UPS Freight Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

UPS Freight Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 451 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
UPS Freight CEO Jack A. Holmes
Jack A. Holmes
189 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "hard to change positions or advancement to full time work(in 30 reviews)

  • "Upper management treats you like garbage(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's all about the $$$, just like any other corporation.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can not speak for other locations, but at my location everyone is friendly and for the most part just want to do their job well. The drivers and dock workers are great and honestly I think they make management's job easier. That being said, my terminal is a joke.

    Cons

    Most of the management staff are good smart people who have solid great ideas but 99% of the time it gets screwed up because of the incompetency of other managers who either don't care or they are so dumb they don't even notice.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire/promote stupid people. I think it's great that UPS tries to promote from within the company, but I think their should be a more extensive screening process...

    UPS Freight2012-11-17
  2. "Worst SCM company in World I have ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not a single pros this company has.

    Cons

    No real promises Fake staff and employees Worst working environment Change in the committed words every time No one is responsible for no one their words are like no value They promise to deliver the parcel within a day and a complete month they promise the same thing to you Fraud don't trust them

    Advice to Management

    I would like to advice to the board of directors to change the management because those are the MAIN culprits

    UPS Freight2018-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Freight part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Would have become a supervisor if it hadn't been for a certain reg'l mgr that didnt know how to deal with people

    Advice to Management

    "Certain" mgr wanted to you lie about #s to make HIM look good but also use against you to fire you down the road., You can't scream and yell at your people if you want them to perform for you. He was transferred to another region. Also, better training

    UPS Freight2019-07-08
  4. "Mix of good and bad jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Pricing Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UPS Freight full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are very friendly, and many have decades of experience to share. Direction and goals are clearly communicated. Managers and executives are supportive.

    Cons

    Some departments and groups are understaffed. Quality and extent of training varies by department. Fear of layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Hire/advocate to hire more people where needed.

    UPS Freight2019-06-26
  5. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Romulus, MI

    I have been working at UPS Freight part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to join, interview was quick.

    Cons

    Tough to work until 3am on friday.

    UPS Freight2019-06-11
  6. "Perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Road Driver 

    I have been working at UPS Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I came from a company where I was used on the dock more than driving. So to be a full time road driver is a Plus!!

    Cons

    3rd shift. I’d prefer first but oh well

    UPS Freight2019-06-02
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - OTR Truck Driver 

      I worked at UPS Freight full-time

      Pros

      Great pay great work environment

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      UPS Freight2019-05-18
    • "Overall a nice job, management can be a pain but only if you don’t work with a purpose."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at UPS Freight

        Pros

        Amazing Health care, dental Benefits. 1 week paid vacation after a year, union job, and a great Pension available depending on years of service

        Cons

        Dirty and rough working conditions. Out in the elements, so freezing in the winter and hot in the summer

        Advice to Management

        Appreciate your Dock workers, without us the Freight wouldn’t move from terminal to terminal

        UPS Freight2019-05-11
      • "UPS Freight is a Scam Company Intentionally Overcharging Customers!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Driver in Denver, CO
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at UPS Freight full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I do not have any pros for UPS Freight

        Cons

        While I worked for UPS Freight I noticed repeatedly how often shipments get reweighed at the station and listed at a much higher weight than what is possible for the package/contents. Customers are getting overcharged up to $400+ more than what the negotiated rate is. UPS Freight is scamming it's clients!

        UPS Freight2019-06-04
      • Helpful (4)

        "Think twice before applying"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Supervisor in Detroit, MI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at UPS Freight part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Many discounts (cell phone, clothing, travel, shopping). Great part job is your going to school... ( only as a PT supervisor ) Finished MBA here.

        Cons

        A LOT..!!!! Low pay rate, management is lost and fight amongst each other. If your a good worker they will give you others work to do.. Unfair work practices and afraid of educated people..

        Advice to Management

        Take the fact the other people have education, merit and ability with year of operational experience coming from other companies into UPS and utilize them and promote them. You must start retaining them or stay on the same path and fail, because you only promote from within and only look at or go by how many "brown years" someone has. Not even looking to see if they are qualified before you promote. Good Luck UPSers.......

        Show More
        UPS Freight2019-05-24
      Found 451 reviews