VMware Employee Reviews about "middle management"

Updated 22 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
542 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons to mention about this company(in 111 reviews)

  • "middle management, mileage varies dramatically(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "middle management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ample career oputuities if you can survive the clout of mid management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Member of Technical Staff in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    - Company keeps Employ welfare a priority, learning and development opportunities are vast, perfect tech company to work for, - pays well to exceptional entirely depends on team..

    Cons

    Lot of restructuring happening, middle management is ineffective

    Continue reading
    VMware2015-09-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Poor middle management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Macbook has been given to all new employees

    Cons

    Very poor middle management, the Ethics committee rejects your complaints and lots of office politics. The workforce is very poor technically and I feel this is the worst group of people I've worked in my career.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-04-21
  3. "A good company to settle"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS2 in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance ocean of research opportunity diverse product/technology to work on friendly HR policies

    Cons

    useless middle management in some teams

    VMware2018-11-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company.. Foolish management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Developer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    A paymaster Good learning opportunity if you have a passion to learn provided you have time

    Cons

    Environment is highly political Middle management is foolish,, not sure how to run things which makes even the good techies leave I would say you to be lucky if you have atleast the minimum worklife balance

    Continue reading
    VMware2015-05-17
  5. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great technology. work life balance (not in all orgs :) )

    Cons

    Lot of middle management trying to secure their job.

    Continue reading
    VMware2014-09-17
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Racism based company. If you Tamil or Telugu you will get lots no need to work.For other think 100 times before join"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Good Salary and share.Work life balance.

    Cons

    Middle Management is worst than service based company.

    Continue reading
    VMware2013-07-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "vmware"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bangalore
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    Virtualization technology leadership, future of the virtualization technology is bright. The cloud computing and could infrastructure is the future, good to be with the leader.

    Cons

    - Non mature middle management - lot of management by pleasing the middle level management rather the doing the actual work - lot of non-professional politics at the director/sr director level

    Continue reading
    VMware2011-08-20
  8. "Amazing Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director, National Account Management in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Pat Gelsinger is the best CEO I have ever worked for -Manical focus on weekly/monthly results -Incredible passion for extending beyond core virtualization

    Cons

    middle management, mileage varies dramatically

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-04-22
  9. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    beautiful campus, good CEO/COO, market leader, good benefits

    Cons

    annual January layoffs, poor middle management

    VMware2020-01-22
  10. "Ethical employee friendly company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    VMWare is an ethical, employee friendly company. Customers love its products and VMware tries to make sure that a customer is at the center of their product decisions. It's a nice place to work and if you are in the right team, you get to work on cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    There is a general lack of accountability at VMWare, which is troubling. Middle management politics can get very ugly.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-10-17
Found 75 reviews