VMware Director Reviews

Updated 4 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
1 Rating
  1. "Sr. Director"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great technology company. Good salaries and carrer growth opportunies

    Cons

    Nothing really much. Could do better on Work-life balance.

    VMware2017-07-19
  2. "Great Workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, physical work environment, and socially conscious corporate leadership.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can suffer due to aggressive project schedules..

    VMware2020-05-04
  3. "Amazing Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director, National Account Management in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Pat Gelsinger is the best CEO I have ever worked for -Manical focus on weekly/monthly results -Incredible passion for extending beyond core virtualization

    Cons

    middle management, mileage varies dramatically

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-04-22
  4. "Phenomenal Culture & Leadership!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Strategy in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    VMware truly cares about it's people and culture and it feels like a family! The leadership sends a strong message and lives that culture through all of the Diversity & Inclusion pods and focus, along with the community work that is promoted and supported, and execution of product delivery, services and support. VMware has a very strong strategy to drive future benefits to its customers.

    Cons

    Still need to double down on the new strategy for effortless customer experience!

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-04-20
  5. "Great benefits but too political"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Engineering in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, perks, cafeteria, gym and smart people

    Cons

    work content, politics, cannot move up

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-04-29
  6. "VMware is an exceptional company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Delivery Excellence in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I found VMware to be an exceptional company to work for where a person can make real contributions to the growth of the company and of the individuals that work there.

    Cons

    Recent Mgmt changes have put more focus on quarterly results but the atmosphere is still of employee support and growth.

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-03-25
  7. "Great company, high double digit growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, lots of interesting challenges due to growth and cloud transformation

    Cons

    Good leadership and team management doesn't seem to be valued culturally.

    VMware2020-03-16
  8. "Amazing culture is what makes VMware unique"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director of Solution Engineering in Weybridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Solid strategy and execution focus with an Inclusive culture and strong support especially in the technical services functions. Highly collaborative and entrepreneurial coupled with innovation as a priority

    Cons

    BU silo approach is getting less but still visible to the field. Too many internal promotions at senior leadership roles when the company needs outside DNA to accelerate our journey to be more ‘As a Service’

    VMware2020-02-22
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company I have worked for yet in my career. Strong future in the industry. Fantastic culture and values.

    Cons

    Work life balance is a challenge at times.

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-02-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic culture, deceiving, racist"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Spent 2 years as director of Engineering at VeloCloud. It was the most traumatic 2 years in my life. The toxic culture, the racial biases, the clear fraud, the clear corrupt directors is insane. How does VMWare allow such corruption. Remember this, VeloCloud will be the drag that will put VMWare out of business. It will only need some of the employees to come together and sue for racism. Cases for racism are so clear and can easily proved.

    Cons

    This is for VeloCloud: - Toxic. - Fraud. -Corrupt.

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-03-05
Found 121 reviews