director

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. There are some real positives in your review. It's great to hear that you see that there are lots of opportunities, hard working colleagues and outstanding service levels. There are obviously some other less positive aspects to your review surrounding labour turnover, expectations and hourly rates/benefits. I'll start with labour turnover, which is a huge area of focus for us as a business as we recognise that our people are integral to the success of Toolstation. There's a lot of work going on in Retail to help reduce LTO and you're correct when you say it has improved over the last three years. However, what I am really proud to say is that since really focusing on this as a key measure, we have managed to reduce it by +10% since January. We admit that we haven't always got things right, and we still have and always will have areas in which we can improve - but we are very much on the right track and I hope that you will see the impact of this yourself. Pay and hours is something that we do get feedback on. Hours in store are directly related to the sales level within store and are affected when we have colleagues on holiday or absent. We're currently reviewing the feasibility of a new labour model for 2019 to reduce the impact of this. We're also looking to allocate hours based on the number of customers served to help those stores that have very high footfall. The great news is that as we grow our sales we can increase our staffing levels as well as increasing pay and benefits which is another aspect we are reviewing for 2019. I will also be setting up colleague listening groups as we continue to improve our levels of communication which I do hope you'll be able to be a part of. I see that you are still working for us, if you do have any other specific feedback that you would like to share with me please feel free to contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com. Thank you again for your review, it's really important to me that I understand how the store colleagues are feeling to ensure that we can continue to improve. Simon

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Majority of Staff Unhappy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    20% Discount is generous & works for Wickes/Travis Perkins too Job itself is easy Some of the regular customers are nice Work can be fun with the team, however it is hard to stay motivated

    Cons

    Blue slips... the regular customers do not want them... stop moaning at us to give them out on every order Area manager clearly has his favourite stores/brown nose store managers Head office seem to think the staff want new badges to recognise 1 year & 3 year service - this is a waste of time and money I won't be wearing mine Most of the customers are rude Very little recognition for the extra work you do to improve your store Majority of store managers are complete idiots Very very understaffed - our store takes at least double the money some other stores do, on the same amount of staff hours Hourly wage is as low as they can get away with Hourly wage barely increases for promotions Stores themselves are not very nice places to be - way too hot in summer, way too cold in winter, just generally dirty Due to low staff hours there is literally no time to make big changes to the stores (re arranging racking for example) so the whole place just remains pretty much the same Till system is really dated and needs improving Audit team talk to you like you're a suspected criminal, we all work for the same company just be polite maybe? Working hours vary from early starts to late finishes in the same week

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2018-09-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, a big company that is retaining its family values. Good work culture and great people. A growing business that values and invests in its staff. A agile business where an emlpoyee can still influence their departments positively.

    Cons

    Clocking in, which has now has been abolished in Head office.

    Toolstation2018-09-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid like the plague"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Wimbledon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good customers as most are trade Can have a good instore team Can be easy work and sometimes there is very little to do. After working here, your next jobs will seem even better

    Cons

    There are lots of cons. The main one for me was my manager told me to kill myself after I told the company I was depressed, but I am in the wrong Very poor head office who do not care about you very unsafe delivery cages audit team are very rude Investigations are unstop and Toolstation have already got their outcome before they start it. They make other companies look like saints

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2017-05-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    1.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Supervisor in Ruislip, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation

    Pros

    Not available, 10% staff discount. Unpaid breaks. Not enough place to relax. Expected to more hours than paid hours.

    Cons

    Too much work. Manager is not professional, but head office do nothing when complain.

    Toolstation2017-04-26
Found 17 reviews