University of Derby UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

University of Derby UK Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If a member of the team leaves, their work is offloaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member(in 4 reviews)

  • "If a member of the team leaves, their work is off loaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MSC Student 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time

    Pros

    Great place to study and better oneself as a person

    Cons

    Online learning needs a lot of self discipline and hard work

    Advice to Management

    No advice to note as yet

    University of Derby UK2019-08-01
  2. "Very Friendly!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Staff in Buxton, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly manager and supervisors, big team of people, great experience

    Cons

    Sometimes odd hours otherwise great

    University of Derby UK2019-07-22
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great benefits and opportunities at the University.

    Cons

    Decision making can at times be slow making it difficult to get things moving

    University of Derby UK2019-07-17
  4. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Welcoming team Engaging work Learned valuable skills Great team of people Opportunities to do data input shifts as well Lots of feedback after a shift, ideal for growth

    Cons

    Hours are very sporadic and often you'll only get 1-2 shifts a month Physically demanding. Didn't always feel welcome in a group

    University of Derby UK2019-07-10
  5. "great university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Officer 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great university good team good support

    Cons

    salary process heavy too many meetings

    University of Derby UK2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Staff are friendly but overworked and management is hopeless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Management hasn't got a clue - over work staff, and completely fill teaching hours leaving no room for research Poor career opportunities Anyone senior is hired in from outside (usually someone the management has worked with before)

    Advice to Management

    Be less restrictive - if you give staff time to develop and research, most will - you say you value people but talk is cheap, actions speak louder than words.

    University of Derby UK2019-08-06
  7. "Fair pay and flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at University of Derby UK

    Pros

    Great environment and chance to move up the ladder.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    University of Derby UK2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing is good here seriously

    Cons

    No meritocracy. Do not come to work here.

    University of Derby UK2019-06-25
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Still appalling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No longer exist in current environment.

    Cons

    I enjoyed my time working at the University (28 Years), however, the best decision I ever made was to move on (no choice in the matter as it happens). I feel sorry for the staff that are currently left at this place. Recently advertised post for 50 plus new staff in Admin would be for the staff that took Voluntary redundancy, this consisted of quite a few staff that had been at the university for a number of years. I...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of current Exec leader, she doing the University no favours.

    University of Derby UK2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Need to value people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Derby UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People in the team really try their hardest in difficult situations.

    Cons

    The pressure and workload for staff on the ground is just unbearable. More work is poured on with less people to do it, There are new senior appointments permanently but never anyone to do the work. There is no trust from Managers. Nothing anyone does is ever considered good enough.

    Advice to Management

    Actually value people.

    University of Derby UK2019-05-23
Found 72 reviews