Ubisoft "french" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ubisoft Employee Reviews about "french"

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Ubisoft Cofondateur et Président-Directeur Général  Yves Guillemot
Yves Guillemot
1,013 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pretty low salary but acceptable(in 105 reviews)

  • "Management remains mainly French - locals tend to get bypassed in management/leadership roles unless you get into their clique(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "french"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Not for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly. They are always ready to help. They like to teach juniors various stuff about game dev or dev in general. Montreal studio is diverse and multicultural. This is one of the big game studio in Montreal where you're not expected to do (unpaid) overtime. Looks good on a CV because of the brand name I guess.

    Cons

    There's lots of cons. Enough so that the Pros were not a reason to stay at that company. This is not the place if you're ambitious and want to progress quickly in your career. This is also definitely not the place if you want to get promoted quickly and get raises. Even with a perfect performance evaluation you're lucky if they raise your salary by 5%. That's almost insulting. Some people seem to get promoted because they're friend or agreeable with management Management is outdated. Most of the management are French guys (from France) in their late 40's and they don't have a clue anymore about what games should be. There's favouritism towards employees from France. For some reasons I always felt they are treated better and more respected. I've seen stellar programmers from other countries and they don't have the same status as their French coworkers. A lot of people, especially youngest employees, care more about being in a "somewhat cool" company with a big brand name than producing quality code and games. The studio is huge, so a lot of people actually do nothing. I feel that the average employee production is absolutely terrible. Easy tasks can take them days. No effort are made to change some of the 12 years old base code witch is becoming more and more buggy and impossible to work with. I feel the company prefer to hire bunch of people and keep the raises and salaries low instead of having a small amount of very good engineers. I am probably not alone to have this feeling since a lot of people are leaving the studio for better opportunities and they would probably agree with me on some points I explained above.

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2020-01-22
  2. "Amazing culture, games & tech - low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Gameplay Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazingly passionate team members and super talented people - it's just so lovely to go to work everyday and hang out with the some of the coolest people in the world - Relaxed atmosphere - unlike other AAA studios the pressure isn't as high - So many different IPs and projects to choose from - once one project is over, you can move to tens of other brands if you choose - Lots of events, happy hours, parties, hangouts, lunches, talks, presentations, lots of information sharing, lots of skill development

    Cons

    - Salary is quite low compared to other AAA studios - Benefits aren't as good as compared to other AAA studios - Being a member of close to 4000 employees, it's not easy to grow in your career or rise in your rank - Ubisoft doesn't really care about keeping its employees - they know new employees will keep applying so it doesn't do much to retain current ones - Sessions are sometimes in French which is a bit annoying since this is an international company, there are many international employees here. And it's not that we're not trying to learn it - but it takes time and we miss a lot of important things sometimes

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2019-09-29
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Ubisoft Barcelona Mobile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Mobile Engineer in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Barcelona is a nice place to live

    Cons

    Low salaries, low recognition, no vision, micromanagement, oligarchy instead of meritocracy. Being french is a must if you want (the few if any) promotions.

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Wonderful Colleagues and Work Environment Marred by Useless Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Level Artist in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most colleagues are shockingly talented with a work ethic that will embarrass you into working harder. In a good way.

    Cons

    1) Be French, speak French, or the guillotine drops on your career 2) Some people truly deserve to have the guillotine dropped on their careers, but they're unfairly protected. The letter "V" didn't become a byline for "useless" without good reason. 3) There was a joke going around that dealing with Management is like taking someone shopping to Sephora, because they can't make up their minds. It's depressingly true. 4) Imagine being responsible for so many delays for the project that the company's stock price drops by 13% upon its latest delay announcement. In typical fashion, Management will consider themselves blameless. 5) You can't find programmers anymore because you pay a pittance, and nobody enjoys having their work repeatedly binned since HMS Design Change reliably shows up as the seasons change.

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2019-05-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer in Singapore

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1)Brilliant minds at work 2) You feel satisfied in producing great work

    Cons

    1) Late hours during project 2) Management remains mainly French - locals tend to get bypassed in management/leadership roles unless you get into their clique.

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2019-05-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work and learn, not for the long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Backend Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome projects on AAA titles Get to face good technical challenges and gain good experience Flexible work hours On-site gym and clinic

    Cons

    Management practices/procedures end up creating silos, knowledge sharing should be encourage more. Pay is not competitive, specially if you gain seniority and experience pay lags. There’s a “French glass ceiling”, I managed to be proficient in French in my first years, reviews with flying colours, I was on lead of several initiatives in my previous team over the years, but promotions are hard to obtain since non native are often regarded good as leaders in several groups. It’s a more open culture if you manage to work on teams under anglophone management.

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2019-04-25
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Good place to start, bad place to continue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You get to learn a ton of new things and its a great out of-school place to grow but you'll need to be an specific demographic to thrive inside the company - You will be part of AAA titles right from the start

    Cons

    - Unless you speak native french you won't make it far - Takes forever to adapt new technologies - They are cheap, like not even free coffee cheap - Only top tier employees (The Frenchlite) get real benefits

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2019-02-12
  8. "Ubisoft, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very good work life balance for family

    Cons

    - Advantage to speak french and english

    Ubisoft2018-06-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good, they try to make you feel happy by giving you bonuses such as holidays and some gifts. But in the end it's a way to make up for a lame salary - 3 times lower than what you'd find in a different games company.

    Cons

    Terrible salary. No game vision whatsoever, no innovation, no interest in videogames aside of them bringing money into their pockets, even at HQ. Being French is mandatory to get higher in the ranks. I've lived sexist and abusing situations in the office covered by management.

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2018-03-28
  10. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Animator in Montpellier
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft for more than a year

    Pros

    The projects are cool and people are very competent. The workplace is very nice (ping pong table, babyfoot, events...). You are not pushed to do overtime, quite the opposite actually. If overtime there is, they are paid. Weather and life in Montpellier are amazing.

    Cons

    Due to french laws, you cannot work more than 18 months unless you're taken full time , which does not happen a lot.

    Ubisoft2017-12-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 57 reviews