Twitch "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Twitch Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 23 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Twitch CEO Emmett Shear (no image)
Emmett Shear
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have great perks and benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • "And the work/life balance is pretty good, people rarely work nights or weekends on my team at least(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Still some growing pains from being a growth focused startup to a more mature company(in 13 reviews)

  • "Because of mandates from upper management pushing a product or idea because they think it will drive minutes(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Don't join for data science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Engineers are well-treated at Twitch. The perks are great; we're a little spoiled, frankly. In-house kitchen with hot food for breakfast/lunch/dinner, stocked mini-kitchens, gaming arcade, broadcasting rooms, Friday happy hour. The work-life balance is *chef's kiss*. The office generally populates by 11 am and people head out at 6. Amazon stock is a handy part of compensation.

    Cons

    Data scientists (different from analysts) have it the worst here. The interviews are rigorous, demanding knowledge of causal inference, statistics, experimentation, and modeling. If you accept the offer, they plonk you down and make you fix data quality issues and build dashboards for the next few years. It's utterly flabbergasting how much talent is over-hired and simply wasted at Twitch. This culture comes from decisions made by inexperienced management. Twitch is not data-driven in the slightest, as anyone who has worked in other companies will attest. Data science leaders at Twitch get hired from academia and tend to have no industry experience. This has led to several toxic manager-and-skip-level combinations. The career path for data scientists is non-existent, if not outright negative (managers have been demoted). If you pass the hiring bar, you certainly have the talent to get an offer from someplace that takes data science seriously. Run the other way, and don't look back. There is a reason that a dozen data science/analyst/engineer people (out of about 40 to start with) have left in recent months. Things are not getting better here, and opportunities are better elsewhere. For analysts: there are no analyst career paths here, either. There is no L7 analyst at Twitch. But at least they are explicitly matched to the work they are hired to do. Analysts are happier on average.

    Twitch2019-10-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Very good tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Twitch is my third gig in SF / SV and I have numerous other data points from others in my network. I'd say Twitch is top 10% at _least_ among established bay area tech companies. Pay's strong if not top of class, talent is great on eng and product, office and work/life balance great as well. Engineering brand isn't what it should be given the talent, but there's some reason for that: lack of CTO, open source contributions, tech marketing. Product brand is strong at least among gaming enthusiasts.

    Cons

    Like any other top tech company, people complain about the smallest things.

    Continue reading
    Twitch2018-10-12
  3. "Challenging, sustainable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    - Challenging and fast-paced environment - Work-life balance, flexibility - Great food - Tight-knit company and fans

    Cons

    - Reorgs seem to be arbitrary

    Twitch2018-10-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    - Best Culture of anywhere I've worked at. Our values mean something to everyone. - Control our own hours, work / life balance is pretty good - Management is bold and cares about employee happiness - Some very talented people work here and people love the company.

    Cons

    - Amazon integration is strange.. "Twitch Prime" is more Amazon than Twitch, so is commerce. They're physically located in Seattle with other Amazon teams and they report to someone who works for Amazon and not Twitch. The rest of the company is 100% Twitch and doesn't resemble Amazon at all. - Some long-time 5+ yr leaders are leaving

    Twitch2018-10-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "SO much still to do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    We've only scratched the surface of this esports phenomenon that's taking over the internet. Esports will be bigger than sports, and Twitch is the number one brand in that. Being part of that is awesome. As for actually working at Twitch - most people are smart and willing to help each other out. Office politics aren't really a thing as far as I can tell. If you work hard you'll be rewarded. I feel challenged, but not too much to be overworked. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    There's a different perspective between new employees and people who have been at Twitch for a while. It could be a good thing with diverse perspectives paying off one another but sometimes it devolves into something more tribal.

    Twitch2018-09-10
  6. Helpful (8)

    "It's not just fun and games."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Like so many others, I joined Twitch for Twitch - it's fun, semi-famous people use it, and I love video games, so why not? I've found Twitch is so much more though. It wasn't long before I started to like Twitch for new reasons - intelligent, excited teammates, great technology, and a culture of invention. I've found most people at Twitch to be super helpful and willing to pitch in for one another. I've had several opportunities to raise my hand and suggest something to build, and see it actually get built. I'm paid enough, benefits are solid, great perks like breakfast lunch and dinner in our new office, and work-life balance is pretty good, at least on my team. No complaints.

    Cons

    Seems some teams get a lot harder than others around TwitchCon, so that could be a downside I guess.

    Twitch2018-08-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Great new office, meals included, plus cookies. And the work/life balance is pretty good, people rarely work nights or weekends on my team at least.

    Cons

    Bigger company, less freedom. Comes with the territory.

    Twitch2018-09-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Bigger and Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Twitch used to be this scrappy little startup where everybody did everything, Emmett was friendly and available, and everything moved fast (or so some would have you believe). Then Twitch got bigger, acquired by Amazon, and a bunch of people got upset about it and started complaining about “big company” problems. At this point, we’ve got strong execs, enough structure and stability to enjoy a healthy work-life balance, and a cool website to play with. Life’s good here.

    Cons

    Only real cons are the complainers. They’re mostly on their way out.

    Continue reading
    Twitch2018-08-24
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good work life balance but lower salary compared to competitors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer L5 in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good perks. Complementary food, snacks, juices.. 2. Flexible work from home policy.. 3. Great work culture in many orgs 4. Great work life balance..

    Cons

    1. Salary is lower compared to other competitors in the area. It's difficult to live and work in SF at this salary.. ppl in Seattle get kinda same salary.. if Amazon stock stops appreciating, employees are screwed with such low bar of salary..

    Continue reading
    Twitch2018-03-21
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Not sure where this company is headed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Twitch is a known player in the industry- working here is like a little badge you get to flaunt. There are great perks, that's for sure. Unlimited PTO (depending on your manager), catered meals, snacks, gaming rooms, monthly massage slots, gym gets reimbursed, flexible work hours, holiday break, etc. The company seems to endorse work life balance at first glance. There are a lot of passionate, smart, and hardworking people at the IC level, reminds you what you're capable of doing every once in awhile- wish those people would get recognition more.

    Cons

    Leadership is a mess. Many are not in alignment with each other, and their lack of shared vision (which is a company value) trickles down and affects the people actually carrying out daily work. Leaders and those in managerial or positions of power are quick to blame their teams or other teams. Or they don't own up to their lack of management and leadership skills. Goals don't seem to match up between teams, or even within teams, which makes it confusing to get work done. People with lots of experience but no people or team building skills get promoted into management. Poor communication almost everywhere, makes for a really difficult and frustrating work environment. Almost makes me not have fun with gaming anymore because the work environment turns me off. Also, heard employees get away with unprofessional behavior/misconduct. HR and senior management should pay attention to those issues as well- not just productivity and minutes watched or whatever the next KPI is. I don't think the value and image of working at Twitch is worth dealing with the workplace.

    Twitch2017-11-28
Found 15 reviews