Uber Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Uber Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
5 Ratings
  1. "Best Onboarding Experience In My Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. HR Hiring and Interview Processes are very streamlined 2. Interviews have clear expectations set, i.e. if its for coding or Problem Solving etc. so candidate can focus more on whats being evaluated. 3. Awesome Managers who make sure you get enough exposure and opportunities at the same time take care that you are not stressed with late night meeting/onCall etc. 4. Great Documentation, that helps engineers get bootstrapped...

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Even though the work is good, ownership of core components lacks , but i think thats changing slowly with addition of new charters at the site

    Advice to Management

    Nothing Really, keep up the good work, I would really like to see some core contributions being made from Bengaluru site

    Uber2019-05-05
  2. "Needs to better align teams to the vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are awesome and the kind of opportunities available are one of the best in all over India

    Cons

    Work is not that top of the line, most of the exciting work (at least for engineering) happens out of India The Engineering leadership is blindsided, the cultural values is just there to facilitate big posters with motivational slogans. On the ground there is ample politics you need to deal with before you can start getting stuff done.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the fluff, listen to you the people below you. Be honest and stick to your decisions.

    Uber2019-06-03
  3. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay Good work life balance

    Cons

    Not very interesting work Office location in outskirts

    Uber2019-02-24
  4. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment Benefits are excellent. Work life balance is excellent Management is understanding about Flexible working hours because of bangalore traffic

    Cons

    Managers need to pay a little more time for their reportees and their problems. Location is literally outside bangalore

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to pay a little more time for their reportees and their problems

    Uber2019-01-04
  5. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber for less than a year

    Pros

    good work culture free food challenging problems

    Cons

    cant think of any problems

    Uber2018-11-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Best Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Purely tech-enabled company - Brilliant co-workers - Well structured process - Great learning and growth opportunities - Great perks - Coolest office I literally never got a negative vibe while working in the office, all colleagues are highly energetic and understanding.

    Cons

    - none that I could find

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the awesome work that you are doing

    Uber2018-05-28
  7. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to learn, great pay, awesome office

    Cons

    It is still in a startup mode, if you are looking for MNC culture not the place

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Uber2018-03-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely talented peers, can learn a lot

    Cons

    A bit downside on work life balance but its currently being worked on

    Uber2017-09-17

    Uber Response

    September 21, 2017Careers Brand Team

    Thanks for the review!

  9. "Awesome job for avid programmers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Top notch work quality - Extremely smart colleagues - Very good salary - Awesome incentives & perks - Great growth potential - Travel to San Francisco for training

    Cons

    - None as such. If there is some issue, top management is very keen to hear and solve it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Uber2017-04-01

    Uber Response

    April 3, 2017Careers Brand Team

    Thanks for this review! Great to hear you're enjoying your work in Bengaluru. Keep it up!

  10. "Uber has hired too many engineers than they should have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, great perks, good TC.

    Cons

    Too many engineers have been hire over last 2 years

    Uber2019-08-12
Found 9 reviews