USAA Employee Reviews about "military"

Updated Dec 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 of over 4,270 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
527 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits and management team(in 627 reviews)

  • "Amazing Benefits; Amazing coworkers; great work-life balance(in 226 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "USAA has many former military ppl(in 135 reviews)

  • "Mostly call center environment if you don't want to take calls all day long(in 110 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "military"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work.

      Sep 14, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great managers, colleagues/team leads, trainers, and an overall positive culture *depending on your position. The company is very mission driven. Multiple cafeterias and company events.

      Cons

      The company is very numbers driven. Sometimes I felt like another number due to the stress that came with the job position. I constantly spoke with insureds who yell and cuss at me all day. Constantly heard others crying in the bathroom due to the stress. Prior/current military insureds speak down on you due to their position in the military. No room to move up due to the large amount of customer service representatives and limited positions in other departments. The company seems to be tenureship driven, meaning they only promote you if you've been in the same position for over 10 years. If you are on the phones answering calls, you are treated like the bottom of the barrel when it comes to company priorities. Also finding out that some colleagues were being paid more than me with little to no experience while I was not able to negotiate pay during the hiring process was also a turn-off.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall, great company to work for

      May 10, 2020 - Software Engineer I in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Yearly bonus that is 10% of salary; not guaranteed but Board votes to award it yearly quite regularly. 2. If you work at HQ on Fredericksburg Rd., there are cafeterias, etc. Bit pricey though but food quality is generally good. 3. High job security, eg, no layoffs due to covid-19.

      Cons

      1. USAA has many former military ppl. They bring that culture in w/ them. One big issue and they acknowledge it is ppl seem reticent to deliver bad news to or dissent much w/ their superiors. This leads to blunders and lost opportuities at times. 2. Promotions/raises based less on competence and more on seniority, like the military, though by and large the mgt. is competent. 3. They are top-heavy with a low mgr-to-worker ratio. This can create a lot of politics in some cases and the bureacracy and sandbox issues can be outsized.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Company

      Aug 31, 2019 - Insurance Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most friendly and welcoming company I've been apart of. People are genuine here, i still have relationships with past managers and amazing team mates.

      Cons

      Some managers (Not to be named here) said that they cared for the military and their families. That was a lie to be blunt. When I was going through hard times in my marriage and missing days here and there my manager told me if I missed another day that I'd be put on restriction. My wife gave me the news that she wanted a divorce and I was devastated, I was not in any way fit for work or to talk to members. Well that manager put me on restriction anyways, didn't listen to me or what I had to say about what was going on. I had the best sales on the team at the time and worked quite a bit of overtime. I had a few disabilities thanks to my service including one being IBS. It sometimes would require elongated bathroom breaks, my manager complained EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. and threatened me with various things because of my severe IBS. She refused to work with me despite being put up by a previous manager as employee of the month multiple times as well as the most recognition in my district by multiple superiors. This manager had it out for me, USAA lost a solid employee because of it.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good to the Certain Extent

      Oct 11, 2020 - Senior IT Systems Analyst in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you manage to get into USAA, you will have a sense of security, unless the CEO and the Board decide to sell off more parts of the company. In certain areas of the company you will have the opportunity to learn and grow, and be put in positions to showcase your abilities or potential. Benefits are decent, although they have dramatically declined over the past 2 years. Education benefits are a plus, if you want to earn your first or additional degree.

