Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
2,768 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great employee discount(in 404 reviews)

  • "Never boring, fun environment, supportive team(in 244 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance wasn’t always a priority(in 223 reviews)

  • "Some upper management very out of touch with struggles at store level(in 214 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Place to Work

      28 Apr 2021 - Salon Manager in Noida
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Punctuality, onTIme, Good, better, Best

      Cons

      NA, NA, NA, NA, NA

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      great place to gain field experience

      26 Feb 2021 - Manager in Kotha Gūru
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      best place to work in industry

      Cons

      sometime work becomes a little hectic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      sadsaddad

      6 Nov 2020 - Quality Engineer in Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir, Jammu and Kashmir
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good for working and great environment

      Cons

      a bit of work hectic usually

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      who thought this was a good idea?

      7 May 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      exposure to every single bit of what drives a business and can grow an individual or team, hr, lp, inventory, pk. No two days will be the same.

      Cons

      way too many cooks in the kitchen make for a mess.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Skin Specialist

      1 May 2021 - Skin Specialist in Westwood, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed working with a great team in Westwood Ma the pandemic however changed and skincare specialist still haven’t returned!! I believe the training provided by Ulta was amazing! The prices for services were a great value!! I hope to be back to work at some point!! My experience was so positive my were coworkers leadership in the store was outstanding!!

      Cons

      Location!! Continuous Training for skin therapist is amazing!! I had the ability to constantly learn about new products in the store! I loved the woman who truly get the meaning of building each other up!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing!

      2 May 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved my experience at ULTA. But if you think, you're going to be playing with makeup all day - Wrong. Lol. If you like to keep busy, this is the job for you. At least, pre-Covid. You can make a decent wage if you're fulltime and have experience. If you have a cosmetology license, even better. Loved my GMs.

      Cons

      It's a business so expect high, daily goals. Customers tend to think that you are their free, personal makeup artist. Beware of the customer who will not even buy an eyeliner after having done a full face makeup.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      If you get lucky with a good team it can be fun but don't expect Ulta to support you

      13 May 2021 - Merchandise and Service Coordinator in Rolling Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you have good coworkers it can be really fun Makeup is a fun subject Managers get gratis

      Cons

      Disorganized No support from upper management No room to grow within the company Unreliable coworkers with no consequences Customers were allowed to speak to associates in disrespectful ways Labor laws were ignored and managers were not always given breaks or days off

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Plenty of Hours When Needed

      17 Apr 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Towson, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you love make up it’s the perfect place.

      Cons

      Having to deal with constant attitudes from other female coworkers made working there an issue for myself. There was an issue with intolerance between myself and one other Muslim worker when one of the managers wouldn’t allow us to break our fast during Ramadan as required by our faith. She disrespected both of us but I will say that management handled the situation beautifully because she was relieved of her position like two days later.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Ulta

      12 May 2021 - Student in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      it was a pretty easy job. sometimes companies come in and hold information session and you get gratis. Gratis is free makeup. The discounts were also good and the app we used to get our schedules and stuff was awesome. Easy to get shifts covered.

      Cons

      my manager was hard to work with

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Challenging Work Life Balance

      30 Mar 2021 - Retail Sales Manager in Snellville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, the company's values are strong. I have worked in two separate locations and I can say in full confidence, the experience you have really depends on the communication of your management team. The company values individuality which is a plus. Overall, the store works toward a common goal. -Paid time off for management -Bonuses if sales goals are met -Gratis

      Cons

      -Zero work life balance, especially given the circumstance of a global pandemic -Business hours leave the worker for very little personal time outside of their career (Aside from Paid Time Off, which is often discouraged to use) -Depending on location, truck is passed off to the Retail team, which throws off the work flow - 90% of the floor coverage is done by the Retail Sales Manager although it is in every member of management's Division of Responsibility. (DOR) to be a part of the sales floor experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,611 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ulta Beauty Job Seekers

    Beauty Advisor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ulta Beauty? Share Your Experiences

    Ulta Beauty logo
    or