University of Calgary Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

University of Calgary Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 506 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
University of Calgary CEO Elizabeth Cannon
Elizabeth Cannon
171 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary, work space is limited(in 18 reviews)

  • "The university has been hurt by bad management and letting genius professors go easily(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Calgary full-time

    Pros

    Dynamics environment; good for researchers; active people

    Cons

    low salary compared with the industry

    University of Calgary2019-05-13
  2. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Calgary part-time

      Pros

      Nice people, great overall environment

      Cons

      Busy. Some students can be rude.

      University of Calgary2019-05-12
    • "Game Staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Calgary part-time

      Pros

      Fun environment to work in

      Cons

      Low hours and schedule is all over the place

      University of Calgary2019-05-09
    • "Great benefits, poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Recruitment Officer in Calgary, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Calgary full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, flexible time off (depending on your department), great pension contribution

      Cons

      the salary you start with you will likely end with, you can only move up if you get a Master's

      University of Calgary2019-05-23
    • "U of Calgary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Calgary full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, good for education,

      Cons

      Low salaries, no growth opportunities

      University of Calgary2019-05-22
    • "Network Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Network Technician in Calgary, AB

      I worked at University of Calgary full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great working environment, great people.

      Cons

      There were no cons during my time here.

      University of Calgary2019-04-22
    • "Very good environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Calgary Place, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at University of Calgary part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Very good and friendly environment, academic environment, nice coworkers and rooms for continuous improvement.

      Cons

      Salaries not the highest, but still descent. Other than that I do not think there is any cons to this university.

      Advice to Management

      I am not sure about the management since I am not very involved with it, but as a teaching assistant we work mainly with the professors and course coordinators, I think they are great!

      University of Calgary2019-04-13
    • "Flexible environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Calgary part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible schedule and ability to take additional training to advance career. Good work life balance with the flexible hours makes it easy to pick up children

        Cons

        The hiring process takes a little time and the on-board If could have been done better to allow employees to more quickly fulfill their duties

        Advice to Management

        To create an environment that gives the employee opportunities to learn new skills and to give and receive constructive feedback.

        University of Calgary2019-04-09
      • "good team"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at University of Calgary full-time

        Pros

        team environment, sufficient support from the team members and the lead. standard benefits and extra Christmas holiday off.

        Cons

        if you ever work in a faculty environment, you will need to be cautious as some faculty members are very demanding and would ask you to complete many tasks not relevant to your role. I felt that I was bullied by two faculty members who complained to my team lead that I didn't do what I was asked to. It's also a union environment so you will find a clear distinction between some employees working hard and get overloaded...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        faculty members need to be reminded and trained how to treat supporting staff appropriately or the turnover would be constantly high.

        University of Calgary2019-04-23
      • "Great benefits and pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Data Analyst 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at University of Calgary full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        - Great benefits, second to none - Pay is above average for roles in the industry - Management encourages work life balance

        Cons

        - Once past the probation period, most support staff are part of the union and as such cannot be fired no matter how bad the mistake can be - No real plans for movement to a leadership position or to a senior role - No real ability to negotiate your salary upwards

        Advice to Management

        Consider helping staff to get the most out of their careers and offer secondment opportunities to other business units so that they can advance their careers and skills. Many staff that leave the company isn't because of the amount of work or culture, but because their concerns or inability to advance. Management is also slow to move on new ideas that could be beneficial to the workplace or projects even when significant...

        Show More
        University of Calgary2019-04-06
      Found 506 reviews