Treasury Wine Estates Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Treasury Wine Estates Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Treasury Wine Estates Chief Executive Office (CEO) Michael Clarke
Michael Clarke
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great brands, beautiful office in Oakland, leaders of the wine industry, good development opportunities(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with - very helpful and supportive(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "I find it incredible that senior management have called the shared service centre transition a success when it has been anything but a disaster(in 18 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn't care about the people who are out there, effectively selling their brands to winery guests every day(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, collaborative culture, great wines

    Cons

    Hierarchical at times and huge workload

    Treasury Wine Estates2020-01-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great business, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and work life balance.

    Cons

    Ambiguous direction and lack of decision making.

    Treasury Wine Estates2019-12-11
  3. "Not a desirable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thinking of good things to say.....wine discount, maybe?

    Cons

    Serious mismanagement. High turnover, Low morale, Re-orgs and layoffs are norm for this company. Lacks respect and care for its people.

    Continue reading
    Treasury Wine Estates2019-12-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - European Marketing Director & Regional Manager Nordics in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Category, The People, The Brands

    Cons

    Smallest Region So Sometimes Forgotten Limited Investment

    Continue reading
    Treasury Wine Estates2019-11-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good working conditions but not a place to get results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Marketing in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many of the people are lovely. Work conditions in the Australian office are good.

    Cons

    Long-lead times and many hands involved in marketing campaigns mean you are rewarded for perceived work rate (starting things) rather than end results. A campaign can be 18 months in the making and go through many hands. Also the CEO makes a lot of captains calls, so don't expect data driven decision making. Finally, the CEO really wants strong regional divisions and a global team that serve their needs. A HR person said to me they often rely on 'global' in titles to attract people while knowing that global marketing team actually have a lot less influence than in equivalent companies. Influence building is very much through personal relationships which are typically best built by overseas postings - so this takes years to build. These are all cons for me personally, but for a different personality type they could be pluses.

    Continue reading
    Treasury Wine Estates2019-11-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Absolute lack of care for understanding employee well being"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fast decision making and good systems

    Cons

    high turnover rate, poor leadership and an absolute lack of care for understanding employee well being

    Continue reading
    Treasury Wine Estates2019-11-06
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Twickenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great atmosphere in the office and a fun team. HR are supportive and always looking for ways to improve - regular whole office training, guest speakers, feedback is always welcome, health and well being and social committees who can actually make a difference etc. Very flexible with working hours/working from home. Great staff allowance of free wine plus frequent extras. Fun office parties and away days.

    Cons

    frequent restructures can make it feel a little uneasy about who will be leaving next.

    Treasury Wine Estates2019-10-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Prepare to work like a dog with no recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Twickenham, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Treasury Wine Estates full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues (with a few notable exceptions), sometimes interesting work and good benefits

    Cons

    Due to the recent organisational restructure and the introduction of a Shared Service Centre in India, many people in the European office have been laid off with probably more redundancies to come, leading to a lot of uncertainty. However, the projects and new initiatives are coming in thick and fast, so staff are expected to deliver more but with far fewer resources and the “support” of a shared service centre that creates more work and stress rather than reduces it, as a result of their complete lack of care and (dare I say it) competence. I find it incredible that senior management have called the shared service centre transition a success when it has been anything but a disaster. What planet are they living on? Trying talking to the troops on the ground (i.e. the people doing the actual work) before reaching such a conclusion. It doesn’t help that my line manager doesn’t provide any recognition or appreciation for the sheer effort I put in day after day with frequent weekend working. It would be nice if my manager actually responded to my emails every now and again, or even simply acknowledge my existence - that would be a start. I find it incredibly unfair that for some people, working 12 hour days are normal just to keep their head above water (which is taken for granted) whilst some people are in on time and leave the office on the dot like clockwork. Either I’m incredibly inefficient or there is a very uneven distribution of work - I strongly suspect the latter!! I think a new job in the new year beckons just to preserve my health and my sanity.

    Continue reading
    Treasury Wine Estates2019-11-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Learn and let live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Guide in Napa, CA

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a good place to get your feet wet and learn a little bit about everything there is to know about wine -- both the product and industry -- but if you're looking to build a career it can be challenging to navigate the corporate atmosphere versus a family-owned environment.

    Cons

    Again the layers of bureaucracy and lack of transparency can feel stunting to those who are looking to grow.

    Continue reading
    Treasury Wine Estates2019-10-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "TWE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Treasury Wine Estates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Products, new office in a great location

    Cons

    Lots of structure change with minimal communication from management.

    Treasury Wine Estates2019-09-04
Found 302 reviews