University of Law Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

University of Law Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
University of Law Vice-Chancellor and CEO Andrea Nollent (no image)
Andrea Nollent
15 Ratings
  1. "Full-time student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at University of Law full-time

    Pros

    People culture is apparent through communicating with other students.

    Cons

    Hard work in preparing for future applications.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to students more.

    University of Law2020-01-18
  2. "Supportive and exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Professional in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Law full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Departments work well together; supportive management;face-paced constantly changing environment; generous leave and and great additional benefits Supportive flexible working culture which leads to a good work life balance Enjoy working working with all of my colleagues and enjoy the supportive nature of the team

    Cons

    Internal communication regarding changes in the business could be improved; pace of changes means large volumes of work done at short notice; welcome and inductions could be improved for new hires to the organisation

    University of Law2019-10-01
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Law full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, self development, soft skills training

    Cons

    Salary could be higher but excellent benefits

    University of Law2019-09-30
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Head of Assessment Operations Delivery in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Law full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people and management I worked with were largely supportive. I was grateful for educational sponsorship and support to complete a leadership & management degree at the Open University during my time at ULaw.

    Cons

    The need to diversify aggressively given the proposed changes to legal education and assessment.

    University of Law2019-09-24
  5. "Nice place to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PROECT Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Law full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive management and colleagues

    Cons

    Sometimes work can be challenging

    University of Law2019-09-25
  6. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Law full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects, friendly supportive atmosphere, excellent progression opportunities, opportunity for international travel

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to make decisions

    University of Law2019-09-24
  7. "Challenging and enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Professional in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Law full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities, challenges, business growth, great people, flexible, work/life balance, benefits

    Cons

    Processes, breaks, not as prestigious as it should be

    University of Law2019-09-20
  8. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Law full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cant think of any pros except location

    Cons

    Unlike universities, this law school has no research activities or budget for staff to attend external training or conferences etc. Most long-serving staff here have never worked in any other university so its a very enclosed bubble with no sense of what is normal post 1990s. Agree with other posts here on bullying culture and lack of respect for staff as academics or lawyers. ULaw is very profit driven and extracts maximum profit from staff at the expense of their work/ life balance/ health. This is going to get worse with the challenges ahead for providers of the GDL, LPC and BPTC. Students treated more like cash cows than even state universities Agree with other posts HR policies are not followed in practice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    High staff turnover is a sign something is wrong. Some efforts are being made but monitor your managers more to see what is actually going on eg random checks.

    University of Law2019-10-26
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Role in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Law full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, offering working flexibility. Majority of staff are very friendly and good at collaborating on projects. Opportunities to develop in your role and to really make a difference in the business. It is not like other HE institutions but this is a positive, it is more commercial and understands what it is trying to achieve.

    Cons

    As with any role there are challenges with lots of ambition and not always the resource or time to achieve them.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to engage with the staff on the business strategy and provide regular updates.

    University of Law2019-09-18
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Law part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. It has a very supportive, professional environment. I have had the opportunity to progress and change my career direction and been supported by the University in gaining the necessary qualifications to enable me to do this. I have also enjoyed part time, flexible working hours which has allowed work/life balance. The University has been through a huge amount of change and there is no sign of this slowing down but the Exec Board is now a strong unit and receptive to employee views. The level of change has also kept the job interesting and the company dynamic.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very few cons in my experience

    Advice to Management

    Keep engaging with those on the ground.

    University of Law2019-09-09
Found 43 reviews