United Shore Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

United Shore Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 551 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
United Shore CEO Mat Ishbia
Mat Ishbia
401 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've watched it shift from a small 20 team members in IT to over 500(in 75 reviews)

  • "United Shore is growing so fast that we have the world’s largest sandbox to always play in(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "United Shore is not the worst shop you could work at(in 38 reviews)

  • "Leaders do not respect their underwriters(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Pontiac, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is very friendly

    Cons

    No current complaints with company

    United Shore2019-09-10

    United Shore Response

    September 16, 2019Team Member Services

    We’re so happy to hear you feel this way and are excited to watch you grow on our team. Thank you for the great review!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Be!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Pontiac, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All of the perks are amazing! On-site Starbucks, free state-of-the-art gym, free soft drinks, coffee, tea, currently have free-lunch Friday, regulation-size collegiate basketball court, on-site doctors office, salon, convenient store, etc. The leaders and trainers want you to succeed and do everything they can to ensure that you will! The training is great. Job opportunities are plentiful!

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing!!

    United Shore2019-08-20

    United Shore Response

    August 27, 2019Team Member Services

    Thank you so much for the thoughtful review! We love to hear these things from our team members and are happy to have you on our team.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best companies I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correspondent Specialist in Pontiac, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great people - A diverse workplace with lots of employee perks and great benefits.

    Cons

    Parking - metrics - Sometimes the workload can be overwhelming.

    United Shore2019-08-21

    United Shore Response

    August 27, 2019Team Member Services

    Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We’re so happy to hear you enjoy working with all of the amazing people on our team and will use this information to make our processes and campus even better.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good benefits decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Pontiac, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good flexibility, great culture

    Cons

    Pay below average, upper management doesn’t always appreciate team members

    Advice to Management

    Upper management care more

    United Shore2019-08-07

    United Shore Response

    August 15, 2019Team Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoy our perks and culture. We will share this information with our leadership team to ensure all of our team members are able to learn, grow and succeed here.

  5. Helpful (10)

    "Compensation is something to be desired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Close 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company as a whole is awesome, a lot of great perks..firm 40 is lovely people I work with is one of the main reasons I love my job.

    Cons

    The pay is entirely to low. You hire people with years of experience in with such low pay grade...no one should be making less than $15/hr..its a slap in the face..How do you expect someone to live off of $12, 13/hr that has real bills ...and you keep pushing bonus and compensation NO the bonus structure is a joke..if you are not a UW, AE or closer You not really making any money...we should be making a real living... without having to make a bonus...dont make 1 mistake then your bonus is gone. I notice every brilliant idea that most people would enjoy is usually shut down due to money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so cheap and actually invest in the people.

    United Shore2019-08-10

    United Shore Response

    August 15, 2019Team Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We’re so happy to hear you enjoy our perks, work/life balance and the amazing people who work on our team. Putting team members first is our main priority, and while companies choose to do this in their own ways, we believe ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean environment great sr. leaders

    Cons

    I wish they would increase the 401 contribution

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    United Shore2019-08-06

    United Shore Response

    August 7, 2019Team Member Services

    We’re so happy to have you on our team and appreciate the great review! We will share your feedback regarding our 401k plan with leadership to help us continuously improve.

  7. "United Shore Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore

    Pros

    So far so good. In training and enjoying the culture. Lots to learn. Some of it is refresher info for me but I know there will be lots up ahead that will be new. The training team is wonderful, each with their own training talent. Looking forward to remainder of 1st week.

    Cons

    None at the present time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    United Shore2019-08-07

    United Shore Response

    August 15, 2019Team Member Services

    Thanks for the great review! We’re pleased to hear you’re enjoying your experience so far and look forward to watching you excel as an Underwriter here.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company for Production Roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and perks like the free gym and soda.

    Cons

    Production roles offer bonuses and incentives, other support roles are underpaid with no bonuses or incentives.

    United Shore2019-08-03

    United Shore Response

    August 5, 2019Team Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoy our culture and unique perks and will share your feedback internally to help us continuously improve.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Not Perfect, But Pretty Good and Getting Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Pontiac, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Note: if I would have filled this out 6 months ago, I would have given maybe 3 stars. However, there's been a lot of change for the good in the past few months. On top of the very large amount of amenities the building itself provides (smallish but nice gym + full size basketball court + fitness classes + sand volleyball court outside, all free), massage parlor (massages given out only as rewards from... leadership), hair salon, very good doctor's office with $10 copay, convenience store, cafeteria with good/variety of food, arcade, an actual Starbucks, free fruit and a variety of beverages, etc, etc, etc), the company itself does a lot for its employees. There's a rather large, lavish holiday party (employees only) as well as a company fair (for employees + family) - both free. They also let you volunteer at an organization of your choice (during company time), donate to charity, recycle, and a lot of other things that are too many to list. In addition, the culture is very good - I'm not sure where else you'll find a "firm 40" in software development (less the exception for a production bug on a Friday, etc). United Shore understands that its employees are people and treat them as such. I've worked at a number of places where I was treated rather poorly and I've never been happier than at this company. Additionally, this is a great place to refine your skills, as additional training is encouraged (5 hours a month required) on almost anything you'd want if it's not completely unreasonable). They even had Uncle Bob (Robert Martin, author of Clean Code) come out and personally give developers a full day workshop. Additionally, Leadership actually takes feedback and tries to improve! Another good (and bad) thing about the company is that we're growing so incredibly fast and a lot of our departments are so new that if you think of something you want to do and there's a need for it (which there probably is), you probably could switch career tracks. This can be bad because it means there might not be a subject matter expert for you to talk to about something (for instance, our business intelligence team is rather new and still developing). I've heard senior leadership (including the CEO) say multiple times ~"if you're a good culture fit, we'll find you a job." And being a good culture fit is easy for a lot of people. Other things that have been getting better that may no longer apply in older (probably more angry) reviews: work from home is now allowed (at least for IT) when needed (think closer to 1-2x/month) - they just ask you not to abuse it. Well defined career progression for developers is also being created. Some teams were previously required to work very long hours to pushed rushed projects due to unrealistic deadlines set by the business - this has also been changing. I think most people work closer to the "firm 40" unless they volunteer to stay longer. That being said, the company isn't perfect and has a number of opportunities to work on.

