Toolstation Employee Reviews about "travis perkins"

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Toolstation Managing Director James Mackenzie
James Mackenzie
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, varied work day, staff discount, progression(in 9 reviews)

  • "20% discount on there products and in travis perkins companies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow(in 17 reviews)

  • "Clocking in, which has now has been abolished in Head office(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "travis perkins"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Unfortunately not there just yet"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression is quite often available (may also be a bad thing) and the company will help you get there. Good staff discount as it includes Wickes , Travis Perkins and others Quite an easy job all round but a little tedious Slow improvements are being made towards employees and the company is starting to listen to what people want. Most people within the business are genuinely helpful and pleasant to work with and it is not a problem to call other stores, departments or even a regional manager.

    Cons

    As progression is often available, this comes down to staff turnover - Its very very high! As said improvements are being made, but there is a long way to go. The company runs on the minimal amount of staff required, if somebody is on holiday and/or sick then someone has to draw the short straw and work unreasonable hours. By this I mean working without a break, working on your day off, getting multiple phone calls or messages on your day off, getting multiple calls or messages whilst on HOLIDAY?! Now that the stores are open until 8pm, this means that many of us will now have to work 13.5 hour shifts and again, quite often, without a break. This is not acceptable! We are not rewarded for this type of work. I personally enjoy a tough and challenging day but I want to be REWARDED for it. I am bored of being expected to "help" out but this is not returned. Why are we expected to cover other stores out of the goodness of our hearts when we lose 2 hours of OUR time travelling. When are you going to "help" us out? Rotas are given 4 weeks in advance but they are likely to change any moment and without notice. I have much more to add but I think this will cover a lot of how I and others feel

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-01-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Gone to the dogs"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount across the Travis Perkins estate. Opportunity to progress if you want to sell your soul. Great opportunity to build rapport with a regular base of customers and overall most are half decent. Growing at an alarming rate, plenty of work where some businesses are slowing down. Holiday increases based on length of service. Christmas is quietest time of the year.

    Cons

    Growing too fast atm which just leads to incompetence often at the expense of stores. Regional Managers often come from within and so are a product of the company (yes men). They manage on average twenty stores (a big reduction from the days of sixty-ish stores). Some are competent but some aren't. If you've been recruited from outside as a manager (rather than being developed from within) expect to suck eggs alot and to stroke the beard of your self serving manager. Head office has gone to pot, everyone is out for themselves, they have stopped caring about the front life staff and are so distant from reality it's painful. They seriously struggle to keep up with the pace that the company is growing. Leadership has changed over the last 2 years and the growing disparity between the different aspects of the business can only be pointed back to those changes. Some poor personnel choices. The culture is changing, they are sending out mixed messages. At the start of the year it was spend spend spend on labour... No longer are we continuously stretched. A new productivity system launched, great. The expectations & demands from stores changed. God forbid you had a warehouse that had a cobweb or a dusty tote though...! However as is typical right now, this was not launched correctly, rushed out & now the message is save save save. Everyone has just recruited & given out new contracts but now we are all overspending. Back to the dark days of running on thin air. They are expecting alot more out of everyone (when they already get alot out of us). Everyone I speak to is at breaking point. People are leaving. The hardest part of the job is not having a voice, trying to challenge the norm is seen as negativity. Everything is changing at the moment, in the past things would be launched in a controlled manner: tested, proof read, fedback, amendments etc. However everything is being rushed out without consideration, it's all a bit unprofessional & very snappy. Open everyday except Xmas day. Check opening hours, some stores expected to open longer with same labour budget as those open less. Personnel above site are untouchable despite clear incompetence, grave error after grave error... yet if we are found to have untidy working warehouse (anything less than hospital level of cleanliness) your days are numbered. You have been warned. A manager at Toolstation is a glorified sales assistant.. I love that aspect of the role but I don't get the time or labour budget to properly coach/develop my team & manage the other aspects.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2019-06-14

    Toolstation Response

    August 15, 2019Retail Director

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It concerns me that you have such negative feelings after working for us for almost 4 years. The great thing about review sites like Glassdoor is that it enables us to understand how are colleagues are feeling and what their frustrations are. We're doing incredibly well in the market and we do have impressive growth which is incredibly exciting and leads to lots of careers opportunties. On the flip side, we know that there are areas that we need to review and improve when it comes to our People. We are totally committed to making Toolstation a really great place to work and our focus is on taking the best parts of what's made us so successful and enhancing this with a true focus on getting things right for our colleagues. If you do have any other thoughts as to what we can look into please do contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com. Thanks once again, Simon

  3. Helpful (8)

    "Majority of Staff Unhappy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    20% Discount is generous & works for Wickes/Travis Perkins too Job itself is easy Some of the regular customers are nice Work can be fun with the team, however it is hard to stay motivated

    Cons

    Blue slips... the regular customers do not want them... stop moaning at us to give them out on every order Area manager clearly has his favourite stores/brown nose store managers Head office seem to think the staff want new badges to recognise 1 year & 3 year service - this is a waste of time and money I won't be wearing mine Most of the customers are rude Very little recognition for the extra work you do to improve your store Majority of store managers are complete idiots Very very understaffed - our store takes at least double the money some other stores do, on the same amount of staff hours Hourly wage is as low as they can get away with Hourly wage barely increases for promotions Stores themselves are not very nice places to be - way too hot in summer, way too cold in winter, just generally dirty Due to low staff hours there is literally no time to make big changes to the stores (re arranging racking for example) so the whole place just remains pretty much the same Till system is really dated and needs improving Audit team talk to you like you're a suspected criminal, we all work for the same company just be polite maybe? Working hours vary from early starts to late finishes in the same week

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2018-09-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Bury-Crewe please avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Bury, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good teams in the stores, Travis Perkins discount card. Regular customers/Tradesmen. Easy job if you can put up with the management

    Cons

    RDP management course waste of time, Higher management is a boys club, Want you to be a robot. Too many procedures( Pick up a pen )

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2018-02-20
  5. "Excellent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for the company gives you really good benefits. 20% discount on there products and in travis perkins companies. The staff are also really tight nit and are good to work with and customers are brilliant and you can really have a laugh with them. And as I'm under 18 they pay £7.05ph which is good for my age.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2017-09-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Retail Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation

    Pros

    If you are clicky with senior management then they will make your working life as best as possible to suit your needs. Company benefits are really good. Being part of Travis Perkins you get discount across the group with a simple discount card. Career progression can be real quick even within a matter of months if you are dedicated enough and have a passion for hard work.

    Cons

    No work life balance at all. They expect you to work 14 hour shifts without getting paid for it and not getting the time back in lieu ! They don't even thank you for it because it's expected of your job role. People are snidy ! Beware of un-expected visits and the snidy little reports that they will not tell you to your face. Instead they will send to senior management and of course cause problems. Such a backward way of actually being human and realising what drives a person to do well. They have no idea. Timelines and guidlines to get the job done is un-realistic due to stretched staffing resources and very very long processes. Deliveries are not set and can change which will put a dent on planned staff resources to get the delivery put away and booked on to sell to customers. Systems have no flexibilty to track erros in delivery or processing erros. So if there is an item that is out of stock or missing it's very time consuming and totally impossible to see the error. Often it's a no result and you will get investigated for not doing your job. Staff are stretched to the limit of exhaustion with no gratitude or thanks and even time back to recover cos staff are stretched already - humans are not robots ! If a person calls in sick or is late then it totally throws off the pre-planned day which can cause alot of issues which they will class as gross mis-conduct ! Senior management are snidy and rude ! They just look out for themselves and actully don't care about the people that make the company !

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2017-01-28
  7. ""Alright" Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation

    Pros

    Good working team Discount from Travis Perkins group

    Cons

    Long hours for not much pay

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2016-05-05

    Toolstation Response

    August 25, 2016Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Toolstation is growing extremely fast which means we have to constantly evolve and adapt. We want to make Toolstation a great place to work so we regularly review what we do to ensure colleagues and customers are happy. If you have any concerns about your employment please contact HR and we will work with you to sort out any issues.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, still growing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fanstastic progress, for willing individuals and development programmes, on the RDP,for aspiring managers, good rate of pay, good opening hours. Growing company, good perks where they are owned by Travis Perkins. Will keep jobs simple, not to over complicated things so more time with customers.

    Cons

    Tight on staff hours, so it only requires one person to go ill and your expected to cover the shop, no matter weither you have plans or not. No training given, so customers enter wanting advice, and we only have basic information

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2016-04-15

    Toolstation Response

    August 25, 2016Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We budget very carefully to strike balance between being efficient and offering both our colleagues and our customers a great experience. If you have any concerns about your employment please contact us directly.

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews