UMB Financial Corporation Reviews

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
UMB Financial Corporation Chairman and CEO J. Mariner Kemper (no image)
J. Mariner Kemper
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "high turnover resulting from poor work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low pay and stuffy work environment(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's a job"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Systems Programmer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get paid in American Dollars.

    Cons

    Lot's of long hours and no comp time.

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-05-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "UMB IT review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, helpful co-workers Opportunity for advancement Benefits Good pay

    Cons

    Lack of support from management Office Politics

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-04-20

    UMB Financial Corporation Response

    May 18, 2020UMB Company Representative

    We appreciate you letting us know about your UMB experience. We often hear coworkers are the best part of a career here, but it also means a lot that you enjoyed the other rewards. We're sorry to hear you didn't feel supported by your manager. We know this can make a difference in your career, so we'd appreciate hearing more about your situation. Email us at TalentAcquisition@umb.com if you'd be willing to share.

  3. "bankcard"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bankcard in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    banking environment, banking benefits, 8-5 environment

    Cons

    old systems not connected, manual processes, tribal knowledge, clique work environment

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-05-05
  4. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Kansas Corners, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment for all

    Cons

    I don’t have any negatives

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-04-11

    UMB Financial Corporation Response

    May 18, 2020UMB Company Representative

    Thanks for sharing; we're glad to hear you're enjoying your work environment!

  5. "Phenomenal company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and time off program First Class Training and Development Senior management team/leadership/vision

    Cons

    No company specific negatives but the nature of the industry creates changes that are challenging

    Continue reading
    UMB Financial Corporation2020-03-31

    UMB Financial Corporation Response

    May 18, 2020UMB Company Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to share about your time at UMB. We're so glad to hear you had a great experience! It's true this industry changes frequently, but you're right--staying true to our values has always kept us ahead of the pack.

  6. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation part-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and good training

    Cons

    Some locations have poor management

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-02-29
  7. "No Room For Advancements"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Quality people, good benefits, decent salary

    Cons

    Retail banking has gone down significantly over the years, positions are being eliminated, quality employees are being laid off. The company’s culture that used to one of the best, has disappeared. There is also no advancement opportunities or career pathing.

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-03-11

    UMB Financial Corporation Response

    March 11, 2020UMB Talent Sourcing Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely proud of the industry-leading tenure of our associates, and believe this is in part due to our people, pay and benefits – as you mentioned, but even more so due to our inclusive culture. Our CEO is known for saying "if you have seven careers in your lifetime, I hope they're all at UMB." It is concerning if this wasn’t your experience during your time at UMB. We will share your feedback to help ensure we are educating our population about navigating the many growth opportunities at UMB.

  8. "Awesome Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lockbox Clerk in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, Environment, Co-Workers, Breaks

    Cons

    Average Pay, Some PTO Guidelines.

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-02-20
  9. "The worst job experience I have ever had!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRM Manager in Prairie Village, Johnson, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and benefits were good.

    Cons

    Very unhealthy environment in branches. Abusive behavior from branch managers and staff.

    UMB Financial Corporation2020-03-14
  10. "nice place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outdoor Vending Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UMB Financial Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great people, great team environment

    Cons

    market driven benefits, could improve

    Continue reading
    UMB Financial Corporation2020-01-27
Found 310 reviews