U.S. Army Reserve Employee Reviews about "soldiers"

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
U.S. Army Reserve Chief of Army Reserve Jeffrey W. Talley
Jeffrey W. Talley
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and a great work environment(in 43 reviews)

  • "Ministering is Soldiers and DA Civilians is very rewarding(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Mandatory Training; Combat Deployments; Family Dental Insurance is Horrible(in 45 reviews)

  • "No negative issues it is military(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "soldiers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great way to continue to serve in the Army"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Public Affairs Officer in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Camaraderie and travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Employers often avoid hiring Reserve Soldiers.

    U.S. Army Reserve2020-02-18
  2. "OC/T"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major in New York, NY

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to teach, coach, and mentor Soldiers and staffs as they prepare for deployment.

    Cons

    UA is at BDE, so the branches/detachments don't have a lot of support.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-12-11
  3. "Teamwork Atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prior Enlisted Captain 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teamwork focused Professional work environment My personal and favorite element of military service is putting our Nation before petty politics. If you want to work for an organization that is results-oriented, the Army is the place for you. You can see the effects your hard work has in real-time and you get to learn from the most experienced leaders in the military.

    Cons

    A lot is expected from TPU soldiers, and, without more time than a single weekend, duty becomes sometimes PowerPoint fluffing.

    Continue reading
    U.S. Army Reserve2019-10-12
  4. "88m"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E5 - Army - Sergeant in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Eager soldiers are willing to listen to you.

    Cons

    If you’re coming from Active duty you’re basically going to be doing all the training at the new unit.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-10-04
  5. "Great being a Chaplain in the U.S. Army Reserve!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chaplain 
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ministering is Soldiers and DA Civilians is very rewarding!

    Cons

    Can't come up with any at the moment!

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-07-16
  6. "Army Reserve (AGR)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Personnel Adviser (AGR) 
    Recommends

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Army Reserve AGR program is the opportunity not only serve and defend the nation, but to ensure the mission readiness and effectiveness of the Army's Reserve Forces. Having the benefits and advantages of being an active duty Soldier, but with the ability to be assigned to more locations and work in more diverse settings.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be difficult to get needed personnel support from Human Resources Command. It is also common to quickly find yourself responsible for multiple various duty positions, but not really get any official training for them.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-11
  7. "Worst Organization in the world."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 92F Petroleum Specialist in Chillicothe, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I would not recommend this organization.

    Cons

    Bad leadership in the chain of command from commander in chief down to the sergeant level. I tried to put in my two weeks at Basic Training and I am still in the U.S. ARMY three years later. Attached to an unprofessional unit in Chillicothe, OH who did not contact me until nine months after AIT Training. These positions are underpaid and I do not have enough money to afford a car and housing or to report to Chillicothe, OH. Civilians are discriminatory towards soldiers in Cincinnati. This is the worst organization I have ever been a part of.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-05-28
  8. "Awesome experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Drill Instructor 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time

    Pros

    Future soldier development and adventure

    Cons

    Long days and hours. Too much authority is given to the new recruits these days

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-04-01
  9. "Good benefits"

    3.0
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve

    Pros

    Meeting great soldiers and gaining knowledge

    Cons

    Poor leadership among those in the reserves

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-03-28
  10. "Army Life"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commander 

    I have been working at U.S. Army Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, everything is open to the soldiers, great leadership, excellent training opportunities.

    Cons

    Many deployments, time away from family, some jobs have high inherent risks.

    U.S. Army Reserve2019-02-09
Found 62 reviews