    Show More

    Cons

    It seems that most initiatives, regardless of their size, are rushed to be implemented without planning. For me, this is one of the most frustrating things. Communication is also not great from senior leadership - again, regardless of size. They seem to be trying to improve this, but this could also tie into the lack of planning when releasing initiatives. Perhaps we don't find out until last minute because they... don't know until then, either... ? The technology can also be difficult to work with. We have a lot of monolithic legacy code in old systems (that we have been trying to get out of for a while) as well as a proprietary system that can be easy for some things, but doesn't provide a lot of flexibility and doesn't scale very well. Our company has grown (and continues to grow) so much that even though the system was designed a few years ago, we already want to move away from it. This won't be easy or quick, though. We also don't use a lot of cool, new technologies. Only recently have our teams started using Angular and Python. Otherwise, we're mostly vanilla C#, SQL, JQuery, and Less shop. This also means that if you want to learn new skills that would make you valuable anywhere else, you either have to do it during your 5 hr/month training time or on your own. Team compositions are not well balanced. You may have mostly junior/associate team members all on one team with another team all very experienced team members. This isn't specific to developers - this includes BAs, QAs, etc. This has been brought up multiple times. If you have an idea or give feedback, be ready to implement it yourself, even if you're not an expert in the field. This has discouraged a number of people from speaking up, because it adds additional work to what they're already trying to accomplish and doesn't automatically provide benefit. Additionally, instead of getting experts on topics and implementing their feedback (example - consultants for Agile or for how to create good metrics for measuring developer performance), they ask the general team members what should be done. I appreciate the empowerment attempt, but what I think on a topic that I haven't spent many years studying probably isn't as helpful as the opinion of someone who's been in the field for a while. I thought this might have been a cost saving initiative, but they're either paying half the floor for a few hours to come up with ideas (which seems rather expensive with a team of over 600 IT members) which may or may not work and then have to ask them to do it all again when it doesn't - or they pay a consultant to come give advice based on their vast experience. You may (or may not be) severely underpaid for your skill set. Upon asking how to get a raise, I was told the same thing in two separate instances from two separate senior leaders - "create an emotional response." It's not really my job to make my employer feel something to pay me more money. It's my job to show them that I'm of value and then be compensated based on that. Because my spouse and I (together) make a comfortable living, I am able to survive at a lower wage. However, I know developers at a much lower experience level at other companies making much more money than I am. If the pros weren't continuing to get better (or if my spouse didn't make as much as they do), I would have been forced to leave for both mental health (it was pretty stressful before) and compensation. Something a little smaller - PTO is rather low for the first couple years. You only get 10 days the first one. Even the low-wage, abusive job I had before this gave 16. The PTO does improve over the years, though.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please read through my pros and cons. I have laid very detailed feedback there. I don't think anything should be of shock to you, as it's all been previously mentioned in other formats by myself or others. If nothing else, please plan initiatives in great detail before implementing them. Consider the impact it might have on team members in the state it's in before rolling it out. Put yourself in our shoes; it... can be very stressful having something half-baked now become "law." Thank you for what you do and trying to continuously improve our company to be the best it can be.

    Show More
    United Shore2019-07-19

    United Shore Response

    July 23, 2019Team Member Services

    Thank you for sharing this thoughtful feedback with us. We’re so happy to hear you enjoy all of the amenities and professional development opportunities available for our team members. We know our people are our greatest asset, and we hope our focus on work/life balance and perks ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (24)

    "Low pay, overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at United Shore full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have great coworkers who have so much knowledge.

    Cons

    We keep hearing that we are getting back to firm 40 but yet for the past 4-5 months we are forced to work late nights every week and as a Senior Underwriter are not compensated for it. Our salary is built in for one late night a month but we are essentially working for free those extra hours. It’s getting redundant hearing how appreciative management is for our efforts but what about our families and recruiting... should be honest about this with potential new hires because If you have children you have to rely on other people to make arrangements to pick your kids up and it’s not like your compensated for it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect. Pizza, tacos or pasta are nothing compared to time with my family as you get to work a great set of hours and be with your family. While we stay late watching you leave at 4/5 is very disheartening. Also the generic responses of come talk to katie or your leader or TMS is pretty much a ticket to being fired.

    United Shore2019-07-09

    United Shore Response

    July 16, 2019Team Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. Our people truly are our greatest asset, and it makes me happy to hear you enjoy working with the great people on your team. I understand fully the demand that the increased production volume has had on our teams and really appreciate ...

    Show More
Found 551 reviews