Travel Counsellors Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Travel Counsellors Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Travel Counsellors CEO Steve Byrne
Steve Byrne
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good management but only at the higher corporate level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travel Counsellors

    Pros

    All benefits provided are to mask the serious old school work culture. All non technical staff were made project managers and these managers seek pleasure in micro managing and criticising your work (criticism is worth it, but only when it comes from people who can walk the walk, not just talk the talk) Recruiters sell you all the benefits as something of a big deal but remember they are offering all these benefits...

    Show More

    Cons

    Read the pros section Again, can’t warn you enough

    Advice to Management

    Lead title does not translate to “the right to bully others”. Developers are not royalty, so stop treating them like one. Remember they are still with you because no one else will put up with that attitude.

    Travel Counsellors2019-05-17
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travel Counsellors full-time

    Pros

    Having come from a corporate background Travel Counsellors is a refreshing change. Staff are empowered to be innovative and make a positive change. Leadership and direction is clear and defined. It feels like a family rather than a job.

    Cons

    Is fast paced and can be a culture shock for some

    Travel Counsellors2019-04-27
  3. "We are on a journey - together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travel Counsellors full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Beautiful offices, with open spaces which enables collaboration between departments. Autonomy for managing my own day and trusted to make decisions. Work/Home life balance; up to 2 WFH days per week and flexibility within core hours of working day. CEO has a strong vision of where he wants to take the company. Senior Management / Directors are very approachable - very much an open door policy. Great benefits including...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is on a journey - it isn't perfect but is keen to implement new policies / strategies to further improve and make it an even better place to work. - Lack of Performance related pay / bonus - Currently there is no staff travel / concession scheme / discounts - Holiday entitlement / sick/ Maternity in need of review - Mixed culture; alignment between key leaders and working within some areas of the business

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work you are doing. We are oceans apart from the business I joined 4+ years ago and all changes have been for the better.

    Travel Counsellors2019-04-12
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travel Counsellors full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Hold a lot of responsibility to make the right decisions and trust is put in you to make choices within your expertise. - Great atmosphere to work in, the interview process included a personality test so they only hire people that will fit into the company and share that ethos of the company - Very flexible working, couple days from home and flexible core hours really help out with a family at home. - Offices...

    Show More

    Cons

    - The location requires you to drive. Trafford park is not well connected by public transport. - Paternity leave is only the bare legal minimum but I understand this is something being looked at.

    Travel Counsellors2019-04-11
  5. "Head Office member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travel Counsellors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic induction PDP plans for all Great team culture, everyone is lovely and welcoming Excellent benefits package including a Wellness app

    Cons

    None that I have come across so far! Its a fast paced business, everyone works hard and is proactive. If that's not for you then this wont be the right place.

    Travel Counsellors2019-04-12
  6. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travel Counsellors full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The people, the culture, the opportunity for development

    Cons

    So far I am yet to experience any

    Advice to Management

    The more disruptive we can be the better, keep striving to break the mold.

    Travel Counsellors2019-04-12
  7. "You get what you give"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travel Counsellors full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    A company who is striving to be entrepreneurial with big growth plans, lots of opportunity and a real family atmosphere with everyone getting along. Opportunity comes to those who work hard and show their commitment to their role and the future of the business.

    Cons

    The company is still on a journey from private ownership to now having investors and everyone is on a journey to change to a growth mindset. Sometimes blockers hinder rapid growth in terms of management and this can be frustrating - but everyone is working towards a better future.

    Advice to Management

    Directors to relinquish more power to the managers or employ more senior managers to work on the day to day decisions to see the growth we are all working for.

    Travel Counsellors2019-04-11
  8. "On the whole a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travel Counsellors full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, on the whole people are good to work with, friendly and approachable CEO. Made some great friends working at TC

    Cons

    No structure in certain departments, questionable attitude towards staff from head of department, 4th and 5th floor divide prevalent. Some people still stuck in the Bolton mindset, think TC is the be and all end all and can’t ever understand why anyone would want to leave. There are better things out there!

    Advice to Management

    Sort the atmosphere on floor 4

    Travel Counsellors2019-03-12

    Travel Counsellors Response

    April 11, 2019HR Advisor

    Thanks so much for the feedback and we're glad to hear you've made some great friends whilst working at Travel Counsellors. Our business is powered by people and relationships are at the core of who we are so we are delighted your colleague experience has had a positive impact in ...

    Show More
  9. "Caring, fun, great atmosphere and plenty of benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travel Counsellors full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, nice office environment and lovely team. Excellent benefits package proves the business really cares for its staff. In fact "Care" is the principle behind everything the business does. Real people centred ethos and a quite laid back attitude. Organised and methodical with an Agile development approach, flexible hours and ability to working from home.

    Cons

    Could have more structured objectives for staff to aim for.

    Travel Counsellors2018-11-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Cult like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Travel Counsellors full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Whilst working you have a great team of other consultants who will help.

    Cons

    No guidance for new comers. Bullies for directors etc. Lack of head office support. Everyone complains to each other but will not speak out to management as too scared of being singled out. They feel one size fits all approach and you work incredibly long hours for little reward.

    Advice to Management

    Listen you don’t know it all. Far from it.

    Travel Counsellors2018-11-11
Found 28 reviews