      Cons

      In the past five years at the company, it has dramatically declined since I joined the company. What attracted me to the company was its history of having shared military values, and knowing what it meant to serve. Upon retiring from the military, this was a rare characteristic in any company, and gravitated to USAA due this reason. Since the time Stewart Parker took over as CEO, the company declined in almost every facet. And continues to part ways from its former self under Wayne Peacock. With Stewart Parker pushing to make USAA Federal Savings Bank categorized as a Big Bank, it put the entire collection of companies that make up USAA at risk, and it came to fruition when the CFPB’s fine, and the OCC’s consent order. He essentially tried to sell a house without it being built, and got dinged on being out of compliance for a bank of its size class. With that USAA has engaged in correcting those gaps and deficiencies, but took a strange approach to it. They started to actively seek out executives and individual contributors from companies that have egregious violations in the banking industry, and place them in the 2nd and 3rd lines of defense areas (Risk, Compliance, and Audit). This has put USAA in a circle of on-going and repetitive activities that have no end-state, all in the sake of compliance. Thus increasing the work load, and decreasing work-life balance and productivity. USAA also pays 5-10% below industry levels at on all positions, and they mislead people in adding in a “bonus” in their total compensation package, implying they will make a certain amount in a year that is false. Now that the bonus is no longer a sure thing, especially if you do not complete your online training, the likelihood of you completing the online training due to the largely increased workload has decreased, putting that bonus in jeopardy. Lastly, the company as I mentioned moved away or has completely severed its once foundational cultural attraction, in that it had started military values and knows what it means to serve. It went from that once great company to being a politically left leaning company trying to hard to be like a Silicon Valley tech company. The company alienates a great majority of the employee population who are there to serve the military community and their families, by pushing far left identify politics down the throats of employees. With the current CEO he has began to openly take political sides on the companies behalf both internally and externally on left leaning media outlets. Employees are now being forced to endure leftist indoctrination apart of company training, and its mandatory. So you will get to learn how much America is bad and systemically racist, and how you need to do better because you have implicit bias. In the end, if you go to work to work this place may no longer be for you. If you are okay with false narratives being shoved down your throat then you may like this place. If you do not care about work life balance, and don't mind the expectation of you working 16 hours a day and on the weekends, and doing it for a salary 5-10% below the industry standard then you may like this place.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      A great place to begin your career

      Nov 8, 2020 - IT Director in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Financially strong, provides training, many different areas and technologies to work with. Benefits are good

      Cons

      It’s like being in the military at times. Very top down managed. CEO’s and benefits change every few years. Bonuses have been declining for last 5 years. Unfriendly toward workers over 40

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Lies and false promises

      Aug 19, 2020 - Software Developer and Integrator Senior in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are stellar. 401k is unrivaled.

      Cons

      Authoritarian Culture, if you aren't comfortable with military style leadership, stay away. Lies about tech stack (Node was supposed to be coming soon and never did). Completely aimless product managers, they have no idea what they really want. Dependency on ancient tech, and the gate keepers of that tech will fight modernization tooth and nail. Worse, management will back them up. Conflict with managers? Don't worry, HR will be there to lie to you about how you're the only person ever to report anything like that about them.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Jul 30, 2020 - Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits. Tuition reimbursement and on-site amenities.

      Cons

      MSR's are constantly on the phones. It can be overwhelming. For being a military oriented company, they didn't offer military leave. But they might offer it now.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not for everyone

      Dec 14, 2020 - Retired Military in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get paid on time

      Cons

      They hire military for the fed tax beak but they don’t want you there

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits, but out of touch with membership

      Feb 10, 2020 - IT Systems Analyst in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      8% matching on 401k, with an additional "retirement plus" percentage based on your age (4%-8% additional matching). Tuition assistance. Paid maternity/paternity leave. Annual bonus. Stuart Parker no longer the CEO.

      Cons

      Typically the salaries are below other companies in the area, which is why we receive a bonus each year...it brings us back up to industry average. Not very willing to negotiate salary. Very much out of touch with its military membership. IT systems are outdated and executive leadership doesn't see the need to upgrade to modern systems. Lots of Kool-aid to go around.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Seemed like a good idea at the time...

      Jul 3, 2019 - IT in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The bonus is good. High pay.

      Cons

      No work, low morale, pathetic management, everyone looking for a reason to be offended. Military veteran so USAA seemed like the place to be! The mission. The service. Long time customer. I liked the sausage but wish I had never taken the job to learn how the sausage is made. The systems are antiquated and barely functional. The frontline employees are hero's for using them and delivering great customer service. I applaud the MSR's and Adjusters. The management cannot be applauded. They are mentally lazy and for all the talk about modernization, any hint of wanting to make a system or process better causes managers to err on the side of being offended. Not a little offended. More like - You just kicked my dog - offended. I was told by an IT manager USAA is a place where people come to work but not to change the world and directly state it is slow (political) environment, agility is not going to happen, and "we" didn't take this job to be the next great tech company. If you are not overworked on the phones, there is no work. There is the idea of work! The promise of work! But no manifestation of work. Being overpaid and under worked sounds amazing but it mostly just makes the 9 hours at work (1/3 of your life) miserable. In 5 years and with a multi-million technology investment, USAA will continue to hire heroic MSR's who do great for their members. Alas, the systems will still be garbage and managers will still blaming it on the political environment.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 134 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with USAA Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at USAA? Share Your Experiences

    USAA logo
    or