Toolstation Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Toolstation Managing Director James Mackenzie
James Mackenzie
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, varied work day, staff discount, progression(in 9 reviews)

  • "20% discount on there products and in travis perkins companies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow(in 17 reviews)

  • "Clocking in, which has now has been abolished in Head office(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Unfortunately not there just yet"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression is quite often available (may also be a bad thing) and the company will help you get there. Good staff discount as it includes Wickes , Travis Perkins and others Quite an easy job all round but a little tedious Slow improvements are being made towards employees and the company is starting to listen to what people want. Most people within the business are genuinely helpful and pleasant to work with and it is not a problem to call other stores, departments or even a regional manager.

    Cons

    As progression is often available, this comes down to staff turnover - Its very very high! As said improvements are being made, but there is a long way to go. The company runs on the minimal amount of staff required, if somebody is on holiday and/or sick then someone has to draw the short straw and work unreasonable hours. By this I mean working without a break, working on your day off, getting multiple phone calls or messages on your day off, getting multiple calls or messages whilst on HOLIDAY?! Now that the stores are open until 8pm, this means that many of us will now have to work 13.5 hour shifts and again, quite often, without a break. This is not acceptable! We are not rewarded for this type of work. I personally enjoy a tough and challenging day but I want to be REWARDED for it. I am bored of being expected to "help" out but this is not returned. Why are we expected to cover other stores out of the goodness of our hearts when we lose 2 hours of OUR time travelling. When are you going to "help" us out? Rotas are given 4 weeks in advance but they are likely to change any moment and without notice. I have much more to add but I think this will cover a lot of how I and others feel

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-01-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Bamber Bridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, varied work day, staff discount, progression

    Cons

    As like all retail Weekends and evenings can be a pain.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2019-03-12

    Toolstation Response

    August 15, 2019Retail Director

    Hello, what a fabulous review thank you so much for taking the time to give us the feedback it really is appreciated. I'm so happy to hear that you're seeing the efforts made across the board to make Toolstation a really great place to work. We pride ourselves on our development programmes and career opportunities and really want people to build a career with us, not just have a job. We're on a really exciting journey with tremendous accelerated growth and a huge focus on getting things right for our people and I'm pleased that you'll be a part of that journey with us. Thanks once again, and I hope to see you soon. Simon Retail Director

  3. Helpful (2)

    "‘An Apalling Year & It’s getting worse’"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff Discount and the colleagues you work with

    Cons

    Hours set so low you have minimum people on shift that struggle to get the day to day jobs done or the bare minimum. Colleagues expected to work without breaks or dinners. 2 working on a Sunday so how do you get a break or dinner. Poor selection and induction process. Poor and outdated in house training programme R.D.P. Poor infrastructure and outdated till system that constantly crashes. Over promoted regional managers and Directors. Unrealistic targets set that have changed throughout the year. Poor delivery service. Not a great place to work or buy I’m afraid.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2018-09-19
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Shocking treatment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Perth, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers, some colleagues, staff discount

    Cons

    No breaks even though you get that deducted from wages.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2018-05-02

    Toolstation Response

    August 8, 2018Interim Retail Director

    Hello, thanks for your review, it's important that we hear all feedback as without it we can't work to improve, and I'm dedicated to making sure Toolstation is a great environment to work in. I know we haven't always got it right and I am working hard to listen to our team both past and present, but your specific feedback is concerning and I'd really like to understand more behind it so please feel free to contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com so I can look into it further. Thanks again, Simon

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    1.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Supervisor in Ruislip, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation

    Pros

    Not available, 10% staff discount. Unpaid breaks. Not enough place to relax. Expected to more hours than paid hours.

    Cons

    Too much work. Manager is not professional, but head office do nothing when complain.

    Toolstation2017-04-26
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Don't believe everything you're told."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uniform supplied, first aid training given to key-holding staff members, regular customers, easy systems, basic job roles easy, staff discount.

    Cons

    Overtime is expected of you, teams are too small to be able to function with vacancies/sickness/holiday, high expectations for minimal pay, pay brackets do not reflect the job roles, awful upper management: goal posts are constantly changed and if your face doesn't fit you will be bullied out. If you are thinking of employment with Toolstation, don't expect that hard work, dedication and high performance will gain you any promotions or opportunities. To gain that , threaten to leave, make a million mistakes and under perform. You will be forced to remember a ton of processes that your are told to enforce, but the contact centre will constantly undermine that and make you look an idiot for following the rules. Remember, you are just a number on payroll.. not a person.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2016-09-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "DO NOT MAKE A MISTAKE. YOU WILL BE MADE TO FEEL WORTHLESS! AVOID AT ALL COSTS"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent holiday, guaranteed 40 hours per week, staff discount. That's it really no positive pros at all, there's nothing worth shouting about

    Cons

    Where do I start??? The best bit of advice I can give anyone is DO NOT MAKE A MISTAKE, THEY WILL SACK YOU!! Very very short staffed, they do not give you the manpower to run a store effectively! You have to travel half way around the country if you want any decent training course. RD's and Auditors speak down to you every day, you go home feeling like you have failed every day. You have a week off and you hear about work ALL day EVERY day!! The percentage in staff turnover is shocking, if your face does not fit you will get bullied out. I get home from work approx 8pm at night and be expected to leave for work again at 6am the following morning. No pay rises for store managers, all supervisors are slowly creeping up! Was dumped from a supervisor to Store Manager with no training or support, just severely told off if anything went wrong. The list is endless. They are an awful company to work for, SLAVE LABOUR!!

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2016-04-16

    Toolstation Response

    August 25, 2016Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Sorry your experience has not been a positive one. We do have high expectations but our Retail Development Programme has been very successful in supporting colleagues from Supervisor to Manager. If you would like to talk to someone please raise your concerns with HR and we will work with you to sort out any issues.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Plenty of opportunity - they love to promote from within. Started as supervisor and was promoted to manager in 6 months."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Branch Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation for more than a year

    Pros

    FTSE 100 company, opening new stores constantly, lots of opportunity for promotion, good store environment, great relationship with customers, small teams that look out for each other, RDP aka Retail Development Programme which trains people within the company and helps them achiever promotion, Sharesave scheme available, staff discount, yearly bonus etc,

    Cons

    Pay is in line with other retail jobs i.e. low, can often be high pressure, small teams means low hours, very strict in terms of following procedure and company policy,

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2016-02-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some nice customers, 6 weeks holiday, staff discount, some good co-workers

    Cons

    Low pay, unrealistic expectations, over worked and under staffed, petty expectations from RM's and RD's, rude customers, lazy co-workers, self important co-workers, no time to take full lunch break,

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2015-10-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews