Transamerica Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Transamerica Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Transamerica CEO Mark W. Mullin
Mark W. Mullin
397 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Constant changes in upper management(in 37 reviews)

  • "Very low pay for the industry - small companies pay more at initial hire(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent job, poor team culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transamerica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Culture is lacking; managers not focused on supporting employees

    Transamerica2019-11-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transamerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow within company

    Cons

    Below average pay and management

    Transamerica2019-11-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "So big, it all depends of where/who you work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Business Analyst in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transamerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty relaxed atmosphere for a place so corporate.

    Cons

    1 week contractor furlough over Thanksgiving, and 3 week contractor furlough over Christmas.

    Transamerica2019-10-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good company but problems with management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office in downtown Denver is nice. Many community outreach and volunteer programs to participate in. Great view from 52nd floor break room. Relaxed environment and they try their best to boost employee morale with employee appreciation days and catered food, etc, on occasion. Lots of nice people and they are willing to train and give you chance to learn new things and build your resume

    Cons

    There is a sever problem with upper management and the decisions they make. This instability and chaos trickles down and creates an unstable work environment. I have been working for 20 years and never have seen attrition like I have at TA. It sucks because a lot of talented, nice people get fed up with the environment and leave.

    Advice to Management

    I didn't know enough of the details about what was going on with upper management, but when you have good people quitting without having another job in place or people willing to return their sign-on bonuses just to leave, that speaks volumes. Gather upper management in a room, burn some sage, and really show concern about the attrition and maybe reduce the chaotic energy that is flowing from the top downwards.

    Transamerica2019-10-26
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice and caring people to work with.

    Cons

    It was Commission only, not salary!

    Transamerica2019-10-23
  6. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Plan Specialist 

    I have been working at Transamerica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leads given to you. Decent pay for what we do.

    Cons

    Call center environment. Hard to get promoted.

    Transamerica2019-10-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Job is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Transamerica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people can be a fun environment

    Cons

    Pay is way to low the throw multiple job titles on yo with no raises getting time off approved is nearly impossible No room at all for advancing

    Advice to Management

    Manage workforce better pay employees what they deserve

    Transamerica2019-10-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good people, management is hit and miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good competent work force.

    Cons

    Big company with somewhat cumbersome bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    You have some great people that really want to do a good job. Could do with a little less politics in the work environment.

    Transamerica2019-09-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Resonse to “lost”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Awesome co-workers nice location.

    Cons

    Seems to be a common occurrence to close locations, lay-off all the employees and nobody left to train or transition the work. Its happened to at least 3 locations that I know of. I guess no lessons are learned here.

    Advice to Management

    Management 101. Offer relocation so the work transitions properly. Be proactive not reactive.

    Transamerica2019-10-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on the manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Analyst in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Transamerica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere in the office. Benefits are ok, trying to keep up with the times.

    Cons

    Losing business because it took too long to become up to date with technology and the changes in the industry. High amount of turnover based mostly on treatment of long standing employees by mid management. Losing business and not working fast enough to come up with new, competitive products.

    Advice to Management

    Management should trust their long standing employees and not micromanage them and treat them like elementary schoolers.

    Transamerica2019-10-10
Found 1047 reviews